We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Annie W

Great vacation

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Jun 2024via mobile
We spent a week at the Westin Lagunamar and had a wonderful time with family. From the moment we arrived, we were greeting with warm welcome by the staff. The staff at the front desk and concierge were very attentive and professional throughout the whole stay. I called a week ahead of time to alert the front desk that we needed a second room to be next to each other and they were able to accommodate us.

We did Tuesday taco night and it was great. The had whole Mexican performances and performers went every table and asked if we have any songs the can sing for us. We celebrated my daughter birthday and I asked for birthday song. The sang it English and Spanish. Everyone was clapping and sings together. It’s was memorable moment.

Second, we did a family heavenly aromatherapy spa day at the resort. It was very relaxing and I enjoyed it a lot. The massage therapist was very professional. I told the therapist where I had tension on my body and she focused on it. The manager wanted was very friendly and very accommodating. The therapist told me what I need to do relieve the tension pains. She recommended me to use jacuzzi, then sauna and rest and pain should go away the next date. IT WORKED!!! They have massage stations around the main pool and front desk for sample five (5) massage for USD $5. Would recommend to give try it if you unsure about it. The told me all the massage therapist are licensed.

Third, we ate at the Oceana restaurant for breakfast. They had plenty of options. Also, ate Dunn Sport Bar. The food was good but for some reason food did not sit well. I don’t recommend to eat there if you have a sensitive stomach. The restaurant food by Main pool was ok and my stomach did not react to it.

Lastly, we did couple of excursions through the resort. The chichen itza, ATV + Tulum, and catamaran tours. We enjoyed and loved it. The meetup time at lobby are quite early in the morning. These tours did not provide breakfast therefore we were very hungry. They served us lunch around 1-2pm. The food was not very good. The tour guy spoke Spanish and English. Some spoke more of Spanish than English. Be on alert time from tour guy. If unsure or misheard the time of meet back on the bus, they will leave without you. You would need to make transportation arrangements on your own to back to resort. These places are about 2+ hours away from Cancun.

Overall, we had an awesome, relaxing vacation.
Date of stay: June 2024
Room Tip: The is a mall across the resort with food and drinks
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for leaving a 5-star review! We appreciate it, and hope you enjoyed your relaxing vacation in Cancun!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$375
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    $325
  • Booking.com
4.2 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free parking
Beachfront
$849
  • Hotels.com
  • Hyatt.com
  • Expedia.com
    $849
1.2 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free Wifi
Free parking
$896
Fully refundable
  • Melia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
3.0 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free parking
Beachfront
$914
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $914
4.4 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free Wifi
Free parking
$594
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
18.9 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Official Site
  • Lol.travel
    $301
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free parking
Pool
Enroll free for lower prices
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $925
  • Booking.com
3.6 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $342
  • Official Site
3.3 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Wyndham
    $626
  • travelup.com
1.5 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free parking
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official website
    $903
  • travelup.com
15.1 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Cancun
Reviews (7,850)
Filter reviews
7,850 results
Traveller rating
5,504
1,556
443
181
166
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5,504
1,556
443
181
166
Show reviews that mention
All reviews washer and dryer duna sports bar fun team studio villa la isla mall heavenly spa infinity pool mall across the street steak night full kitchen heavenly bed personal concierge pool concierge smaller pool swim up bar great property time share
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 7,850 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2024

A wonderful family friendly resort centrally located in the hotel zone close to everything. Been coming here for over 12 years and have always enjoyed it. We also get our family photos taken with BluePhoto Photography every time and they do amazing work!

Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank monicamP7108NT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving a positive review with us! We are glad to read that you do your family photos with us every year, and are looking forward to having you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2024 via mobile

My husband and I are still here at the Westin. We arrived on Sunday night and the flight and check in process was very smooth. We arranged transportation beforehand with The One and that went very smoothly as well. We were given a room on the 5th floor building 11 and it is a very nice studio (plenty for 2). We had no idea what our view looked like until the next morning because it was pitch black when we arrived. However, waking up in the morning to the view of aqua clear water was absolutely breath taking.

The reason for writing this post before the end of our stay is to give a shout out to Ged Chappo, part of the elite concierge team. My husband and I went out to a fancy dinner but hardly touched our food because we were so full. When we got back we realized that we left our doggy bag for our $230 dinner at the restaurant. We walked over to Ged to see if he could call and confirm that they had not thrown it away. As we waited for him to confirm, we discussed taking another round trip cab ride (at a cost of $30) to retrieve our food.

Ged confirmed that our food was still at the restaurant but then floored us by telling us that he was going to get it and would call us when he got back. Within 15 minutes he was back and our dinner was saved. I have never had service like that and must call it out when it’s amazing. Thank you so much Ged!

Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Tour63284156211
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your glowing review on our resort and Ged! We greatly appreciate it, and are happy to read he went above and beyond during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2024 via mobile

My stay at Westin laguamar was absolutely wonderful from start to finish. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted with a warm welcome by the staff, who were incredibly attentive and professional throughout ours stay.cant wait to came back ❤️

Room tip: Mall is across the street and restaurant are very close
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank V617MOadrianas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your positive review on our resort! We appreciate it, and hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2024

Worst Westin experience ever. Beware of pre-payment scam. They will charge you again when you check out even when showing receipt and credit card charge. Front desk staff are in general very rude and unhelpful. They flat out lied to us twice telling us everything was taken care of. The hotel room itself was awful, with a balcony next to the neighboring hotel’s exhaust system. Overall, just another really bad Westin experience. Will never stay at a Westin again. Book anywhere else if you can. Definitely do not prepay rooms.

Room tip: Book somewhere else!!!!
Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We apologize for the negative experience you faced at our resort. Your feedback is valued, and we will work to improve in these areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2024 via mobile

We are Westin Vacation Club owners and just back from our yearly vacation at the Westin Lagunamar. We've always had amazing family vacations at Lagunamar, it's one of our favorite resorts. All our previous stays at Lagunamar have been great, but this time there were just a few snags.

On our check-in day, there was an issue with the system being down apparently due to a planned Marriott upgrade of some sort. There was a sign on the check in desk regarding the system being down, but there had not been any mention of it in the "Know Before You Go" resort update emails we received in the weeks leading up to our arrival. Check in was confusing and not nearly as seamless as in the past.

We had put in a request with our concierge a couple of weeks prior to our arrival asking to have our family's 2 rooms in the same building, preferably on the side of the resort near the "quiet" pool. He had emailed us back that he had sent over our request. When we checked in, though, our 2 rooms were in 2 different buildings on the other side of the resort, and they said they had no room preferences noted on our reservations or notice from the concierge. We asked if they could please change our rooms, and they told us the system was down and they had no way to see what other rooms were available. After a lot of confusion, they somehow found us connecting rooms in Building 100, which is actually as far away from the "quiet" pool as possible, but we were glad that our family would at least be near each other.
We asked if we checked back the next day (when the system was supposed to be back up) to see if rooms were available on the other side of the resort maybe we could move, and they said no, it would be too hard to move us.

Another issue while the system was down was that no one could charge anything to their rooms, they could only use a credit card--no cash-- until the system went back up. In the grand scheme of things none of this was a hardship, but it would have been nice if Marriott had notified folks beforehand about it so it wouldn't have been a not-great surprise when checking in. I felt sorry for the check-in staff, who were doing their best. It was obvious that the upgrade issue was no picnic for them.

We had another hiccup this year regarding restaurant service. According to our "Know Before You Go" email, Viento was supposed to be open for dinner service every night. One evening when we went there, we were told the restaurant was no longer open for dinner, only for take out salad and pizza. We asked about Oceano, and were told it was open for dinner a'la carte that night. When we got to Oceano, however, it was "Steak Night", which meant no a'la carte dining. So we did Steak Night, which ended up being not so great. We ordered a rib-eye steak, the lamb, and the grilled chicken. After an hour wait, our waiter came back to our table and told us the steak and lamb were ready, but the chicken was not, and it was going to take much longer to cook. Our daughter, who had ordered the chicken, said at that point to just forget the chicken, as we had been waiting so long already, she'd just have a little of the steak and the lamb we ordered. The waiter said that was okay, but he'd still have to charge the whole price, chicken or no chicken. He then said that he had another steak already grilled, and he could bring her that. She said okay, since he was going to charge the whole price for the chicken anyway. (I think maybe he had actually put her down for a steak, realized too late, etc.)

Despite these few issues, we had a wonderful stay. We had perfect weather, great pool days, fun and relaxation.

As always, the staff at Lagunamar was outstanding. Hernan the pool concierge, Isaac, Williams, Jaime, and Miguel the pool waiters, and Jorge the pool bartender are some of the nicest people you'll ever meet. The Westin Heavenly Spa staff is also an asset to the hotel, providing wonderful, relaxing pampering. We truly feel that the staff at Lagunaar plays a huge role in what keeps people coming back.

We'll be back.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank suzanneg646
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the issues you faced during your stay. We appreciate the recognition given towards our staff, and hope you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews