We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,378)
Filter reviews
7,378 results
Traveller rating
4,555
2,007
534
172
110
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,555
2,007
534
172
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviews star friends howler monkeys jungle area specialty restaurants swim up bar dressel divers japanese restaurant ate at the japanese towel hut pool beach gated community other resorts emailed the hotel magic show plenty of chairs cab ride apple vacations
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 7,378 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

Just coming to the end of a 2 week stay at Iberostar Tucan and already planning to come back in the not too distant future.

Staff
The staff here are so friendly and welcoming, without exception. Even just walking about you will be welcomed with a smile and a 'hola' or 'bon dia' whenever you pass a member of staff.
On day 1 we were looking at our map and a staff member asked if we needed any help, which was lovely.
Tips are not expected but we always gave them as staff work so hard and really deserve them.

Food & Drink
Have to say, this hotel has the best AI food I've ever experienced, including the buffet which has so much choice, even for the fussiest eaters.
We tried all the Al a Cartes and was impressed with every one of them. My favourite was the steakhouse.

Was surprised to see so many international brands included in the AI. Eg. Smirnoff, Absolute, Tanqueray, Gordon's, Kalhua, Martini, Jim Beam, Ballantines etc etc
Oh and 8 kinds of Tequila! And very nice cocktails.
We have felt very spoilt!

Grounds
We initially picked this hotel mainly for the wildlife and wasn't disappointed. Stayed in block 15, third floor and we had the howlers visit every breakfast and dusk.
The Aguitis are very cute too and along with all the wildlife (iguana, peacocks/hens, coati...) look very healthy and thriving.

Not applicable to us but was impressed at how disabled friendly the hotel is. Convenient loungers are reserved for disabled guests and the we heard the pool staff calling golf cart to collect people who would struggle with the walk back to their rooms.
No lifts though, so request ground flood if you have mobility difficulties.

Grounds exceptionally clean.

Room
Had a double twin, very comfy and cleaned every day, with a towel sculpture left for out amusement after our return from the beach / pool. Fridge stocked daily.

Pool/beach
Huge pool and beautiful beach. Yes there is seaweed, but that's nature and the hotel try so hard to keep on top of it.
The sunbed hogging is shocking. Again not the hotels fault, just selfish guests. We saw one woman come down and reserve 5 beds in 2 locations so she had shade and full sun options, then went back to her room. Staff try to stop it by leaving cards and then returning after a period of time before taking towels away, but it must be so hard to police... hence we saw many beds reserved and not used for up to 5 hours some days.
If you're not down by 8am then you've little chance of getting beds and it's so frustrating when 80% of them have no bodies on them, and there are far more reserved beds than people in the sea/pool/restaurant!

Entertainment
We didn't join in the majority of the entertainment (not having kids and preferring to relax with a book), but from what we could see the activities laid on were excellent. Can see why families love this hotel.
Evening entertainment in the theatre was fab, especially loved the magician!

All in all, a fantastic 2 weeks and gutted to be going home in 2 days.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
7  Thank Qazwsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to comment on your IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal experience.

It pleases us to read that every aspect of your stay was of great enjoyment as your kind compliments and recognition towards our staff, food, facilities, entertainments and grounds, motivate us to continue striving to provide the best vacations to our beloved guests.

We are already looking forward for your soon return to our hotel!

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

My Wife and I traveled to Playa Del Carmen for some R&R with each other, and chose the Iberostar Tucan. Our check-in went very smoothly, and we thoroughly enjoyed the lobby during the process. There was a wonderful parrot in the lobby who was very receptive to my baby-talking him. And herein lies the true beauty of this resort; the middle of the resort has a huge jungle with a walking path, filled with lots of different animals. There are howler monkeys in the trees, agoutis (look like a cross between a rabbit and a squirrel), coatis (similar to a racoon in appearance), peacocks, ant eaters, swans, toucans, and many more critters. I absolutely LOVED all of the animals and the wild nature setting of the hotel.

Room: We booked just a run-of-the-house room, but found our room to be very comfortable. Our room was on the third floor facing the outside of the hotel, looking towards the resort next door. Every morning I could hear the howler monkeys up in the trees, but I could not get them to come to our balcony. If you love nature like my Wife and I do, I would suggest paying a little more for a superior room that faces the inside of the resort, facing the jungle. These rooms have daily visits from the howler moneys wanting a food hand-out. Next time, this is what we'll pick as well.

Food: Being here for only four days, we were not able to try all of the al-a-carte restaurants. But we loved the japanese restaurant (Bonsai) on our first night. The hibachi chef did a great job, and everyone at our table had a great time. Each hibachi plate included an offering of beef, chicken and shrimp. We also tried three kinds of sushi, all of which were fresh and delicious.
Our favorite restaurant was the Mediterranean restaurant down by the beach. The tables were set formally, and our dinner was complimented with a good house wine which we found very acceptable. My Wife had a big steak, while I opted for grilled fish. Both of our dishes very prepared correctly and were super-tasty.
We also loved having breakfast at the huge buffet building up towards the reception. It's an outdoor setting where you can watch swans, ducks, and a waterfall down below you, while you eat under the huge shaded palapa setting. We passed what looked like an anteater sitting on the suspended bridge on the way to the buffet. He was very sweet, and looked at everyone like he just wanted some attention. I kneeled down and talked to him, as did several other guests. Even though the signs indicate not to feed the animals, I gave him some crackers and bread, and he was very sweet and appreciative of the free meal. (I couldn't resist; I am such a huge animal lover.)


The Beach: During the day, we spent a majority of our time in the ocean. The resort has a wonderful stretch of beach and wonderful access to the ocean. We saw lots of fish swimming between our legs while we enjoyed the warm water and gentle lap of the waves. The only negative here was that the rental jet skis kept zipping back and forth very close to the roped-off section for swimmers. We could have done without the strong whiff of gas fumes and noise from the jet skis. However, I know this is outside the resorts control. The jet ski rentals were from some other company down on the beach. We also noticed a lot of guests in the water, smoking cigarettes. With our being non-smokers, this was a little agitating. We kept moving in the water, to get away from the smokers. During the early morning, it was not an issue. But once the beach gets crowded in the afternoons, it was a little off-putting. There was a seaweed issue, but there were guys working all day long to collect and bury the seaweed. It was an endless task, but they did a wonderful job of keeping the beach looking manageable. I absolutely love the ocean, so no seaweed is going to stop me from getting in the water. We just brushed it aside, and went out a little further in the water. We were still well within the protected roped-in area for swimmers. The water was warm and wonderful.

Pool: We loved the huge, free-form pool at the resort. They played games throughout the afternoon at the pool, and we found it soothing and relaxing just to take a break from the ocean once-and-awhile. There is no swim-up bar however. But there is a separate smaller pool with a bar and soothing waterfall. There are restrooms just off to the side of the main pool by the gift shops. This was convenient, if you needed the facilities, instead of trucking all the way back to your room.

Beachside Buffet: The buffet in the large circular building down by the beach, offered a wide variety of fresh fish, Mexican food, breads, fruits, and vegetables. The was literally something to satisfy just about anyone's tastes. Being a seafood lover, I especially enjoyed the fresh shrimp and mussels at the buffet. There is also an ice cream kiosk between the buffet and the beach, which my Wife loved trying each day. It was only open about 4 hours a day, but my Wife was ready and waiting each day, for them to open.

The Grounds: One of the most amazing things about the resort, is how perfectly manicured the grounds and rooms are kept. Each day we saw workers trimming, clipping, cleaning and manicuring the foliage and grounds around each building. The jungle area in the middle of the resort is quite large. There is a wonderful stone walkway meandering through the jungle which leads you from your room, up to the large buffet and front lobby. Do yourself a favor and enjoy all of the natural surroundings, animals, and scenery on your way to breakfast or dinner. This was truly the special highlight of the resort for me. Our room was also kept spotless by housekeeping. While the rooms offer no special amenities, they are very comfortable and clean. The bathroom had a nice, hot shower, the bed was very comfortable, and there were a few t.v. channels in English.

Lobby Bar: While my Wife does not drink, I found the Lobby Bar to be a perfect evening relaxation spot, after dinner. The bartenders were very personable, and made excellent martinis. Plus you have the added bonus of watching people come and go in the main lobby area, in the evening.

Entertainment: We watched two of the nighttime theater shows in the outdoor theater, and found them very entertaining, and full of a variety of singing, dancing, jokes, and great interaction with the guests. The outdoor theater is huge, covered, and has an open bar as well. There were plenty of comfortable tables and chairs to acommodate a large number of guests.

Resort Personnel: We found everyone at the resort to be very helpful, friendly, and gracious. Everyone seemed very interested in making sure that our stay was comfortable and rewarding. The Chefs, Waiters and Waitresses at the main buffet did an outstanding job of preparing wonderful dishes, and making sure your every need was met. It was so nice to enjoy a fresh breakfast each morning with fresh juices, coffee, and anything else you could possibly want for breakfast. ( I.E. Omelettes, bacon, deli meats, huge assortment of cheeses, fresh fruits, fresh breads, etc.)

Pros: Excellent service from all resort personnel. Wonderful Eco-Friendly environment. Immaculate grounds, rooms, pool and beach area. Wonderful beach.
A short walk or ride to nearby Playa Del Carmen shopping. Resort location is Safe, secure, and in the gated Playacar area. Absolutely wonderful jungle area, full of a wide variety of free-walking animals. Yes, there are newer hotels with fancier rooms, but we loved our stay here.

Room for improvement:
The main pool is a little too deep in the middle, for children. While most resorts have the opposite problem of the pool not being deep enough. We found that the middle of this pool could be dangerous for young children.

Need to build a swim-up bar in the main pool, to compete with newer resorts that offer this feature to guests. I know that this is an expensive proposition, but it would greatly increase amenities of the pool.

At the Bonsai Japanese restaurant, the chairs at the hibachi tables have no back to them. With my having a bad back, I found this very uncomfortable after about an hour. I would suggest getting newer chairs with back support. For anyone over 40 years old, this becomes very important.

Restaurant and Lobby: While we really loved the lobby and restaurants, most of these areas are open-air and are not air-conditioned. (Except for the Italian and Steak Restaurants). For most of our stay, the weather was fairly comfortable, so it was not a huge issue. But on one of our days, the weather was extremely hot and humid, and it was hard to find relief from the heat outside of our room. It was be very advantageous if they could air-condition of few more of the areas around the resort.

Room tip: Bring a camera and take photos of the nature area and animals
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank Wadester2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Dear guest,

We are grateful for the opportunity to have hosted you at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

It is wonderful to read that you greatly enjoyed your stay at our hotel, highlighting our beautiful natural surroundings as well as our accommodating facilities, our restaurant venue and the outstanding service of our staff.

Furthermore, we are proud to be part of the Green Globe community to conserve and protect our environment and species by promoting its benefits to our guests.

Your kind feedback has been gladly shared with our managements to look for improvement and continue offering the best experiences.

We hope for the pleasure of welcoming you again for another memorable stay!

Cordially,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

Although it rained for most of our trip and the beach was filled with seaweed, we found the same great staff from years past. We actually were fortunate enough to have monkeys on our balcony every day during our visit. The food is amazing and plentiful. We will return again in November and are hoping for better weather.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank czbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for your preference on IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

We are so happy to know that you spent wonderful vacations and enjoyed our charming wildlife and that once again our staff was a highlight on your experience.

We will be looking forward for the pleasure of hosting you again soon.

Cordially,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

This location provided a unique experience. We saw lots of wildlife and beautiful plants that made our stay one of a kind. All staff members from maid service, to wait staff, to star friends were kind and friendly and it was special to have such personal interactions.

Room tip: Some rooms are located near loud birds. It was fun for us, but would probably request to be somewhere else in a different situation.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
1  Thank Jwbug23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Dear guest,

First of all we want to thank you for chosing IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

We are glad that you spent exceptional vacations with us and that our unique environment was of your liking.

Your kind review will be shared with our staff who will be hoping to welcome you again for another memorable vacation time.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

This review is based on day use only of just the amenities and facilities...we actually stayed at the Paraiso Beach but you can use other Iberostar hotels so paid a visit to this one (as we spent our honeymoon here in 2007 - and were there during hurricane Wilma 2005!)

The pools are lovely, the kids slide pool is great for little children and the bar pool looks great (although we didn’t use it as kids are not allowed)

The beach is lovely.

The buffet restaurants were great for breakfast and lunch (we were not there for tea time but I imagine this would have been good too)

The only issue we had was finding a lounger - we arrived at the pool/beach around 9.30/10 and there was literally nowhere to sit at first. We found somewhere to leave our stuff and eventually got a lounger at the kids slide pool a couple of hours later. (There were plenty of seats on the beach out in the sun but no shade to be found)

Overall we preferred the Paraiso Beach hotel because it is bigger and has more facilities, bigger pool and was always easy to find loungers so if you’re choosing between the two we’d recommend the Paraiso instead, however the Tucan is absolutely great too and we would not be disappointed with a holiday here!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Lauraalana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for your preference and recent day visit to IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

It is great to read that you enjoyed the benefits of using our facilities as an IBEROSTAR guest and that our food, beach and surroundings were of your liking.

Furthermore, we would like to inform you that extraordinary measures are being taken regarding sunbeds early reservations in order to offer our guests a pleasant stay. We apologize for this inconvenience.

We will be hoping for the pleasure of welcoming you again to any of our Hotels & Resorts IBEROSTAR.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews