We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (353)
Filter reviews
353 results
Traveller rating
253
77
12
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
253
77
12
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lanivet inn eden project local pub lots of history lounge bar warm welcome breakfast was excellent four poster bed guest house beautiful building anyone wishing superior room other guests pudding main road comfortable bed two night stay
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 353 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2016

This B&B is run by a lovely couple who ensure a warm welcome and enjoyable stay. Our room and en suite bathroom were clean and the bed very comfortable, I usually have trouble sleeping away from home but not this time. Breakfast is cooked to order with good choice and will satisfy all tastes. No pre-cooked , kept warm offerings you encounter regularly elsewhere. Cosy bar at very good prices to unwind in at the end of a busy day. Wifi worked well in all areas.
Access to north and south coasts is very easy from here which increases your options of places to visit without taking very much time.
Owners booked a table for us in a local pub on our last night and pointed us in the right direction for local eateries and none disappointed. Had a great short stay and without a doubt we will return!!

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Ken210548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn J, Owner at St Benet's Abbey, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

Thank you very much for your kind and helpful review. We are glad that we were able to make your stay an enjoyable one and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Comfortable room and excellent service at this family run B&B.
Breakfast, a great shower, large, tidy rooms, plus free wifi were all highlights. As was the handy location just off the A30, near a lovely village with one of the best fish and chip restaurants i've visited. Stayed 3 nights, with friends and would do so again as the location is perfect for visiting both the north and south Cornish coast. Owners were unfailing helpful and provided much appreciated advice on local places to eat in the evening's. I would highly recommend you try this B&B yourselves.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn J, Owner at St Benet's Abbey, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2016

Thank you for your kind review. You were lovely guests and we enjoyed looking after you all. We are glad you had a good stay and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Fantastic stay, highly recommended for couples and families. Warm welcome, comfy bed, delicious breakfast and perfect surroundings. Many thanks to the family for a lovely stay we hope to bring our whole family along next time.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank divinedorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn J, Owner at St Benet's Abbey, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2016

We hope to welcome you and your family back in the not too distant future and we enjoyed looking after you. Thank you for taking the time to post us a nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016

The photos on tripadvisor make St Benet's Abbey look nice, but place was huge disappointment. Room 9 was a real dump, even though it wasn't cheap. VERY damp, with mould everywhere, with a loo & tiny shower squashed into a very small closet-type space. No wifi, so had to sit in their rather unpleasant reception area to get the internet. Not very friendly chap in charge. Very close to a busy, noisy main road, with quite a dangerous exit on a bend. Shame, as the old building could have made into a really lovely B&B. Badly in need of tlc.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sparkler666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn J, Owner at St Benet's Abbey, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

We are always disappointed when people's expectations are not met when they stay. However, in this instance, you as the author of this review were not a guest that stayed with us and were merely dropping your son off. Your son did not seem to have any issue with his experience here. To respond directly to each of your points ... We feel our photos provide a true representation of our business and home. Room 9 is indeed our smallest room and is priced accordingly - it is competitive with similar offerings in the area. We have many guests that actually request this room and nobody has ever suggested they felt it was a dump and it is certainly not accurate to say the room had mould everywhere. However, we have given this room some tlc over the winter and it has been extended and refurbished.
We do have free wifi throughout but the nature of the fabric of the building can give some guests in the more remote rooms occasional problems.
It would have been helpful if you had elaborated on "rather unpleasant" - our reception area is clean, warm, light and airy. Perhaps the relatively plain decoration did not meet your taste? If your son had felt uncomfortable he could have used the lounge bar to connect to the internet - but of course you did not see this to be able to comment! We were very friendly to your son and took interest in his venture to ride JOG to Land's End - we are cyclists ourselves. Particularly disappointing is that we took time in trying to help you and your husband find a room in the area as we were already full and you also booked a room with us for the next night which you subsequently cancelled. We chose not to enforce our cancellation policy and you then feel it reasonable to criticise as though we were not welcoming. Unfortunately we cannot do anything about our exit onto the road - we hope that this does not affect the quality of our guests stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016

We arrived at St Benet's to find other New Zealanders (and relatives of the owner, JJ), also just arrived. This was an interesting and fun start to an excellent 4-night stay at the old Abbey, which we used as a base for exploration of the Cornwall area. The Abbey is well located for day trips along the north and south coast, and very close to the Eden Project. Our room was sizeable and comfortable, and breakfasts were delicious, including a wonderful smoked haddock dish. JJ was an attentive host - always ensuring that we had everything we needed. This is not the place if you are looking for state of the art facilities, but if you love old buildings, charm, character and considerate hospitality, we highly recommend.

Room tip: Our room at the back of the Abbey was lovely and quiet, looking out on an old Tower, which was very quaint.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank caropete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn J, Owner at St Benet's Abbey, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2016

Thank you so much for writing us a informative and kind review. We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope you choose to visit us if you are back in England again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews