We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
34 people are viewing this hotel
Official Site
US$419
View deal
Booking.com
US$543
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$279
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/07/22
Hotels.comUS$543
travelup.comUS$307
WIOL.comUS$523
View all 22 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13,287)
Filter reviews
13,287 results
Traveller rating
7,755
3,258
1,174
548
552
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
7,755
3,258
1,174
548
552
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la concha italian restaurant premier tower royal holiday entertainment staff rooftop bar main building main pool bali beds infinity pool time share specialty restaurants ocean view make reservations nachos dress code dinner reservations
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 13,287 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2022 via mobile

I can’t say enough good things about the service here. Despite being SO busy- everyone was always so nice and attentive. Alicia at the pool bar was literally the best. By day two she would bring us our regular drink and refills (all the way at the beach) without us even having to ask. She made us feel like VIPS. Thank you!!!!!!!!

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 May 2022

13 of us stayed at GPR for an entire week. Overall it was a great stay and I would recommend. This is probably my 10ish time in the Quintana Roo area. I’ll go over some of the pros/cons in my view, some of which may have been mentioned by other members.

CON:
Check in: I booked 5 rooms in my name. The man who checked us in took forever for our first booking, then told me I needed to get back in line for the other rooms. WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER. Made zero sense. Fortunately the lady that we got after our second trip in line checked the remainder rooms. This was not a great start to the trip.

The hotel is very clean and beautiful, but a bit aged. The pools have tiles missing and you can see the wear and tear at most places. Still beautiful, but if you are looking for band new resort, this probably is not your place.

Seagrass. Was bearable the first few days (Checked in April 30, 2022) but not swimmable mid week on. This obviously is not the hotel’s fault. The entire area is getting hit….but If you want a nice beach vacation, this entire area might not be for you.

Buffet: Truth, I am not a buffet fan. I prefer the ale carts and although they do book up quickly, we didn’t really have many issues booking them if we went early and were flexible with our times. The two nights I went, it was the exact same thing and less than desirable.

PROS:
Staff: Besides the check in everyone was pleasant. Exceptional service given by a few that I would like to highlight here……and I rarely remember anyone’s name

Alicia and Jaime at the Italian restaurant breakfast crew. Both were extremely attentive and funny. Would gladly take off the menu orders too as long as they had what you were looking for. The Italian restaurant also has a beautiful view.

Erica (usually at the main pool) and Ernestina (Adult Pool). These two ladies work all day with a smile under their mask…..I don’t see how they do it. We gladly tipped with most drink deliveries and it was always appreciated, never expected. I honestly don’t think the service would be worse without the tips, but they deserve it.

Food in the ala carte restaurants. All of our meals were delicious. I really like the idea of dressing up, follow the dress code and enjoying food, wine, & conversation with your loved ones. We didn’t get to do the Mexican for dinner, but they have a seafood lunch that was great!!! (BTW, the actually Mexican restaurant is under renovations, so they have a make shift restaurant. Very nice, great AC when you need a break from the Sun at lunch)

We didn’t get approached by a single time share salesperson. The person who gave us the resort overview was one of those people, but was not pushy and just asked us to stop by at some point in the trip. I passed because I have zero interest.

Although the GPR is not perfect, it is a really good time for the $. The pool game is strong here. Get to the pool at 8 am and all the beds have a towel on them. There is a sign that says if its unoccupied for longer than 30 mins they are open. Do whatever you feel is right, but its your vacation too.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank luvplaya62
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos Da Silva, Director General at Grand Park Royal Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2022

Dear luvplaya62,

We are delighted that you have shared this comment with other travelers and we appreciate the positive feedback after your visit.

We are very pleased to know that you had a nice vacation and that our staff provided the best service to you and your family, knowing that we have lived up to your expectations fills us with satisfaction.

However, we appreciate you sending us your observations and feedback that help us to know the areas in which we must work harder.

We hope to welcome you again if you reward us with your visit in the future.

Sincerely
Carlos Da Silva
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2022

I'll start with the positives, there are many!

Jesus was the afternoon/evening barman at the poolside/beach bar and made our holiday. He was so funny, friendly and made some unique and gorgeous cocktails. Even went to the trouble to find me some passion fruit to make a porntstar martini which they had never heard of, but made it happen. He is the best barman i've ever met on a holiday and your glass is never empty.

Ernestina was the pool/beach lady who brought you drinks to your bed. You wouldnt need to ask for a drink, she just kept them coming....god knows how she remembered everyones drinks, but she was amazing. So friendly, teaching us some Spanish aswell. She's a credit to the hotel

The rooms were fab. Really spacious, cleaned everday, fridge with complimentary drinks which included beer, water and mixture of coke, 7up etc which was refilled daily if needed. No kettle, coffee machine only. Small balcony but ok.

Italian restaurant was lovely. VERY small portions but they encourage you to order more if you have a bigger appetite. Wine is about £35-£60 per bottle, but you can drink from the all inclusive aswell. We just fancied a nicer wine than the AI.

Asian restaurant was lovely. Again VERY small portions but you can order as much as you want. Same wine menu optional

The beach is stunning, the only negative about this is that there are only a few beds on the beach with a canopy for shade.

There is a lunch restaurant by the pool which serves lovely pizza, burgers, nacho's, hotdogs and taco's of a night. I tried to take these away, and they forbid me....they told me that was what my room service was for! Pretty rude attitude, and considering they were served on a plastic plate and was served to me knowing i said i was taking away.

Now for the negatives:-

The all inclusive buffet restaurant is not great. Beef, Chicken Casserole, Refried beans, Broccoli, Cauliflower all for breakfast!!! Scrambled Egg was like plastic. You can order an omlette which was nice. If you like English breakfasts, this isnt for you....no Bacon, Beans but some smoked sausages. We ate alot of the fruit available which was nice. There is no toaster, but if you ask for toast they will make it for you. Evening food is tasty, but not to our liking, crazy combinations but this is Mexico! We tended to eat in the pizza place.

The reception staff are not helpful and verging on rude.
The bell boys only want to help you if you tip them
Getting a reservation at the Mexican is near impossible
Getting reservations at all restaurants is difficult, arrange them with a few days notice. If you tip the bell boys, they may help you!

The biggest negative, was that we had to get up at 6am to get a sunbed either on the beach or pool. There aren't enough beds for the capacity of this hotel, and it was a nightmare to get one. We learnt that we unfortunately had to act in the same way as the annoying people who put towels on the beds at 6am, despite them not lying on them once. There are very few seating areas around the hotel for its size so if you dont get a bed, you are left wandering around the hotel which we had to do for the first couple of days before we learnt. You do get a nice tan sitting at the pool bar, but its nice to relax on a bed!. There are about 8 single beds on the beach with no umbrella/parasol so it was impossible for us to use them considering the 30 degree heat.

Would i stay here again.....possibly, but only because of Jesus, Ernestina and Hector.

Room tip: We stayed on the top 6th floor with amazing views
Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dewie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos Da Silva, Director General at Grand Park Royal Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2022

Dear Dewie_9,

The feedback we receive from our guests is very useful as it allows us to reinforce our areas of opportunity and verify if our service strategies are being successful. In the same way, we will be passing your kind comments to Jesús, Ernestina, and Hector since your recognition is our greatest trophy, Thank you!

We hope to have another opportunity to serve you in order to change your perspective on our Resort.

Sincerely
Carlos Da Silva
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2022 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at Grand Park Royal. The last day Erenstina was absolutely amazing at the swim-up bar pool. She was always at our cabana when a drink was empty. She was so thoughtful and kind to my two kids throughout the entire day! She made our entire trip. Thank you Tina. We will absolutely be back because of Tina.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Clyne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 May 2022 via mobile

Ramon,Dario, Leonardo, Juan , and Oscar was excellent If you want to have a great time with karaoke, basketball, salsa dancing definitely join them for a great time. I made sure I was involved and they also went out of their way to get people to join in on the good time! 10/10

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank jesscT3598QB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos Da Silva, Director General at Grand Park Royal Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2022

Dear jesscT3598QB,

We are glad to hear that the excellent service of our colleagues exceeded their expectations and that they had the most fun with our entertainment team, thank you for mentioning the people who stood out with your service, and we will take care of sharing your kind comments.

We will be delighted to see you return to Grand Park Royal.

Sincerely
Carlos Da Silva
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews