We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$422
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club(Playa del Carmen)
US$193
US$187
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
The Palm at Playa(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$205
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$355
US$263
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Playa Del Carmen Hotel(Playa del Carmen)
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Le Reve Hotel & Spa(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$384
US$320
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$424
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Banyan Tree Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$623
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$2,000
US$1,042
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (7,067)
Filter reviews
7,067 results
Traveller rating
4,340
1,943
514
163
107
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,340
1,943
514
163
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar friendshowler monkeysjungle areaspecialty restaurantsswim up bardressel diversjapanese restaurantate at the japanesetowel hutpool beachgated communityother resortsemailed the hotelmagic showcab rideplenty of chairsapple vacations
Filter
Updating list...
396 - 401 of 7,067 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Ok. Just got back from this place yesterday. We were there 8 nights/ 9 days. This will be long, truthful, and what our thoughts are.

Check-in was fast. After this, you go to the concierge to book your 3 specialty restaurants (more on this later). And they push for you to go to a 1 1/2 hr Iberostar vacation membership "The Club" (more on this later). If you do attend, they will give you 2 free spa treatments, each worth $125.

Food: Excellent! Very surprised how good the food was, even at the breakfast, lunch, and dinner buffets. The food and presentations were probably the best we've had at an all-inclusive ( we've been to many, including another Iberostar).

Specialty Restaurants: There are 5 of them. When checking in, again, you get 3 visits, but you can change, add, or delete anytime with "Guest Services". I'll go in order how we went.

Japanese Steakhouse/ Hibachi: Excellent! The staff was great, attentive, and was there when needed. The food, fantastic! The Mexican hibachi chefs were great and fun showmen. Went there 2x and enjoyed both visits!

Mexican: Here, you have a very large appetizer/ salad/ dessert buffet and you order you're entree from a menu. The buffets was very good, the entree........ well, let's just say it was 2 notches above Taco Bell.......... You could've just eaten the extensive appetizer buffet and be happy. Many others agreed with us on our thouths. Enough said.

Mediterranean: We were thinking a Lebanese/ Moroccan/ Greek Mediterranean restaurant. Nope. It's a Spanish Mediterranean restaurant. Again, very good "tappas" buffet, entree so so. We both had the lobster and shrimp paella. Rice was more than al dente. Not crunchy, by under cooked. The seafood was cooked well though.

Steakhouse: This is a "Texas" style restaurant. Dont expect Texas sized steaks. The appetizer buffet was excellent!!! They had everything from well cooked wings to shrimp cocktails. And the food was excellent!. Wife had the grilled salmon and it was perfect. I had the ribeye (about 1/2" thick) and it was cooked and seasoned perfectly. Tried to go there again, but was booked solid every night.

Italian: Again, excellent buffet. Largest selection of entree's of the restaurants. I had the porkchops and they were disappointing. Dry, overcooked, and no seasoning at all. The chef was coming around asking how things were. I told her and she asked to cook me two more. I said no thanks and left.

Activities: If you want to stay busy, you can. Lots of things going on. If you want to be a pool lizard, you can. The activity staff were marvelous! Fun, entertaining, and very friendly. Included are ocean kayaks and Hobie Cat sailboats (small ones).

Pool: Very large pool. Plus a separate adults only "wade up bar" and another lap swimming/ water basketball/ water polo pool. Only saw 4 people total in the lap pool our entire time. They have footballs, volleyballs, soccer balls, etc to check out. BUT! No float toys/ rafts/ tubes, etc. They sell them at the poolside shop, but you will pay an arm and a leg and a half. Bring your own you bought at the dollar store. ALSO! Pool open 7am - 7pm, period! Then they put the chemicals to treat the water. So no place for a late night swim.

For The Kids: They do have a kiddie pool, play area, and "kids club" for the rugrats ( we dont have kids). The staff overlooking them were very attentive and seemed to enjoy their jobs. The kids were kept busy and appeared to be having a fun time.

Gym/ Tennis Courts: Used the gym. Ok, nothing fancy. 3 tennis courts.

Iberostar Vacation "The Club" Membership: It will be one of those "you gotta buy now or you loose" presentations. DONT GO YOUR FIRST FULL DAY THERE! All I'm going to say here is do your homework!!!! Before attending, read the online reviews, ask members (they'll be wearing a small "prestige" wristband) their thoughts, and educate yourselves. We joined, then cancelled the next morning AFTER we did all those things. You do have 5 days to cnx. And about that "you gotta buy now"........ B.S. Get up, walk away, and think about it for a day or two. Do not fall for the "if you leave now and come back later, the price will be the full price and not the discount" game Do you really think they will say "no" if you come back later? NO! You are at the resort! They want your $.

Final Thoughts: It will be about an hour dirve from CUN. The Mrs booked this resort and we are both glad she did. Much better than the Iberostar Punt Cana we stayed at 6 -7 yrs ago, and again, probably the best all-inclusive we've stayed at. We both HIGHLY RECOMMEND this resort!!!! The reason we didn't give it 5 out of 5....... The pool. No floatie toys and the 7pm pool closing. I know it's nit-picking, but want to be honest. Everything else...... the staff, food, etc, etc. was superb!! Will WE go again. Dont know. JUST because there are other places in Mexico and the Carribbean we want to visit and see. We do give it a 4.7 out of 5 (but that's not available). Hope this helps.

Room Tip: Dont get a room across from the theater.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
18  Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to write your honest review regarding your recent experience at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

First of all, we would like to express our pleasure from reading your positive remarks regarding our amazing gastronomy, our variety of fun entertainment activities and our attentive staff which leaded your vacation into being a wonderful one.

We truly value every one of our guests’ comments and we greatly appreciate your detailed experience description as it will help us to continue striving to achieve our customers’ satisfaction.

We only hope to have the honor of welcoming you again at any of our hotels & resorts IBEROSTAR.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

This was our first visit to Mexico, we did quite a bit of research regarding the resort and the hotel, our holiday was very enjoyable and most of what people have said is true, the hotel and its grounds were amazing, very clean, no mozzies, the beach was great however the sea was a bit choppy, there were plenty of beds available close to the burger and ice cream bars, the drinks flowed all day however the alcohol seemed a bit weak, I enjoyed the dark beer it was good. The entertainment staff were great always smiling with plenty of party games going on, volleyball each day at 12 o'clock was a must. All of the restaurants were great however we did enjoy the tenderloin steak at the steak restaurant, the Japanese and the Italian were also very good. We went on the catamaran trip, and chitzen itza temple trip which were all day job but we enjoyed them both. The only cons are the harassment we got on arrival, after such a long day the last thing we wanted to talk about was the virtues of being an Iberostar club member, they tried to shoehorn us into a welcoming breakfast which means you get pestered all morning when all you want to do is relax and enjoy your first day, being a club member is good if you want to use Iberostar each year and you book the hotel individually and not on a package deal. I think all of these large chain of hoteliers adopt this method of promoting their hotels, however it's not for us. Saying all this we had a fab holiday and wouldn't hesitate in going back it was a beautiful hotel and the staff were great.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Joe Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal for your first experience at the Riviera Maya.

We are glad to hear that our delicious food, evening entertainment and our especially fabulous attentions from staff provided you with such a memorable experience. Please know that each one of our guests comments are greatly taken into account for improvement as our main concern is to provide them with the best vacation.

We look forward to your soon return for another fantastic holiday.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

We stayed at the Iberostar Tucan this past October with our two little girls (1 and 4 year old). We didn't go out on excursions or anything like that because we simply wanted to enjoy the resort and its amenities. This resort was beautiful and fun for the family, and the food was great too! I was expecting the food to be of lower quality based on previous reviewers, but I was pleasantly surprised with the variety and good flavor of the food!

Our 4 year old and us were approached by the staff from the Kids Club to see if she wanted to take part on their activities. We let her join the club because they were doing fun things that my daughter wanted to try (like baking cookies near the pool area and coloring their own t-shirts). Besides, the kids from the club all wore vests with their names on them and they were watched at all times by the Kids Club staff. That made us feel comfortable leaving her with them. The staff from the club made sure kids were busy and entertained throughout the day. They even took them to the restaurant by the pool for lunch and to the ice cream stand afterwards for dessert everyday. My daughter loved the ice cream! And we loved the attention the staff payed to the kids and to what they liked. But their activities weren't only during the day. The Kids Club also had shows every night for the family and even hosted a fashion show one of the nights in which my daughter was able to dress up as a princess (Sofia the First) and model for everyone on stage! I'm happy with the effort the staff from the Kids Club (Mariana, Ari and Karina) put to make this vacation fun and pleasant for my daughter! I would definitely recommend the Kids Club for parents that are looking to relax and have some time for themselves knowing their kids are well taken care of and having fun at the same time. And I would also recommend this resort for anyone that wants to have fun and relax in a nice family atmosphere!!!

My only complaint is that the music coming from the theater at night was really loud and we could hear it in our room. We went to bed at around 9 or 9:30 pm because of our little kids, but we were so tired every night that we would still fall asleep regardless. Our bedroom was near the theater but I imagine the music is heard in all of the rooms near the front part of the hotel (the most economical rooms). If this is a concern I recommend paying a little extra and getting a room near the pool or the beach.

Room Tip: If you like going to bed before 10pm you should get a room closer to the beach so you won't hear the noise or music coming from the theater.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank ilg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen to stay with us at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

It is marvelous to know that you spent a lovely holiday surrounded with your loved ones while enjoying each of the services offered by the hotel.

We are pleased to hear your cordial praise for our facilities, services and especially for our Star Friends to whom we will gladly forward your special words.

We hope to have the pleasure of your soon return to our facilities.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

The Iberostar Tucan is a truly beautiful resort. Built around the jungle there is so much wildlife to see! We never tired of our walks through the trees watching the monkeys, peacocks, agoutis and more. The beach is beautiful with clear blue water - although the waves can be fierce. We had red flags on 2 of the days during our stay. The hotel is in Playacar, which is in a gated community. You could walk to the local shops and it felt extremely safe.

The a la carte restaurants are easy to book. The steakhouse and Italian we particularly enjoyed, being waited on rather than Buffett service was great! In terms of the Buffett, there was plenty of variety and the food was good.

In terms of the pool - it was a huge lagoon style pool, with shallow and deep ends. It was clean and so refreshing to take a dip in.

The negatives of this hotel for me were in the room, the bed was simply too hard. They tried to alleviate this issue by placing mattress toppers on the bed. However it was still too hard. I have issues with my spine and one night on the bed left me in pain. I slept on the sofa for the duration of our stay which was not ideal. There was really limited storage which meant it was hard to keep things away - but that is me being particularly picky.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel. It is a wonderful resort with lots going on!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
8  Thank jessicaeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Dear guest,

It was a pleasure to have recently welcomed you at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

It is such a joy to know how much you liked our beautiful facilities as well as our great gastronomy, our lovely natural surroundings and our pleasant variety of services.

We are sorry to hear that you did not sleep well enough and hope that you are feeling better. Please know we truly valuate your comment and will forward them to look for improvement and continue providing pleasant vacations to our beloved guests.

We appreciate your kind recommendation and will be looking forward to host you again.

Attentively,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Beautiful resort. Food was really great except the Mexican restaurant. They didn't have much for vegetarian and I got my dinner 15 minutes later than everyone else. Japanese restaurant was awesome we met some really nice people from Chicago there. Steak restaurant was just perfect. Something different every night at the buffet.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Lin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Dear guest,

We are grateful to you for the opportunity to host you at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

We are happy from hearing your positive comments about your great culinary experience and fun time at our lovely facilities.

Please know our Chefs are always available for accommodating our guests’ preferences. Your comments are of great help to improve.

We hope for your soon return to our resort.

Kindly,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews