We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Diving - Poor Knights Islands with Northland Dive

Just finished a live-aboard on Sun Spy to the Poor Knights, with day trips to the Rainbow Warrior... read more

Reviewed 31 August 2023
Pineapple1515
,
Christchurch, New Zealand
via mobile
Best diving in Aotearoa

Drove up from Wellington with a party of 6 to experience diving with Northland Dive. The on-site... read more

Reviewed 25 May 2023
Keegsfish
Read all 328 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (328)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveller rating
328
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
328
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews these guys amazing diving poor knights friendly hosts great company days diving canterbury wreck ribs julia hospitality lodge boats bay spy nitrox liveaboard shore
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 328 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2020 via mobile

Great diving, accommodation, and hospitality for both the shored based dives and the Poor Knights' liveaboard. Top dive outfit! Thanks Julia and Shane

Date of experience: October 2020
Thank FinnNemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 October 2020

This is almost certainly the best dive operation in New Zealand. Shane and Julia and are fantastic hosts, the food is plentiful and super yum, and the lodge is spacious and comfortable and in a beautiful setting. It also has a spa!

The diving side of things is really well run, so that the trips and the liveaboard feel efficient and organised. They cater to recreational and tec divers with an abundant supply of nitrox. Everything is done with good vibes and a great sense humour and there’s never a sense that they’re just going through the motions.

The Bay of Plenty and Poor Knights are the best diving to be had in Northland, and Northland Dive are the people to dive with when you’re there.

Date of experience: October 2020
Thank jakep234
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 October 2020 via mobile

Had a great live a board this weekend. Your staff and so nice and helpful. Food great and the dives where great to. Can not wait to go again.

Date of experience: October 2020
Thank Croppynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 September 2020

Your go to dive company for diving the Poor Knights islands plus the Canterbury wreck and other dive spots.

Great hospitality with Julia and Shane providing fantastic accommodation in their lodge and onboard their dive boat Sun Spy. Awesome meals after diving. Very friendly owners along with Adam and Emma.

Very reasonable pricing for the 5 days of diving along with nitrox at also very reasonable pricing.

Great knowledge of the poor knights dive sites and the Canterbury wreck plus other sites.

Highly recommend Shane and Julia for all your northland diving!!

Will be back for some more diving for sure and to explore more areas of the Canterbury wreck!!!

Thank you for the amazing diving and the fantastic hospitality.

Date of experience: September 2020
Thank GrantNewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NorthlandDive, Owner at Northland Dive, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2020

Grant it was our absolutely pleasure!

It was a shame the visibility in the Bay of Islands wasn't as good as the Poor Knights but that gives you something to look forward to on your next visit!

The Canterbury Wreck is a stunning dive with plenty of rooms to explore and an ever increasing number of fish schooling around and inside the wreck.

We look forward to seeing you again SOON!!

Shane & Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2020

Fantastic 3 days aboard Sun Spy Live aboard. Julia, Shane and Emma were all very accommodating and helpful. Shane is a very capable captain and took us to some great diving spots at the Poor Knights.

Date of experience: August 2020
Thank TheChad-011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews