We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,534)
Filter reviews
6,534 results
Traveller rating
3,119
2,179
835
251
150
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,119
2,179
835
251
150
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ibiza pool howler monkeys main restaurant quiet pool great holiday thomson reps asian restaurant every other day swim up bar shower door entertainment team captain hook plenty of sunbeds evening entertainment palm trees main pool mini bar
Filter
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 6,534 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

Good bits, food, like all Riu hotels the food is a good standard and plentiful ( if a little samey after 2 weeks ) outside spaces, grounds, pools, outdoor bars and theatre are well styled and well kept, very nice places to hang out. Not so good, Rooms, large, functional but in need of repair ( not just painting everything white ) Entertainment at theatre mainly dull, maybe two shows in two weeks worth watching, live music in lobby every night a good touch but placing it right in front of the buffet entrance was ridiculous. Beach, huge beach, white sands, palm trees, plenty of loungers, absolutely strewn with cigarette butts, disgusting. Sea, not the hotels fault at all but the once beautiful waters have been spoilt by literally tonnes of algae washing up every morning, people really need to consider this before holidaying in playa del Carmen , it just doesn’t seem a viable option for a beach holiday anymore

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Phh121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Yucatan, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a valued feedback following your recent stay at our hotel.

Since for RIU gastronomy is a very important part of the guest experience and one of the strong points of our establishment, we are very glad to read that we were able to meet your taste with our wide selection of exquisitely presented dishes.

On the other hand, we regret to read that you were not satisfied with your guest room. At RIU, we work hard to satisfy the needs of our guests; making our customers happy and comfortable in our hotels is our mission. Please be assured that we never stop renovating the hotels of our worldwide portfolio, so we can offer you the most up-to-date facilities. Certainly, we will share your impressions with the corresponding department in order to make adjustments, where necessary or take them into consideration for future refurbishments.

In regards to the beach, we hope you will understand that certain times of the year seaweed can accumulate depending on winds and tidal flows - which is something beyond human´s control and a completely natural occurrence. Even though it is a public beach, whose cleaning is done by the government, our management allocates staff when occupancy allows in order to help with the cleaning as much as we can.

We sincerely hope that we will one day be able to welcome you back to Riu Hotels & Resorts and have a chance to demonstrate the high standards of guest service that are typical at our hotels.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Yucatan
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

We had a great time for 2 weeks with good food and 24 hour bar and we watched a lot of people who were there to get married so really enjoyed it and the shops are close and the main shops are 10 minuets by cab witch only cost 90 pasos Mexico money and the weather is very hot with lovely pools and some animals within the grounds but it’s safe and there are 5 restaurants on site to enjoy food at. I hope you all enjoy this review thanks.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

As the title says this hotel is at best mediocre. There is nothing terrible about it but it is very typical of the not so great all inclusive.
Food in all of the restaurants was hit and miss. Whatever you do don’t go to eat towards the end of service or you will get barely warm congealed food.
At the bars be sure to specifically ask for the brand of spirit you want or you will get the cheapest generic rubbish available.
On a positive side the staff were generally very polite and efficient (with the odd exception).
Rooms are ok but hope you don’t get one too close to the monkeys or you will be getting woken up very early every morning.
All in all. It’s ok. I’m sure there are better options.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank StuartEtheridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Yucatan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns.

We are committed to provide excellent quality of our products and services to our guests and for this reason we are very sorry to learn that you have left our hotel thinking otherwise.

Since we have no records, we would have liked to have been informed about all your inconveniences during your stay, so we could have helped you to enjoy your time at our hotel.

Please be assured that we will share your impressions with the relevant department in line with the main goal to achieve the highest levels of customer satisfaction.

To end on a positive note, we really appreciate your positive comments about our staff.

We sincerely hope that we will one day be able to welcome you back to our hotel and have a chance to demonstrate the high standards of guest service that are typical at our hotels.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Yucatan
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

Hotel clean, food good. Serving staff could often be inatentive and dismissive. If you asked for anything at the bar they where less than helpful and often laughed at guests. Reception staff very helpful. Animals in grounds where lovely.
Do not be tempted to book trips out with anyone other than the tour operater as we had really bad experience, booked a trip and was taken to completely wrong place and left there. No one would do anything about it so was stranded with a child.
Please also be aware that robbery is common place on the beach at this hotel and it happened in front of us on day 2.with armed police involved.
Also at check in on way home the ground staff tried to extort money for overweight cases which were not overweight at all.Very intimidating.
Everything in resort is overpriced and everyone expects tips for doing literally nothing. Would never go back under any circumatances.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Yucatan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns.

We are committed to provide excellent quality of our products and services to our guests and for this reason we are very sorry to learn that you have left our hotel thinking otherwise. At RIU we take pride in our customer service as this is one of the key values of our company and staff is constantly trained to maintain optimal standards. For this reason, we will send your feedback to our management team in case these guidelines have not been adequately fulfilled at some point since for us every remark is helpful for ongoing and future staff training.

To end on a positive note, we really appreciate your positive comments about the cleanliness throughout the hotel and our gastronomy.

We sincerely hope that we will one day be able to welcome you back to our hotel and have a chance to demonstrate the high standards of guest service that are typical at our hotels.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Yucatan
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

Accomodation
Usually book at least 5 star which we thought this was .. so very basic room more like 3 star was disappointing ! It looked tired with old mirror in bathroom and shabby curtains . Doors looked like that had been painted with a primer then forgotten. We have been 4 star in Rhodes at a group wedding and room was way above this standard .
Cleanliness.. excellent our cleaner Elizabeth was fantastic so thank you to her ! she made our room so pretty with her models made of towels on the bed every day as well as a beautifully clean room !
Evening bar staff were the best ..Santos and Christabel were great hosts especially!
Entertainment in the day was quite noisy a party atmosphere so if you want a chilled relaxing holiday this place is not for you ! On saying that we didn’t know it would be like this and would not have chosen a party atmosphere but really enjoyed it !!
Food .. great choices
Environment was amazing with Howler monkeys in the trees coatis running around and woodpeckers on the coconut palms !

Rui Yucatan we would be tempted to stay here again just for the amazing staff but in one of the suites which are more like the accommodation we are used to ! The rooms are a bit tired and in need of a facelift . We were in room 1901 which may have been an older block perhaps your directors could let me know ?? Many thanks

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Hillyorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Yucatan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with us. Firstly, we are pleased to read that the food offered in our restaurants was to your full satisfaction and that you especially highlighted our staff.

At the same time, we are pleased to inform you that at RIU, we are constantly working on the renovation and maintenance of our hotel portfolio ranging from Europe via Africa and Asia to America. We have set ourselves the goal of bringing all hotels up to date, which is achieved step by step. Of course, we will share your impressions with the relevant department, to make adjustments if necessary, or to take them into consideration for future refurbishments.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back at one of our RIU hotels soon in order to deliver the high standards of guest service and quality which are typical at our resorts.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Yucatan
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews