We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (353)
Filter reviews
353 results
Traveller rating
253
77
12
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
253
77
12
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lanivet inn eden project local pub lots of history lounge bar warm welcome breakfast was excellent four poster bed guest house beautiful building anyone wishing superior room other guests pudding main road comfortable bed two night stay
Filter
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 353 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2015 via mobile

I love the building, very beautiful architecture. Breakfast fantastic with fresh fruits and great croissant. 5 out of 5 for these two items.
Building near a main road, so expect some noises but not too bad at night.
Room a big disappointment though. We were allocated to a small room attached to the main building with tiny bathroom and no wifi. It is max 2 star although the hotel claims to be 4 star (unless UK standard is different). 2 out of 5 for the room. Not sure about the quality of other rooms, just make sure you specify room during booking.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2015

Just had my third stay at this wonderful place. It's full of character and lovely touches of the owners JJ and Lin. They made us feel really welcome, like long list friends. The rooms are all unique and very clean and have all you need. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend for a stay or function. The location is very central in Cornwall and makes a great base for day trips or walking. Idea.l if you are planning to walk the Saints Way

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nicola818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2015

We stayed at the Abbey for one night in August. The room was very spacious and the four-poster king-sized bed was wonderful and very comfortable! The room and the rest of the abbey are nicely decorated, to keep the atmosphere of the ancient abbey. The breakfast was also very nice, with choice of English or continental breakfast with my favourites, croissants! JJ was a wonderful host, funny and a lot of helpful advice and directions to get us through Bodmin.
Would have liked to stay longer!

Room tip: Room 1, "the playroom", was faboulous, four poster king-sized bed and very spacious room.
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xtina_Boss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2015

Just back from a tremendous holiday in cornwall. Stayed for a week at the historical St Benets Abbey and thoroughly enjoyed it. The building itself is truly magnificent and steeped in history with many references to the knights Templars masons. There is a ruined tower to the rear of the property which can be viewed by arrangement with the owners. The bedrooms are spacious, very clean and very comfortable. We stayed in room 2 in the biggest bed I ever slept in. You can wave across the bed to your husband ha ha. The window was a bonus, it had double glass doors, balcony style and shaped like a church window. It overlooked the well kept gardens like a scene from Romeo and Juliet. Lovely en- suite with bath and shower and piping hot water. The rest of the house is very tastefully decorated in keeping with the history and the comfortable lounge with bar is a great place to relax and has many of the trappings still in situ from the old coach house.
Breakfast was a fabulous affair with lots of choice of hot and cold food and more than plenty to keep you going until teatime, all served by two delightful local girls.
And last but not least onto mine hosts. What can I say? JJ and Lynn were the most warm and welcoming of hosts who catered for our every need and JJ regaled us with many stories and much hilarity of an evening in the lounge. St Benets Abbey is very much a family home as well as a prospering business and it's upkeep and future plans are definitely a Labour of love. It offers a great base to explore cornwall and has easy access to all areas. Couldn't recommend a better place to stay. Pro fide.

Room tip: Go with a superior room for space and comfort.
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2015 via mobile

Arrived late to the hotel, but was no problem. Greeted at reception by the owner. Who was very friendly, showed us round the hotel and to our room. Breakfast was lovely, lots on offer with continental and cooked breakfast. Would definitely visit again.

Even if we are newcastle fans

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lisa-w9015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews