We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10,409)
Filter reviews
10,409 results
Traveller rating
8,071
1,567
504
155
112
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8,071
1,567
504
155
112
Show reviews that mention
All reviews market cafe bluewater grill preferred club preferred pool sea salt piano bar preferred level secrets resort preferred room the blue water grill dragons restaurant entertainment team olio restaurant coffee bar honeymoon suite the hard rock greeted with champagne
Filter
Updating list...
574 - 579 of 10,409 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

This is our second time coming back here (first was for our friends wedding) and this place never ceases to put a smile on your face! All of the staff are super friendly, especially Eduardo at Sea Salt Grill who answered all our questions and was extremely professional and courteous! We highly recommend staying here if you get the chance!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Kyle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

Our second time visiting this resort and loving every minute of it. Beautiful accommodations in paradise. Eduardo in Sea Salt Grill is especially attentive and hospitable. Thank you to him for making our dinner experience special.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank lisajowallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SecretsTheVine, Social Media Coordinator at Secrets The Vine Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear Lisajowallace,

We would like to thank you for choosing Secrets The Vine Cancun as your host during your recent getaway to the Mexican Caribbean.

Your gracious comments will be shared with our team as inspiration to continue working with passion to ensure our guest have the best of experience.

We look forward to having the honour of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Lina Arzuffi
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

The entertainment Staff :Hugo, Raquel, Jorge, Gabriel, Felipe, Bernardo, Monica, Alberto and Guillermo made our trip worth while and due for another visit. Great customer Service, 10/10. Truly awesome.

Room Tip: Best View, Great Food, Beautiful Beach, Great Environment, Amazing Entertainment Staff
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Randall D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SecretsTheVine, Social Media Coordinator at Secrets The Vine Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear Randall D,

Thank you very much to take the time to share such gracious comments regarding your recent stay at Secrets The Vine Cancun. It was a pleasure being your hosts and we are glad to read that your experience was excellent.

We will share your feedback with our team, who we are certain will be delighted to read such kind words about their service.

We look forward to having the honour of welcoming you back in the not so distant future.

Best Regards,

Lina Arzuffi
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

Not all the food n servers are great, there are couple servers gave weird attitude. But the food at Sea Salt grill is great, and we super love Eduardo Santos, he is super sweet, provided great service and professional suggestions during our dining. I wish everyone at this resort were like him. Our experience here would be perfect! Thanks Mr. Santos!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Stay771081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SecretsTheVine, Social Media Coordinator at Secrets The Vine Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear guest,

We truly appreciate you have chosen Secrets The Vine Cancun to host your most recent getaway. On behalf of the entire team of our resort, we thank you for your feedback, our guests' comments are very important to us as they allow us to continue improving our service level.

Please be confident that we’ve shared your kind comments about Mr. Santos service with our team as motivation to keep up with our commitment to offer truly remarkable experiences in our guests. We thank you on behalf of our team and Management.

We sincerely hope we can have the honour of being your hosts in not too distant future.

Best regards,

Lina Arzuffi
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

This was our 3rd trip to the area. previous stays were at the Valentin Imperial (VIM) in Riviera Maya and Excellence Playa Mujeres. I would rate Secrets The Vine third compared to the other two resorts.
The Resort: It’s a small resort compared to VIM and Excellence. This has Pros and Cons. Pros: not as many people, so you get to see a lot of familiar, friendly faces. It’s easy to navigate around the building. The gym is big and the equipment is good. Better than the gyms at larger resorts. Resort is very clean. Bathrooms are well maintained throughout the day.
Cons: Restaurant choices are limited and the menus do not change. I guess this is why some people eat at the same restaurant multiple times during their stay. Entertainment is very limited. All of the outdoor seating on the main deck (not near the pools) is for smoking. So, at night, if you are walking around, you have to go down near the pools if you don’t want to be inundated with cigarette and cigar smoke.
Room: Honeymoon suite. Nice big corner room. Beds are very comfortable. We were on the 19th floor, no external noise to speak of. However, there is a moldy smell in the hallways that you smell every time you get off the elevator.
Restaurants: Food was just OK, nothing special, nothing memorable. Sea Salt (seafood restaurant) was probably the best. Dragons, by far, the worst. Pad Thai made with BBQ sauce?? Service at the restaurants was limited. Waiters took drink orders, came back with drinks and took food orders, came back and delivered food. No other interactions during the meal. No "how is everything?" "Can I get you anything?". At VIM and Excellence, I was happy to tip the wait staff after every dinner. Not here. In most cases, after the food was delivered, we did not see the waiter again. I believe the restaurants are short staffed. There were many empty tables, but there was still a wait (however, not long. under 15 minutes).
Breakfast buffet was very good. The woman making the omelets works very hard and is very good at her job. Lunch buffet also good, but nothing special. Getting Gluten free was never a problem.

Pools: Well appointed. Very comfortable chaises. Drink service at pools much better than food service at the restaurants. However, if you want a day of compete quiet time, that will be a problem at the pools. Each pool has some form of entertainment during the day, whether its volleyball, live music/dance, Aquaerobics, etc. There is no quiet pool other than the Preferred Pool. The other thing we noticed, that I never encountered at the other resorts, was people bringing their portable bluetooth players to the pool and blasting their own music. Once day we had to listen to Bon Jovi for about 3 hours straight blasting from the bluetooth player a few chairs away. I think Secrets might want to develop a policy around bringing speakers to the pool. Outside of the personal music, Secrets actually has very nice music pumped in around the resort.

Alcohol: I read some conflicting things on TA, so let me just tell you my experience. Alcohol: at the pool they did not have many higher end alcohol, but you could get Don Julio tequila, you just had to ask for it. In the inside bars, they carried higher end alcohol and you did not have to be in a Preferred Room. There is a popup martini bar outside on the 12th floor (open to all starting at 6pm) that had: Ketel One, Belvedere and Stoli Gold vodka. Wine at restaurants is Chardonnay and Sauvignon Blanc (whites) and Cabernet and Merlot (reds). No rose’. And, we were never pressured into buying a certain wine.
Conventions: You are reading correct about this. We were unfortunate enough to have had two company conventions during the time we were there. The problem with the conventions (of 50+ people) is that afternoons at the pool start getting very loud and boisterous after they have all been drinking. If you are looking for a quiet relaxing pool time, you are not going to get it at this resort. But, if you like being part of a loud, party group you will love it. Also, they do night functions on the beach, so around 4pm, they start clearing out the beach to set up for the convention dinner parties.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JJEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SecretsTheVine, Social Media Coordinator at Secrets The Vine Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Dear JJEG,

We appreciate the time that you have invested in writing an overview of your stay with us. Please be certain that all your feedback has reached our Management and we will work in our opportunity areas.

We are working on a daily basis to exceed our guest’s expectations and would love to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future to offer you a remarkable stay.

Sincerely,

Lina Arzuffi
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews