We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing post holiday family vacation in a great...”
other travellers have booked this property
Beachfront
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beachfront
Beach side patio View from bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Beachfront
Beach side patio
View from bedroom
View from Terrace 1
Hammocks, beach chairs, palapa and peace...
Beach
Beach palapa and hammocks
Living room from open first floor
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Open living room with lots of cushions
Living Room
Living room opens to patio and beach
Living Room
Large sofa in living room
Kitchen bar and dining room AND the Caribbean
Fully equipped kitchen with tropical garden view and Carribean view
Open Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Dinning Room
Dinning Room
Dinning Room
Dinning Room
Master Bedroom 2
Ground floor blue master bedroom 2, French doors to patio and beach
Master Bedroom 2
Master Bedroom 2
Master Bedroom 2
Master Bedroom 2
Master Bedroom 2
Ground floor blue master bedroom 2 - large closet
Blue master bedroom 2
Outside the blue master bedroom
The Room 2
Blue bathroom in blue master bedroom 2
Blue Bathroom, Master Bedroom 2
Half Bathroom first floor
Living Room
Stairs
Main entrance and stairs to second level
Second level
TV Room
Stairs to roof
Upstairs hang out corner
Green Master bedroom with deck overlooking the Carribean
en suite tropical bathroom
Master Bedroom 1
Master Bedroom 1
Master Bedroom 1
Terrace Master Bedroom 1
Terrace Master Bedroom 1
Terrace Master Bedroom 1
Master Bedroom 1
Master Bedroom 1
Master Bedroom 1- Private deck over the beach, a glimpse of the tropical shower
Master Bedroom 1
Terrace Master Bedroom 1
Master Bedroom 1 Bathroom
Tropical shower in Green room
Tropical shower in green room
Master Bedroom 1 Bathroom
Master Bedroom 1 Tropical Shower
Master Bedroom 1 Bathroom
From your room, serenity...
Twin Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Canopy twin beds upstairs bedroom
Tropical shower Twin Bedroom
Tropical shower Twin Bedroom
Tropical shower
Terrace Twin bedroom
Terrace Twin bedroom
Terrace Twin bedroom
Terrace Twin bedroom
Outdoor Kitchen / patio
outdoor kitchen
Outdoor kitchen /Patio
BBQ -outdoor kitchen
Beach side patio
Beach side patio
Beach side patio
Beach side patio
Beach side patio
Beach
Steps to the tanning roof
Beach
Roof with private sunbathing and sunset Margaritas
From the roof, a very quiet and private beach
Roof Top
Roof Top
Beach
Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tulum, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
RobertSny...
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Relaxing post holiday family vacation in a great house and setting!”
Reviewed 19 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We had a wonderful, relaxing stay at Villa Mariposa, a comfortable, well maintained beach home, overlooking the Tankah Bay. It is tastefully decorated, beautifully reflecting the culture of the setting. It matched the description and photos and exceeded our expectations. The owner provided us with helpful information and tips in advance of our arrival and was easy to communicate with throughout. Luis and Nery were wonderful caretakers. We explored the Tulum area by car and made trips into the village, the playa, ruins, restaurants etc. But we also enjoyed our time relaxing at the house and could have used an extra day doing just that! The hammocks under the palapa were prized spots and just steps from the bay, but the house is laid out in a way that gives plenty of privacy and options, inside and out, for our family of six (5 adults and one teen). Yes, the beach and bay are rocky as described, and we followed instructions to bring water shoes and made use of the kayaks. Possibly due to the tides or time of year, the edge of the bay was a bit closer that in the photos, but that was not a problem! (There are plenty of other beaches to visit in the area for a different sort of beach day if desired.)
If we return to the Tulum area we would definitely hope to book Villa Mariposa again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Condition, decor and layout of the house. Great communication with owner and wonderful caretakers.
Liked least: Dealing with limitations of Tulum/Mexico plumbing, but that is through out the area and not specific to the house. We followed instructions and did not have issues.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2016
Thank you for your kind review! Glad your family had a wonderful time! A few very strong storms have eroded the beaches along the coast that's why the water is higher up on our beach. We hope to welcome you again at Villa Mariposa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaskyns
Rudgwick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely house, right on the beach, with all amenities provided”
Reviewed 18 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a week staying in this lovely villa. We travelled from UK and met up with our son, his wife and our 21 month granddaughter along with our daughter-in-law's mother who all live in New York state. So we were five adults and one little girl. The accommodation was perfect for us and we had a lovely relaxing week. It is exactly as described and everything has been thought of and provided. It is obvious that this is a well loved holiday home to the owners and it was lovely to spend time in somewhere that felt 'lived in'. There is plenty to see and do in the area, some lovely beaches and good restaurants. All in all it was perfect accommodation for a week away from the winter weather and we would thoroughly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful location, right on the beach
Liked least: Beware tummy bugs - water not drinkable, but bottled provided.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words Mary! I enjoyed talking to your husband for a bit on Friday night. Happy to hear everyone in your party enjoyed the house and the area. Hope to see you again at Villa Mariposa!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 20 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sueba3
Montgomery, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Family Gathering”
Reviewed 15 January 2015 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I met our 2 adult sons and their wives at Mariposa in October. It was perfect for 6 adults. The house is designed so that the bedroom areas are private and they each include a bathroom and balcony over looking the beach. The public areas and kitchen were roomy, comfortable, wide open and nicely decorated.
The beach was very private because there were so few people staying along the strip of beach. There were kayaks to enjoy and a nice cabana for shade.
We were able to find something to do in the surrounding areas everyday, but we were happy to stay at Mariposa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: the access road
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$280
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an enquiry to the owner using the above make enquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing