We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
22
20
7
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
20
7
5
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

Rooms cleaned every day with fresh towels. Swimming pool was great for kids,120cm at the deepest. Air conditioning worked well in the room. Plenty of facilities in the room, fridge-freezer, how, microwave and sink. There was a modern flat-screen TV that we didn't make use of. The power from the shower was poor but that could really be my only complaint.
The staff were very nice everywhere on site. There is a shuttle bus service that runs at 9am, 11am and 1pm every weekday. You need to tell them the night before if you want it otherwise it doesn't run. It will take you to either senor frogs or kool beach which really covers either side of 5th avenue. Go to senor frogs if you want to take the ferry to Cozumel or take the Ado public buses.
There is also computer facilities in the reception for free with a printer, which was great for printing our boarding passes.
There are 4 restaurants right outside the hotel, we managed to make use of three of them.
There is also a shopping mall about 15mins walk from the hotel if supplies for young kids are needed.
There is a city express hotel next to the suites, if you are booking an excursion, the buses will leave from the hotel and are not always visible from the lobby of the suites.
Breakfast was fine, it doesn't change much other than what gets mixed in with the scrambled eggs but we all found something we liked so can't complain.
There is a small shop in the reception for essentials and it is very reasonably priced.
Overall, we were very happy with this hotel and would be happy to go back if the opportunity arises.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Boffy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018

We stayed at City Express Suites when we needed accommodations for a few nights between resorts. It's not fancy, but very clean and well maintained. There was a free
shuttle that went to Senior Frogs or the beach in Playa Del Carmen every morning at three times. It does not return you to the hotel, but a cab ride was less than $10 USD.

We walked from Sr Frogs to the Walmart to get groceries and a nice bottle of wine. When we returned, the room had been made up and cleaned, which isn't a given with a suite that is more like an apartment! I made dinner using the well-appointed kitchen and 2 burner stove. No dish washing supplies were available and I felt bad leaving them for the maid. The front desk staff spoke no English at all, so I couldn't call down. Time for me to learn Spanish!

The complimentary breakfast is served from 6 to 10 , but gets busy early. Lots of hot scrambled eggs and fresh fruit is on the buffet. The pool looked small, but clean. Unfortunately it was too cool outside for us to use it. Wifi was reliable and there was a nice desk for me to work at. We had 2 double beds and looked as if the fold down couch would create a third bed. For someone who wanted to do some work while the family was doing excursions, this place would be excellent. There is a small gym near the lobby as well.

The coffee machine looked like a vending machine at first , but we found out that it was a fancy one that grinds the beans each time you press the button for a cup. It even makes espresso! They don't put the machine away, so I was able to get a cup of tea in the afternoon using the hot water feature.

There is a mall close by, which we didn't check out. Lucky Wings, next door, is a modern sports bar which serves excellent wings. There was soccer on all of the screens when we went in, but manager Ignacias was happy to find us a hockey game.

For our purposes, City Express Suites was perfect. A quiet place for us to re-fuel and relax.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank practicalmagic2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Overall a good experience.Conveniently located not far from the centre of town and with ample car parking. There is a kitchen for cooking and a littles hop downstairs in case you need anything extra. Go early for breakfast as it gets crowded later.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

Good hotel for business
Not far from the center it is a good located hotel.
Price it's good and the rooms are big a clean.
Suits are like a small apartment with kitchen.
Good for those who want to be here and enjoy the area without being in a big resort.

Bien placé avec des service.
Propre et proche du centre.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
Thank Fanjoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

The room smelled like sewage on checkin. The smell came from the drains. The room was clean. Beds were reasonably comfortable aside from the smell. Location is okay if you're passing through, but not a great place for walking around the city.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank 7,268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews