We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Riviera(Sidmouth)
US$392
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$434/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (722)
Filter reviews
722 results
Traveller rating
358
216
88
48
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
358
216
88
48
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubcottage roomst austell brewerybranscombe beachthe cottagesmusselsnarrow country laneslog firepretty villagemain buildingpassing placesbeautiful villageeast devonshort walk to the beachcar parkfour poster bedbooked a table
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 722 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2018

First time here. Beautiful pub. Very busy so was expecting to wait a while for our food order.Food arrived about 15 minutes after ordering. Food excellent. As it was really hot day we sat outside. Plenty seating and very clean.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sandraconway37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Masons Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Thank you for leaving us this review. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit to us and hope to see you back again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018

Situated in a beautiful picture postcard village, we stayed in a superior double room in the thatched converted cottages opposite the pub. Lovely bathroom with separate double sized shower cubicle, and much welcome room extras such as bottles of water, herb teas and biscuits. The staff were very friendly and welcoming going beyond the call of duty for the guests. Breakfasts were very accommodating for gluten free and vegetarian, with plenty of choices. The pub has a good selection of local beer and the hotel is very dog friendly. Soo many cute pups and friendly owners! We ate at the hotel/pub every evening also and found the prices to be on par with most restaurant chains, loads of choice and again accommodating for special diets. Wifi is sketchy in room but fine in the bar/main building. However there is very little mobile signal in Branscombe as a whole. Only half a mile walk to the beach, where there are cliff side walks and a coffee shop. Would definitely return and offers a welcome escape from the city.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank Miffy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Masons Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Thank you for leaving us this lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to us and hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

We called in for a quick coffee during our Two Moors Way walk. They made us so welcome! Coffee was good and we regretted not staying for a lovely lunch, sadly, as both the menu and the fact that it was a Michelin one starred restaurant made the possibility very welcome.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank MaryD0dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Masons Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

Only regret was only stayed the one night, great view and ideal base to explore local area, walked to shore, about 10 minutes away, worth the effort, charming place and ideal location, amazed at how busy place was, food and service first class.

Room Tip: Room 34 was huge, may be dearer but my choice
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalcMc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Masons Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018

4 of us stayed 3 nights this week. Lovely big room, very clean. Food was good and all staff helpful and pleasant/attentive. Kascia was especially kind and engaging with us. Tables for 4 at breakfast were rather squashed but very quaint/interesting old place.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Masons Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews