We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (438)
Filter reviews
438 results
Traveller rating
176
129
51
41
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
129
51
41
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tacos beach vibe plumbing jungle
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 438 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

We strongly advise not staying here. The rooms weren't great but the worst thing is that all our money was stolen from our room. There was no forced entry and a safety deposit box was not offered to us on arrival. Even worse was that on trying to report the theft to the reception staff their attitude was uncaring and even obstructive. The manager refused to come and speak to us staying that they were too busy and the reception refused to call the police telling us to wait on the road until the police came past and flag them down. Both the attitude of the staff and the fact that the room had obviously been entered with a key can only lead us to believe that the staff are aware and possibly involved with this theft. They obviously do not care about their guests. Thank God for the concierge at a different hotel who went above and beyond her duties to help us. Thank you to the police who were also amazing. If you do decide to stay at the ironically named "OM" tulum DO NOT LEAVE ANY VALUABLES IN THE ROOM.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omtulum, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear Natalie, you are writing a lot of incongruous words,
1- we have a safety box for the guests that wants save values or money
2- in each room there is sign that advices to do not leave any valuables or money inside and if you need there is a safe box in the reception
3- in the same advise there is also written down that the hotel is responsible only for what you leave in our safety box
4- we couldn't call the police because it was from two days before, you call them and they said there were nothing to do, because there was no proof, only your words.
5- you told us you made a mistake, because you left a day earlier of the date of your check out. You notice it when you were checking in other hotel.
6- you were asking for a money return but days later, when you were staying in another hotel, so that means you were not sure where you "lost it" neither the right amount. There's no single hotel that would refund you what you say your had At your room,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

We just spent the day at the OM beach club. We had originally planned to go somewhere else but did not like the vibe. This beach club was great, our waiter was very attentive, the food and drinks were very good, and when a downpour came and everyone went into the restaurant, the manager/owner (not sure which) was very attentive to everyone and very friendly. The pizza was fantastic. We would highly recommend this place and will return.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank travelingal736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omtulum, Proprietario at Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Thanks a lot for your commentary, we try to do our best for ours guests and get the target of transmit the love we put in the job is something very special for us
Thanks again ❤️

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

I've been going to Om Tulum for many years to enjoy at a day at the beach. I read the reviews before heading there this year. I was surprised at all the terrible comments but I decided I'd go regardless since I was going for the beach beds and drinks. I also had some friends from London that were staying there and to my surprise they were pleased with their room and the price they paid for it. As for me, the drinks were good, well priced and the service was quick and the waiters were all very polite and took good care of us. There's room for improvement and from what I can see, they are working on revamping the Om. One thing for sure, I'm not so sure about all the negative reviews they getting. This isn't The Ritz, they are the Om Tulum Cabanas, so it's clear that you are not sleeping in a "Garden View King".

Date of stay: January 2018
Thank platinumtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

I specifically stayed at this hotel Jan 25-28 because they offered a king bed and a double bed. I was travelling with 2 girlfriends. I confirmed the king bed with the hotel before the trip. When we arrived, there were only 2 double beds and the A/C didn't work. They switched us rooms the next day which meant we wasted half the first day of our vacation waiting around the change rooms. The compensation they initially offered was a free breakfast consisting of coffee and white toast. I was not impressed. We asked to speak to the manager who never appeared but we were offered a free full breakfast the next 2 days. The demeanour of the restaurant staff towards us was unfriendly. All in all, this was a very disappointing experience. It's a beautiful location on the beach but the hotel is an overpriced low budget experience. I wouldn't recommend it and I wouldn't return.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sandy0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

Overpriced !!!! For this rate you could find an amazing places in Tulum.

Beds are old and broken! When you turn in your bed -making noises.

No Wifi in the rooms and very poor in the common area!

Towels old and with holes!

Water is so dirty, that you can't even wash your face.

And it is the lie that we are in jungle, because in other hotel we got pure water.

The beach towels arrived only lunch time and old with wholes too!!!

Beach beds are always busy as they are not kept for the hotel guest.

Fresh juices -just water with ice and a piece of fruit!

Avoid this place !!!! Horrible experience!!!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tatiana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omtulum, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

MY Dear Tatiana, Thanks a lot for give us a piece of your time and help us to improve
I'm so sad to hear from you these words that oblige me to answer
1- you contact me in private to get a better prize saying that would reserve for 15 days, I block the room waiting your confirm for weeks so you confirm it but for 12 and at least when you arrived told us that you would remain for 10, not properly correct isn't it ?
2- you ask to change room because the sea rumors didn't let sleep your friend.... strange you didn't know that we are on the beach, you stayed there last year too, anyway we arranged to change your room even in a week completely full
3- I offered to gift you a continental breakfast but if you ask every morning an all inclusive buffet the waiters should add the excess dishes at your bill
4- about the towels: it's very strange and you choose the wrong time to write it because just a week before your arrive I bought the new towels for the high season ( I have the invoice to show if u like )
4- compare us with the Nomade is a proud for us, but as everybody can verify we are on two different levels for standard and prizes of course they are one of the highest hotel in tulum and we are in the middle, our prizes are the half of them, but is easy to check it
5- you offered to pay cash as get a better prize cutting off the card commission
6- wifi work in the area we said we have
In the rooms we never had wifi, maybe you didn't remember it from last year
Anyway if the internet provider have a problem all the hotels that use it have too
Don't forget we are in a natural and ecological area without electricity
It's strange I should remember to you,old guest of us that should know it
My conclusion is that there are people that if want the top pay for it and people that would the same standard paying less
Thanks a lot for visit us, waiting for u again my dear friend
Ahhh I forgot to tell you about the discount you pretend on the sea-wear you bough in our boutique, and about the way you acted to the employers .... better another time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews