We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mena Farm(Lanivet)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$28
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$141
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$287
US$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Royal Oak Inn(Lostwithiel)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$111
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
US$104
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Tredethy House(Tredethy)
Free cancellation until 23/07
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
245
76
12
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
76
12
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslanivet inneden projectlocal publots of historywarm welcomelounge barbreakfast was excellentfish and chip shoplovely old buildingguest housefour poster bedanyone wishingsuperior roomother guestspuddingmain roadtwo night stay
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2018

The main building has historical charm. The owner saw to my every need - check-in, carried luggage to the room, served drinks in the lounge/bar. On a trip looking at several hotels in Cornwall this was THE BEST BREAKFAST I enjoyed. Fresh produce, tastefully presented. Friendly waitress ( Daughter of the owner I guess).

A family business well run.
What´s missing for a 5 star rating ?

The room I slept in was newly renovated, clean and tidy.
It´s just not quite as upmarket as I am used to.

That being said I was alone in the small double room outside of the main building.
Maybe the rooms in the main building are of a different standard.

You should know the building is situated right next to a main road.
BUT the walls are thick and I slept very well.
Excellent location for getting anywhere in Cornwall.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Scotgreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

We stayed for two nights at St Benet's, having had to rearrange our plans from earlier in the year. The proprietor JJ was really helpful with this and we found it very useful having booked direct with the hotel rather than through an intermediary.
St Benet's itself is full of character and really charming, as are JJ and Lynn - both so helpful and accommodating. Service was excellent, breakfast fantastic and the setting just lovely. We shall definitely be back.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed our room with a view of the old tower - quirky and quiet - just lovely.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jackie504041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

My husband and I made St. Benet's Abbey our base during our first visit to the beautiful places in Cornwall. St. Benet's Abbey is not only a very charming place where you can experience the best of the old and new England but also enjoy the magical beauty of Cornwall at its best. John (better knows as JJ), and his wife Lynn are no doubt great hosts. They made us feel so welcomed and at home. Their excellent staff kept everything so clean, tidy and with such a friendly warm smile. I have to say that JJ was extremely instrumental in assisting us to solve a very bad snag with our car rental company (Sixt) when we had a flat tire in the middle of the road, even thought we paid Premium Insurance to cover for everything. His best advice in terms of rental car, which we will take on our next trip to Cornwall, is Enterprise Rent a Car. They even have an office in the area and can better serve their customers 24/7. On top of all the great things about St. Benet's Abbey is that it is also incredibly well positioned for an enjoyable visit to Cornwall: a) located just a few Kilometers from A30 Highway; b) at the A30 Highway exit/entrance you have a gas station, indoor children playground, various places to eat, including a MacDonald; c) the biggest town close by, Bodmin, just a few kilometers away, has a well served Sainsbury's supermarket, and we were even able to purchase another luggage from a business at walking distance from Sainsbury's!; d) the most amazing places to visit in Cornwall range from a minimum 45 minutes to a maximum 2 hours drive from St. Benet's Abbey! We are sure to go back and enjoy some more!

Room Tip: We stayed at number 8, and for us it was no doubt the best choice!
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaSCastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018

We had two nights in the Abbey this week. The room was very comfortable, the 'cooked to order' breakfasts excellent and J.J. and staff very helpful and efficient.
Our room was too warm for us and J.J. was quick to respond and very obliging.
One thing which we found different to other B&Bs we have stayed at was we didn't have access to our room on the second day between 11 am and 4 pm. It didn't affect us much as we were out and about most of the day but is something to be aware of when planning your stay.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victoriacgriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

We stopped here overnight on our way to St Ives and it was lovely and I would go again if in the area. The room was lovely in an gorgeous setting.

Breakfast excellent. Wish I’d had the full Cornish with the slice of Cornish pudding so had food envy!!! I thought I’d be sensible after a big meal in the local pub the night before and have the lovely salmon on scrambled eggs on granary.

The bar is a lovely touch we enjoyed a pre dinner glass before going out and a night cap liqure on ice on our return.

The whole visit extremely good value. JJ is a fabulous host.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tamarisk59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn J, Owner at St Benet's Abbey, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Many thanks for posting us a nice review. We enjoyed looking after you and hope to see you again and try the Hog's Pudding next time!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews