We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Nearby Hotels
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
US$334
US$258
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$385
US$312
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Petit Lafitte(Playa del Carmen)
US$237
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$820
US$519
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$278
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa(Playa Maroma)
US$615
US$447
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Playa del Carmen Hotel(Playa del Carmen)
US$37
US$30
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Rosewood Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$747
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$15,600
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Tree Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$928
US$775
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,868)
Filter reviews
5,868 results
Traveller rating
3,667
1,455
446
171
129
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,667
1,455
446
171
129
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssports bardon manolospecialty restaurantspalm treescourtyard viewfusion restaurantmusty smellmake reservationsother resortsgated communitylobsterinfinity poolriviera mayamain buffetentertainment staffhotel is beautifullunch buffet
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 5,868 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I came here to recharge our batteries. The entertainment team work very hard and they provide good fun I especially enjoyed the foam party in the pool. The food in the buffet restaurant, Brazilian restaurant and Krystal restaurant in my opinion were the best places to eat. All staff have been very friendly and polite but I would like to mention Claudia for her poolside service, Jose for the lobby bar, Antenor and Kiki for poolbar and evening service. Would definitely come here again.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Lynne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here last week for my wife's birthday. This is a very nice hotel and the staff really goes the extra mile. My wife's birthday was the second day of our vacation, and without anyone from our party alerting the hotel, we came back from the pool to find our room decked out with balloons, cake and a card! I'll break down separate reviews:

FOOD - AMAZING. We ate at every restaurant except the Mexican restaurant and they were all superb. One day they even had a lobster and shrimp BBQ on the beach. One complaint would be the buffets however. They had the exact same food at the exact same spot every day with no variation. Even the buffet food was good though.

BEACH - Like a postcard! White sandy beach, turquoise water, etc...People are complaining about the seaweed, but we went to several other beaches including Tulum and it was everywhere. It must be the season for it. There are guys on the beach burying tons of it in holes though. Those guys deserve a metal because we had a couple days without all the seaweed.

POOL - Also amazing. Pool staff servers and bartenders were quick and friendly. Claudia was our favorite. It was a bit of a struggle getting beds if you werent there super early, but if i saw someone get up and leave their towel, and head for the hotel, would snatch it up. Also, if you tip the pool staff a couple of bucks, they will quickly get you beds and an umbrella.

GYM- Two thumbs down. Not much equipment and not much AC. I tried running on the treadmill and thought I was gonna die with heat stroke after 10 mins.

ROOM - Very dated and beat up. We had three rooms and all three rooms had cracked sinks, toilets and showers. In our room the toilet leaked on the floor. My in-laws had a hole punched in one their walls. My daughter's room the toilet kept overflowing. Beds were hard and the pillows flat. None of us had fully functions TVs either. There was also only one elevator per building and our rooms were as far away as possible and on the top floor.

HOTEL - Extremely nice and well kept up. They meticulously cleaned and groomed the grounds.

GIFT SHOP AND FARMACIA - INSANELY expensive. $25USD for sun screen? $28USD for Neosporin? Loco!

SHOWS - Surprisingly really good. Usually these shows are cheesy and dumb, but they had legit Elvis and Michael Jackson impersonators as well as pretty well done choreography and production.

Overall, we will absolutely come back to this hotel. We loved it despite a few minor issues.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dereksouthworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is like Espana in the early 1990s, full animation team and loco all day long! Maybe some like the full entertainment programme but it is not for every extranjero! Our room, number 1115 was the most perfect spot in the whole hotel, ocean front, pool view and furthest away from the evening noisy entertainment; however it was so damp that our clothes were wet and smelly even on arrival home. Even the bed was damp, with a musty smell in the room the whole time, plus really old fashioned furnishings, although super spacious!
Food at this hotel is excellent, with several restaurants, Japanese being our favourite, and a fabulous array of choice in the daily buffet. Drink on the other hand, although thrown at you from dawn til dusk, even with optics in your room, was not of such a good standard. It was difficult to find a good wine and all the other drinks had a slight taste of the cleaning solution used to clean the glasses.
This however did not stop the guests from enjoying themselves, the majority drunk by lunchtime!
The beach is absolutely beautiful, lots of sunbeds (basic, no pads) white sand and wonderful weather in April. There was a lot of seaweed on the beach, but the staff deal with it quickly and effectively.
Staff at this hotel are too amazing to mention individually, all work so hard and super fast. I loved the fact that they didn't all speak perfect english and it felt more authentic to hear and try the espanol!
Lovely people, safe location don't listen to the negative press of Cancun!

Room Tip: The hotel is super clean, but room 1115 is damp and musty, even though the best location.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank cate2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing RIU Hotels & Resorts for your holidays and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

As a service-oriented hotel chain, we are proud that you have rated our staff very well and since for RIU gastronomy is a very important part of the guest experience, we were pleased to read that you were satisfied with the food served in our restaurants, which is prepared daily with the utmost care and using fresh ingredients.

On the other hand, we regret to read that you were not satisfied with the furnishings of your guest room. At RIU, we work hard to satisfy the needs of our guests; making our customers happy and comfortable in our hotels is our mission. Please be assured that we never stop renovating the hotels of our worldwide portfolio, so we can offer you the most up-to-date facilities.

Humidity is something very typical of a tropical climate, especially in Playa del Carmen whose surroundings are mainly composed of beautiful vegetation. Our internal system is created to mitigate this. We would have liked to have been informed about all your inconveniences during your stay so we could have helped you to enjoy a pleasant holiday.

Certainly, we will share your impressions with the corresponding department in order to make adjustments, where necessary or take them into consideration for future refurbishments.


With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I have stayed at many RIU palaces before and chose this for his birthday trip this year. We were treated very well at check in by Alex and given a room ( with an upgrade ) immediately when we checked in. The room was very nice...the usual RIU palace style with balcony, sitting area, and fridge area with coffee pot and various liquor dispensers ( vodka, tequila, rum and brandy). Fridge had water, sparkling water, Dos Equis, Pepsi and Pepsi light as well as sprite. If you want other mixers I recommend you bring them. We found the bed comfortable as well as the room. We were disappointed that NONE of the ice makers on any floor worked so we had to go to the sports bar or order ice from room service which made in room drink making inconvenient.

The pool water was very cloudy the whole time we were there ( one week). We have never experienced that at other RIU palaces. The chair saving with towels of people who never or rarely are using the chairs is a huge issue as usual. The beach area had abundant shade from palm trees so umbrellas were not necessary. The chair saving problem was present here as well but we managed to find chairs each day with minimal searching. The seaweed problem is HUGE. I don’t know how long this will be going on but it is a HUGE issue. The water is not even blue because of the seaweed infestation. We wouldn’t have come if we would have known about it. No exaggeration at all. Piles and piles of seaweed and it extends 6 feet or more at times leading into the water and wraps around your legs once in the water. Not a good time to go to this area. We researched this and many areas of the Caribbean are having the same issue As of late.

We went into town ($7-8 cab ride) a couple of times to enjoy the beach massages available there. Ask to be dropped off by el Faro then walk to the right once on the beach and you will find many massages for $20-$30 range for an hour on the beach. The water there is also brown because of seaweed currently.

3 days of our stay we walked down to the RIU palace Mexico to spend the day because it was a huge upgrade from the RIU palace riviera maya facilities. I highly recommend the RIU palace Mexico over the riviera maya. It has several pools allowing some to be loud and some to be more quiet. The lunch buffet is much better and overall the situation is just more serene and resort like instead of the loud spring break type situation at the one pool and pool bar at RM. The pool water is also clear and blue at RPM. Everything about the RPM seems much upgraded. Unfortunately the seaweed is the same everywhere right now but at least the pool was a great alternative at this location.

Dinners at the RPRM were good but as frequent customers of RIU hotels we would love some variety. The restaurants always have the Sams menus. If RIU wants to attract repeat guests variety on the menus would be great!!!! This location had a Brazilian steakhouse which was a welcome new addition. The food was good in all the specialty restaurants but the menus are in huge news of change. We only had the buffet for breakfast and it was good. Carlos at breakfast deserves special recongnition. He noticed I liked spicy and always brought me a special hot sauce concoction to enjoy with breakfast :).

The staff as always is unbelievable at this RIU as all the others we have visitors. Amazing customer service !!!!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank islandtraveler89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and grown daughter just returned after a 5 night stay at the Riu Palace Riviera Maya. Wow! The beach is phenomenal and where we spent each day. Beach service and chairs were plentiful, although you had to claim your chairs early in the day. Palm trees, white fine sand (similar to Destin, FL) and a very large beach area with incredibly aqua blue water.

Pool was great, too. A large pool connected to another large infinity pool. Resort is very traditional in architecture and while the crowd is a mix of all ages, it might be made up of half 40+ years in age. There were plenty of drinks available but it seemed like a calmer crowd than the Hardrock and others we have stayed at in the region. It was very international and if you’re looking for a nightclub scene, it is not here. It seemed more targeted at family and a quieter crowd.

The grounds are impeccably kept and beautiful with long reflection pools and fountains everywhere. The lobby looks like a palace and traditional in furnishings. Large buffet of really great foods but also a Japanese, Caribbean, Brazilian, Mexican and Steakhouse with filets/lobster. Reservations are not allowed but we never waited for a specialty restaurant of our choice. Food was very good, although favorites were the Japanese, Caribbean and the Steakhouse where we got surf and turf twice while there.

Rooms are nice and we chose the “Superior” rooms, which probably led to the beautiful views of pool and palace. I’d recommend this for the slight upcharge. Bathrooms were comfortable with a tub/shower combo and dual marble sinks. King bed with seating area and balcony. Very nice and good air conditioning. Room was very clean and maintained that way. Workers were constantly working to keep things in top-shape.

Staff were excellent in restaurants, bars and maintenance. They were very friendly and seemed happy to be working for the Riu.

We did book a snorkel trip through CaribbeScuba on property that was marginal and required us to swim out in the ocean from the shore to gain access to the boat for the trip and the return. Not safe if you’re not a comfortable swimmer even though you had life jackets. This was optional and should not reflect on the hotel. I’d just book a different snorkel trip that left from a pier.

This is a great stay, great food and great memories. We will be back again!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
6  Thank the4higgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews