We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
18 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$426
View Deal
Free cancellation until 04/03/21
Expedia.com
US$426
View Deal
Free cancellation until 04/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Lol.travel
US$393
View Deal
travelup.comUS$400
Hotels.comUS$426
eDreamsUS$426
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8,613)
Filter reviews
8,613 results
Traveller rating
3,212
3,324
1,293
460
324
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,212
3,324
1,293
460
324
Show reviews that mention
All reviews don diego a la carte restaurants pool bar animation team adult pool boogie boards the mexican restaurant dance lessons hot dogs nightly shows kids club playacar area make reservations great beach beach chairs all inclusive resort nachos
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 8,613 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this resort through Priceline and we are still here, trying to check out early but travel agency can't get a hold of anyone from the hotel to inquire about a refund. They are dodging calls from them, sending them to a reservations center in Dominican Republic. Three days we have been trying to hear back! Here is the long list of the good and bad:
- STAFF: From top management to servers, customer service isn't their focus in any way, I even spoke to the GM and he said "this is our budget, we are not a luxury resort". One of the travel agents selling packages told my husband the food is garbage here and he eats outside.
- MUSTY SMELL IN ROOMS: We are in building 3000, in the back away from the beach and nighttime shows loud noise but the hallways are so loud whenever someone opens/closes a door or walks by having a conversation, you can hear it all day and night. There is a terrible smell due to high humidity, I had a headache the first night. Spoke with other guests, everyone kept saying the same so moving rooms is not a solution.
- NO WATER IN THE ROOM! You would think an all inclusive resort would leave a few bottles of water but no. We had two that were left in the room when we checked in, that was it. When we asked for water, they recommended we buy an overly-priced refillable bottle from their shop. They won't refill regular plastic bottles due to covid but they will refill expensive bottles all while their bar equipment touching each bottle. Yes, talk about hygiene here.
- SAME FOOD EVERY DAY, LOW QUALITY: This resort feeds you like they would feed patients on a diet in a hospital. No salt/pepper in food, no spices, bland, repetitive. Plates come wrapped in plastic. You can't order sparkling wine, tequila or cocktails at the buffet lunch/dinner, it's for their members only. You can drink watered down tap beer or wine to help with gulping down their barely edible food. You can't eat at a la carte restaurants every night. Only allowed to eat 3 nights if you booked for one week. We couldn't eat at a restaurant the first two nights because they were all booked. 3 small restaurants available, we tried Portofino only, the menu didn't offer anything for kids. My son ended up eating bread for dinner. They filled my wine glass to the rim regularly when they realized how unhappy we were so that was nice. This was the only dinner I tipped because they tried to do their best, and that's very rare at this resort.
- MATTRESS: I'm not picky about mattresses, it's hard, old but I can sleep without an issue, my husband has back issues and he hates their beds. He deserves a massage when we get out of here.
CHILDCARE/KIDS ACTIVITIES: The kids club is there but I rarely see any kids inside. We left my son there one night and he played by himself. The lady was nice, she was doing her own thing, turned on the tv for my son and he played with legos and his cars.
DOCTOR: My son got nipped by a coati on his thumb (stay away from these little big rat looking animals, they can chase you down), we went in to the doctor's office to show it as it was bleeding. He told my husband if he needed him to clean it, it would cost. That's the first thing he says. Such care for their guests and children. Anyways, he cleaned it, put a sterile band aid on it, charged us $90. Excellent ripoff.
BLUE/BLACK BRACELET: Like most resorts, they want to sell you their club membership. You can get an upgrade like having a minibar with water and drinks! I have stayed at over 10 resorts in Mexico, all inclusive resorts come with a stocked minibar. This one does not.
EXTRA CHARGES: If you want to use the in-room safe, it costs $2 per day. Again, another way of them charging you for basic amenities as if it's a hostel.
ENTERTAINMENT: Good shows, repetitive but at least there is something to watch. The team is energetic and want to genuinely entertain the crowd.
DRINKS/BARS: You will need to ask for double shots to deal with the regret for booking this hotel for a week. Pay additional $50 a day and save your vacation.

I can easily nominate this resort as the worst one in Playa del Carmen, I don't think it would hurt their feelings.

Room tip: 3000 and over for quiet rooms but musty smell will haunt you.
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank travelingmom4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 weeks ago

Dear travelingmom4ever,

Thank you for the review regarding your recent stay at the Riviera Maya.

We are sorry your experience did not meet your expectations. Your comments will help us evaluate our amenities and services.

We apologize for any inconvenience that you might have experienced during your stay.

Again thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards,

Customer Care
Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at this resort from the end of January until the beginning of February. COVID guidelines were evident as soon as you stepped in. Hand washing, sanitizing, social distancing, and mask wearing was enforced. Staff was friendly and always helpful. The buffet also provided good food!

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank 558genesisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 weeks ago

Dear 558genesisa,

We appreciate your valuable feedback about the stay you had at our property.

It is really rewarding to read your positive comments and we are glad to know that your stay at Viva Wyndham Maya was enjoyable.

Thank you for choosing our resort and for recommending us on TripAdvisor.

Kind regards,

Customer Care
Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We always have such an amazing time here. My eight year old was very, very excited to return today... not only for the kids’ club and the food, but also the acrobatics lessons. Everything here is easy, delicious, convenient, and beautiful. Thank you to an amazing team who make it such a special place.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank hcarmich42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 weeks ago

Dear hcarmich42,

Reading your positive review is a real reward for the entire team here at Viva Wyndham Resorts and we are very happy to know we have achieved our goal of offering you a memorable stay at our Viva Wyndham Maya Resort. Your kind remarks regarding our staff will be passed on to them.

Thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Resorts for your stay and we look forward to offering you a second unforgettable holiday at one of our properties in Mexico, The Bahamas or the Dominican Republic.

Kind regards,

Customer Care
Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The amenities are very poor :no bathrobe, no slippers, ( and tile floor in rooms) , awful shampoo and gel shower. Food in buffet is just fair...nothing special, like at 3* hotel. The only thing which is really great here is -staff! The personnel do their best, barmens are really geniuses, and work hard and worth tipping. In general not bad, but don’t wanna come back.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank annet_bess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 weeks ago

Dear annet_bess,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us on your recent vacation at the Riviera Maya.

We can assure you that all of our clients’ opinions are very important to us because it is the more reliable source of information to improve our services and facilities.

We are sorry to read that you did not feel that all aspects of your trip met with your expectation. We will be reviewing these comments with our team straight away.

We do hope you will give us the opportunity to convince you of our brand on another occasion.

Best regards,

Customer Care
Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Constant cleaning and hand sanitizer everywhere, staff always wearing masks. Temperature checks before entering restaurants. The rooms were always well cleaned. The resort is well designed, and has a unique design, loved the covered pathways and natural beauty. The staff were absolutely great! very friendly and attentive, especially the bartenders. The beach there was amazingly beautiful with powder sugar sand and very clean. The food was mixed, the American style food was not that good, but the local food was very tasty. Nightly entertainment with a huge stage and energetic dancers was a treat. All in all, a very good deal for the money. Carlos at the restaurant was very gracious and helped make our stay memorable.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank richarddT5226KP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 weeks ago

Dear Richard,

Thank you so much for your valuable comments on your family vacation at Viva Wyndham Maya. It is very important to us to receive feedbacks and to know that you had a pleasant vacation.

Please remember that we will be glad to welcome you back at Viva Wyndham Maya.

Sincerely,

Customer Care
Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews