We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good Location”
other travellers have booked this property
Main entry and living area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main entry and living area
Dining Area to Kitchen Plunge pool and fountain in the evening
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Main entry and living area
Dining Area to Kitchen
Plunge pool and fountain in the evening
Relax on the terrace before you explore
Enjoy city views and lounging on the roof top around the Pergola
Kitchen and dining with all the estentials
Main bedroom with queen-sized bed and en suite bath
Main bedroom
Main Bedroom
Mayan iconography throughout the casa
Garden bedroom  with queen-sized bed and en suite bath
Garden Bedroom view of Fountain and Pool
Garden Bedroom
Hand painted sinks in both baths
Locally sourced soaps and oils
See the Historic Centro on a Horse and buggy ride just four blocks from the casa
Enjoy the traditional dancers at the main plaza and other activites on weekends
Christmas at the main plaza
Balloon guy in front of the Church
Activities for all ages in the Historic Centro
Take a day trip to the Mayan Archaeological site of Uxmal or Mayopan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Merida, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TravelNow...
SW USA
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Nice 2 bedroom, 2 bath house on a busy corner close to the main square. Small neighborhood store across the street, good size grocery store about 2 blocks away, in front of the Santiago Church and Park.
Has a nice plunge pool which we did not use, second bedroom a bit noisy as it is right on the street. The master bedroom is OK when you close the door and put on the a/c. Kitchen is fine with a 4 burner stove which we did not use, a microwave, which we did and bottled water. Living room is noisy and must put up the sound on the TV to hear it. Fans throughout the house are great and we kept them on to keep the house cool. There is an a/c in the living room but only used it once when we got back from some ruins and were hot. House stays relatively cool during the day. There is a wall fountain in the living room to mask noise level but we only used it once as we noticed that it got the living room floor quite wet. Unfortunately we did not think about this but there is about 3-4 inches of water in the fountain and because we did not use it, the standing water produced a lot of mosquitoes which we did not notice till we were their lunch. :) We then sprayed the fountain several times to kill the larvae. The lighting in the house was great for romance but not so great for reading. More lights in both the bedroom and living room would have been great. One of the great pluses of this rental is the fact that they pick you up at the airport (thank you, Neil) and pay for a cab back provided you stay long enough. Our only real surprise was on our last morning as we were having our coffee in the living room out crawls a scorpion from under the couch! That got us going!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location, close to Main Square, Pick up and Drop off at airport
Liked least: Noise, bugs (mosquitoes and scorpion)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Mar 2014
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in Merida and at the casa! The excellent location in the Historic Centro where you can walk to everything will also come with the normal city noises. Hopefully travelers can appreciate the value that gets better each year with help from feedback from guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Reviewed 28 May 2013 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 May 2013
It's great to be able to provide a simple, rustic living experience that people enjoy! Even better to be able to offer the little conveniences too, like a local cell phone, shuttles, or concierge. I'm Looking forward to your return visit, Lou. I think you'll enjoy some of the improvements I've made since your last stay.

Travelers...please feel free to contact me with any questions...I hope to see you in Merida at Casa La Barenda!

Sincerely,
Tim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
John G
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Location is Good, But...”
Reviewed 1 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Location to the main square we good. The inside was clean and well kept and it was good to be in relative walking distance to most things but there are a number of decision points that should be considered before renting this place. The top 5 are:
1.What are you looking for in a kitchen? This place is set up like most hotel kitchenettes that I have booked. Some individual items had issues and after speaking with the owner I believe they will be dealt with. Note there is only a cooktop and not an oven (other than toaster) Kitchen did not have running hot water (be design) but that might be addressed as well. Some discrepancies related to website description and that is also being addressed.
2.Sleeping arrangements. The bed is actually quite comfortable but do take note that the bedroom has two glass block skylights that let in sun early in the morning. Only an issue if morning light wakes you.
3.The only washroom on the main floor is through the bedroom, so if you have visitors they will need to go through there.
4.Noise is a factor. This house is on two very busy streets and traffic can be heard consistently even with windows closed. There is a speed bump outside the living room, which announces every vehicle going by. With the windows open it was hard to hear the ipod player except at high volume.
5.Outdoor sun space is almost non existant. There is a plunge pool that takes up most of the open yard. There might be room for a couple of simple metal chairs to sit in the sun but not comfortably. There are two lounge chairs, which are nice to sit on but require that you face the pool from a covered area that is a converted parking space. So if it’s a nice day you do have shade but won’t be able to tan easily unless you sit in or beside the pool.
Overall, when reviewing the options, next time I would ask more direct questions of other places to confirm their setup but there are a number of hotels that do have kitchens and large pools and are less expensive to stay at and I will also consider that option. I also can’t see this as a place I would go to with more than two people. There is an ample dining room set up but the living room has only one large couch and out door space is minimal. We were ‘fortunate’ that it was mainly cloudy the time we were there and the outside space wasn’t as critical.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Bed was comfortable and the location
Liked least: Kitchen setup, noise and outdoor space
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2013
Thank you for your review John, I’ll address each point.

1. Yes, the kitchen has a 4-burner cooktop, a toaster oven--and a Barbeque! Water from the solar heated roof-top storage tank usually provides naturally heated water to the sink. But it's less effective on cloudy days. However an on-demand supply of hot water is planned at the sink--for tea drinkers, more than anything. The web page is updated periodically and it really helps to hear feedback, though minor, personal preferences are rarely publicly helpful.

2. Yes, the main bedroom has wonderful morning light! If this is not your personal preference, it is a simple matter to block it with panels on the roof. Please just ask!

3. Yes, the house is designed to be open with double-doors in the main bedroom as part of the living space where your guests can use the bath.

4. Some notice street sounds more than others. Each year we work on adding sound deadening features to the home. Leaving windows open however defeats any sound dampening elements. The wall fountain in the living area is designed to be both decorative and functional as ‘white-noise’ to help cancel noise.

5. There is a spiral stair case to the roof. This is where we catch the sun. If the lounge chairs were not up there, please ask management to move them. We will be tweaking this area for a roof-top garden too.

Choosing to stay a Colonial home over a hotel can be an exciting, adventurous experience. It can provide the benefits of value, much more space, privacy and the opportunity to feel what it is to live like a local. But it is not for everyone. It does not include the services or attention that you would expect of a hotel…unless of course you ask! Of course depending on the length of your stay, we may not be able to compete with the room price of a hotel, but then when traveling with friends it's a no-brainer. Drawing a comparison between the two however can be difficult at best.

Living at Casa La Barenda is designed to be a simple, rustic experience with emphasis on living life. The casa is suited to providing comfortable and basic needs. You might however experience elements of the home and local living that could either add to the charm or distract depending on your disposition or cultural bias.

As owner of Casa La Barenda, I want you to have a good time. It is far more important for me to make a good match than it is for me to just fill vacancies. The best place to start is by looking around Casa La Barenda’s webpage, then email any questions you might have—especially if this is your first experience.

Learn more about this topic on my blog at: http://casalabarenda.com/blog.html
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;