We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok”
Review of The Haywain

The Haywain
Ranked #1 of 3 Quick Bites in Caldicot
Cuisines: American, Indian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Your Sizzling local, serving Breakfast from 9am-12pm Full menu selection all day untill 10pm Showing great sport with both Sky Sports and BT Sport available with our big screen and surround sound showing games LIVE! Receive discounted drinks with our Green Card offer
Reviewed 3 June 2019

This pub is situated within a residential area. It was a random choice after visiting the castle. It has ample parking. The interior is a bit dated.
The service and food were very average.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank goldeneye2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Haywain, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2019

Thank you for your review goldeneye2.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2019 via mobile

Food wasn't great steak was over cooked. Took ages to get served even though it wasn't busy. Tables full of dirty plates and we have been here over an hour and still haven the been taken away.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank 856j0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Haywain, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2019

I’m very sorry you found your visit with us disappointing 856j0hn, we hope to see you again soon for a more pleasant experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2019 via mobile

got my food and found a bug in it, took it back and the woman said rudely ‘what do you expect me to do’ and i had no apology of any kind. returned the food and got a ‘fresh meal’ with some of the food missing and some burnt. clearly had just been reheated and sent back out again. Usually a lovely place to have food but won’t be going back there any time soon

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank jenny78901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Haywain, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2019

I’m sorry you did not enjoy your visit this time Jenny, I have been assured that when you complained you were offered and given a fresh meal. We are not in the habit of reheating food and passing it off as fresh. If you wish to speak to me about this please ring the pub on 01291 427193.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2019

Had a sizzling steak and wow what a meal,one of the best steaks we have ever had. How do they make that bed of onions with the steak so fantastic - everything on the plate was beautifully cooked and we cannot wait to go back. OK the place is a little dated but the staff are lovely and helpful and even though they were very busy everything was spot on. So well done and thanks the Haywain you are great!

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank snorkel247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Haywain, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2019

Thank you for leaving a positive review snorkel247. We appreciate you taking the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2019

My partner and I had booked a meal out and were looking forward to it as we have enjoyed food here many times. However on this particular occasion we were very disappointed. We ordered our main meal which took longer than expected to come out and when we received our food, part of our main meals were missing. We did not receive an apology or our missing food. We ordered desserts from the new menu and these took 45 minutes to arrive. The waitress who delivered our food did not apologise for the long wait and slammed the food down in front of us and walked off. Very disappointing time at The Haywain this time.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PJDU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Haywain, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2019

Sorry to see that you were disappointed with your visit. I do hope you spoke to a member of staff at the time to give us an opportunity to set things right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Haywain also viewed

Caldicot, Monmouthshire
Caldicot, Monmouthshire
 
Chepstow, Monmouthshire
Magor, Monmouthshire
 

Been to The Haywain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
New Zealand
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.