We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
112
29
16
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
112
29
16
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews duck pudding sunday lunch roaring fire pub restaurant scampi pie excellent accommodation lovely room preston area bed was very comfortable an overnight stay tea and coffee gins pint olde caravan
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

Had a fantastic evening at this restaurant with some friends. There was a great atmosphere and the value and quality of the meal was quite superb. Recommend you trying it out! It is run by a family who are very friendly

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jbmcv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M4rkW, Owner at Ye Horns Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed you New Years visit!
All the very best for 2018

Mark Woods

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017

Attended a Sunday luncheon last week - party of 13, all pre booked- and found the food so disappointing this time. Duck seemed boiled, not roasted, frozen roast potatoes, packet stuffing, and mediocre gravy. Ordered sticky toffee pudding (which they buy in) with custard - got very small piece of pudding and hard lumpy custard. I went home and had cheese on toast I was so hungry. Bar service was abysmal and we had to keep asking for service. Female owner barged in and very loudly started chatting away to our host who was in the middle of his speech - completely throwing him off. I won't be back unless they manage to sell (it's up for sale) and hopefully the new owners improve both food and service.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank pauline f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M4rkW, Owner at Ye Horns Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Pauline F
Thanks for your feed back after a recent visit, i wish you had taken time to speak with us on the day and given us a chance to rectify any problems you had.
To set you right on a few of your coments which are incorrect, our duck is roasted in the same way it has been for the last 50 + years, cooked slowly to maintain its moisture and help remove any excess fat and then serverd with a crisp skin, not boiled as you sugest. The roast potatoes have never seen a freezer, they arrive in sacks, we peel them, we roast them, simple who would buy frozen potatoes? Not us.
Packet stuffing you say, again the only item in a packet is some dried sage which we add to onion and bread and season with salt and pepper so wrong again.
The only things we "buy in" for our sticky toffee pudding is the flour, sugar, eggs, dates, butter and cream, all of which by magic we turn into sticky toffee pudding in the same way we have always done.
So if you didnt enjoy our food and service then please accept my appologies but next time you take to this site to berate us or any other business, I sugest you speak with them first. Then maybe you would have given them a chance to put things right or at least have the correct information.
So sorry we won't be seeing you again, however we will be seeing your host who enjoys regular visits to our inn which i'm sure will continue.

Mark Woods
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

My wife and I travel from Scotland to Cornwall 4 or 5 times a year and normally overnight in the Preston area on our return journey. I had looked at the Ye Horns Inn a number of times on the internet but had dismissed it as being too far from the motorway. That was our big mistake that has now been rectified. It was about a 10 or 15 minute drive off the M6 but it was worth it. It is in lovely countryside and epitomises everything that is good about an Olde English Coaching in. A lovely welcome with a lovely room with plenty of space and a large bathroom. If you want modern and characterless go to a travel inn. This was warm comfortable and worn at the edges. Bed was very comfortable and plenty of tea and coffee or hot chocolate and biscuits. No complaints on that front. We went up into the pub for a pre dinner drink. We were greeted by smiling friendly staff a roaring fire and the discovery that the pub brewed its own beer. Result. Dinner was cooked by the owner and was excellent. I know we will be back. Great find

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M4rkW, Owner at Ye Horns Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again

cheers

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

This was a last-minute and unexpected trip to relatives who lived nearby, but we decided to come a day early to look at the Forest of Bowland first, thus the stay here.

We arrived (later than planned) mid-afternoon and were very warmly welcomed, provided with refreshment (food and drink) even though the kitchen was closing. Our room was quite excellent with every facility and comfort one could wish.

We enjoyed an very quiet and comfortable restful night followed by a very good breakfast the next morning - the choice was varied and the poached eggs cooked just perfectly and the bacon also very good indeed. As a special extra we had our daily paper collected from Longridge (not a regular service but as a favour).

Would thoroughly recommend as an excellent B&B in a lovely part of the UK - The Forest of Bowland is an undiscovered gem of the country.

Room tip: Rooms 1 to 3 are ground floor, and we enjoyed Room 1
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank martinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M4rkW, Owner at Ye Horns Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again.
Cheers
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Not been here for some time, due to roadwork's. Booked for Friday lunch and surprised we were the only diners, apart from a couple eating in the bar. They told us the place is up for sale. Just hope any new owners don't alter anything. Excellent meal and service as usual.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Irene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews