We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,043)
Filter reviews
1,043 results
Traveller rating
783
142
63
30
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
783
142
63
30
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jungle suite outdoor shower arena suite our honeymoon private pool ceviche beach beds beautiful beach boutique hotel beach area is hotel is beautiful ground floor spent nights beach service free bikes romantic getaway beautiful room
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,043 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Would not recommend spending the day there. Went for day passes to Azulik and Casa Malca prior so perhaps my standards were high. Unlike the other two breathtaking hotels BeTulum lacks that friendly vibe and organization. Breakfast was horrible, services was slow. Went to the beach after wards and again major lack in service and hospitality.

Casa Malca,basically a hotel museum, gives you full access if you buy a few drinks (gorgeous rooftop terrace, amazing pool). Azulik charges upfront 40$ American per person that you can use as credit for food and drinks. And here’s the catch... BeTulum wants to charge 50$ upfront yet you can’t use the pool or beach beds that are completely vacated... and it’s not even comparable to the other hotels. There’s no art, no service, questionable menu...

Just head down the beach a few steps to Dos Ceibas or Nest and you’re getting basically same beach access with a better and cheaper menu.

Seriously was a joke, first time someone asked me for a tip. Obviously you’re going to tip, and at Malca and Azulik you’ll have no problems leaving generous tips because the hospitality and friendliness is impeccable. They didn’t even have same quality water or beers. Person said they’d bring a menu and never did...

Really for day pass seekers there are much better options. START WITH AZULIK AND CASA MALCA you won’t be disappointed.

Stayed: November 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Roving36854271838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramiro F, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear "Roving36854271838",

Thank you for visiting Be Tulum and for your feedback!
Be Tulum has no day passes, thus provides no access to certain guests-only amenities.

Each time we receive outside visitors we explain to them at the front desk that there is a minimal consumption of 50 USD at the beach club. This means we ask you to consume at least this amount in drinks and food in order to stay at the beach, to have access to the bathrooms, and to enjoy the special music and atmosphere of the hotel. We do not sell day passes, and let us explain why:
Our hotel has 64 rooms, and hotel guests are always the number one priority, as they should be. This is the reason why our pools, as well as the beach beds, are designated only for guests. Of course, visitors are also very important to us and we focus on providing the best service every time.

Casa Malca and Azulik are great places as well. As you know, every hotel on Tulum has their own style and policies.

Kind regards,
Be Tulum Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

We have stayed here few years back. This hotel grew from 20 rooms to 60 rooms but managed to stay personal and keep a great vibe. Stayed here Thursday through Sunday. Great getaway!
Positive: great staff, attentive, good food and drinks. They take care of seaweed well! (That was our biggest worry). Their beach is by far the cleanest! We expected more seaweed.
Breakfast included was great. Simple sunny side up and may be some yogurt and fruit or an avocado toast with the poached egg were my favorite options.
Lunch: whole fish, ceviche, guacamole and margaritas will do good for anyone!
Negative: there is a damp smell in the rooms due to high humidity. Make sure to turn on the dehumidifier unit before getting out in the morning so it works all day while u r out. And scented candles help as well. Not a big issue at all for us.
Overall:
If you choose Tulum, this is a great place to stay (no kids) if u get a decent deal!
With kids, Le Zebra is a good option. Stayed there last spring break - great!
Tip: we prefer the cheapest room (jungle view) in this hotel simply because we feel it is better! Those little personal pools - not worth it at all in my opinion. Ocean view is not great either. (Unlike le zebra - ocean front - amazing!!! Totally would do it again!)

Stayed: November 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank mikki_lulin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramiro F, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear "mikki_lulin",

Thank you very much for your feedback! And thanks for staying with us.

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!

Kind regards,
Be Tulum Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

Really nice place with a wonderful people trying to help you all the time. Great restaurant and Gorgeous view.
My room was incredible and cozy. Love it.
Definitely we have to come back in couple months

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Inspiration738940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramiro F, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Dear "Inspiration738940",

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback! We love to read you liked Be Tulum so much.

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!

Kind regards,
Be Tulum Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile

This hotel is truly amazing! From the moment we got there, we were greeted as if we were friends/family. They welcomed us with Margaritasa and Mojitos and took the time to learn our names. The staff was super polite and told us everything we needed to know about our stay. The hotel is beautiful, with two pools and we got the Arena Suite which comes with our own pool. Def the better option so you have your own privacy. I loved the rustic look of the place and the fact that it is really eco-friendly. The food is delicious and the head chef has a michelin star! The delicious breakfast is included, which is a plus! we were able to rent the bikes at any timeof day for free. I can’t say enough about the staff, esp Samantha who helped us book our private Cenote tour! She is a sweetheart! This place is amazing and if you get the chance to go to Tulum, you should look no further than this hotel.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank amierod3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramiro F, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Dear "amierod3",

Thanks for writing such positive and thorough review about Be Tulum, Maresias and Ocumare!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!

Kind regards,
Be Tulum Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

We have traveled extensively and stay at upscale places so we chose this hotel as the pictures of suites were nice and it was the most expensive. We are still here for one more night and our stay had been bitter Sweet.
Let's get the food stuff first. We stayed at the Aire suite and it is fabulous! It is actually much better than the pictures.
The food has been good also. Prices are reasonable and quality is very good.
Now the stuff that makes your stay memorable is lacking.... The service has been sub par. The drinks are watered down and the quality is very inconsistent. We would order same drinks and one will be good and the other not even tasting similar.
This is for a place that is not all inclusive and we pay for our drinks.
Not impressed and wouldn't come back here again.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank 973syedh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramiro F, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear "Syed H",

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in the The Aire suite, it's a great option when choosing a room at Be Tulum.
Regarding the drinks with melting ice: we apologize for this inconvenience, but the heat in the Caribbean can be intense on some days. Thank you for the feedback, it's very important to us.

Kind regards,
Be Tulum Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews