We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Spells Squad
Warner Robins, Georgia

Ged to the rescue

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks agovia mobile
My husband and I are still here at the Westin. We arrived on Sunday night and the flight and check in process was very smooth. We arranged transportation beforehand with The One and that went very smoothly as well. We were given a room on the 5th floor building 11 and it is a very nice studio (plenty for 2). We had no idea what our view looked like until the next morning because it was pitch black when we arrived. However, waking up in the morning to the view of aqua clear water was absolutely breath taking.

The reason for writing this post before the end of our stay is to give a shout out to Ged Chappo, part of the elite concierge team. My husband and I went out to a fancy dinner but hardly touched our food because we were so full. When we got back we realized that we left our doggy bag for our $230 dinner at the restaurant. We walked over to Ged to see if he could call and confirm that they had not thrown it away. As we waited for him to confirm, we discussed taking another round trip cab ride (at a cost of $30) to retrieve our food.

Ged confirmed that our food was still at the restaurant but then floored us by telling us that he was going to get it and would call us when he got back. Within 15 minutes he was back and our dinner was saved. I have never had service like that and must call it out when it’s amazing. Thank you so much Ged!
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this review
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your glowing review on our resort and Ged! We greatly appreciate it, and are happy to read he went above and beyond during your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$344
  • Priceline
    $376
  • Agoda.com
    $255
  • Expedia.com
    $321
4.2 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free parking
Beachfront
$640
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $664
  • Vio.com
    $576
  • Skyscanner.com
    $758
0.6 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free parking
Pool
$705
  • Booking.com
    $931
  • Skyscanner.com
    $662
  • Expedia.com
    $933
3.0 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free parking
Breakfast included
$1,002
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $1,002
4.4 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free Wifi
Free parking
$801
Fully refundable
Enroll free for lower prices
  • Booking.com
    $807
  • Hotels.com
    $800
  • Priceline
3.6 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free Wifi
Free parking
$777
Fully refundable
  • Skyscanner.com
    $776
  • Official Hotel
    $926
  • Algotels
17.5 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free Wifi
Free parking
$636
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $636
  • Destinia.com
    $559
  • Vio.com
    $636
1.5 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free parking
Beachfront
$1,015
  • Official website
    $1,008
  • StayForLong
    $905
  • Priceline
15.1 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free parking
Pool
$585
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $585
  • Hilton
    $584
18.9 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Cancun
Reviews (7,844)
Filter reviews
7,845 results
Traveller rating
5,501
1,555
442
181
166
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5,501
1,555
442
181
166
Show reviews that mention
All reviews washer and dryer duna sports bar fun team studio villa la isla mall heavenly spa infinity pool mall across the street steak night full kitchen heavenly bed personal concierge pool concierge smaller pool swim up bar great property time share
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 7,845 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

My stay at Westin laguamar was absolutely wonderful from start to finish. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted with a warm welcome by the staff, who were incredibly attentive and professional throughout ours stay.cant wait to came back ❤️

Room tip: Mall is across the street and restaurant are very close
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank V617MOadrianas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your positive review on our resort! We appreciate it, and hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2024

Worst Westin experience ever. Beware of pre-payment scam. They will charge you again when you check out even when showing receipt and credit card charge. Front desk staff are in general very rude and unhelpful. They flat out lied to us twice telling us everything was taken care of. The hotel room itself was awful, with a balcony next to the neighboring hotel’s exhaust system. Overall, just another really bad Westin experience. Will never stay at a Westin again. Book anywhere else if you can. Definitely do not prepay rooms.

Room tip: Book somewhere else!!!!
Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We apologize for the negative experience you faced at our resort. Your feedback is valued, and we will work to improve in these areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2024 via mobile

We are Westin Vacation Club owners and just back from our yearly vacation at the Westin Lagunamar. We've always had amazing family vacations at Lagunamar, it's one of our favorite resorts. All our previous stays at Lagunamar have been great, but this time there were just a few snags.

On our check-in day, there was an issue with the system being down apparently due to a planned Marriott upgrade of some sort. There was a sign on the check in desk regarding the system being down, but there had not been any mention of it in the "Know Before You Go" resort update emails we received in the weeks leading up to our arrival. Check in was confusing and not nearly as seamless as in the past.

We had put in a request with our concierge a couple of weeks prior to our arrival asking to have our family's 2 rooms in the same building, preferably on the side of the resort near the "quiet" pool. He had emailed us back that he had sent over our request. When we checked in, though, our 2 rooms were in 2 different buildings on the other side of the resort, and they said they had no room preferences noted on our reservations or notice from the concierge. We asked if they could please change our rooms, and they told us the system was down and they had no way to see what other rooms were available. After a lot of confusion, they somehow found us connecting rooms in Building 100, which is actually as far away from the "quiet" pool as possible, but we were glad that our family would at least be near each other.
We asked if we checked back the next day (when the system was supposed to be back up) to see if rooms were available on the other side of the resort maybe we could move, and they said no, it would be too hard to move us.

Another issue while the system was down was that no one could charge anything to their rooms, they could only use a credit card--no cash-- until the system went back up. In the grand scheme of things none of this was a hardship, but it would have been nice if Marriott had notified folks beforehand about it so it wouldn't have been a not-great surprise when checking in. I felt sorry for the check-in staff, who were doing their best. It was obvious that the upgrade issue was no picnic for them.

We had another hiccup this year regarding restaurant service. According to our "Know Before You Go" email, Viento was supposed to be open for dinner service every night. One evening when we went there, we were told the restaurant was no longer open for dinner, only for take out salad and pizza. We asked about Oceano, and were told it was open for dinner a'la carte that night. When we got to Oceano, however, it was "Steak Night", which meant no a'la carte dining. So we did Steak Night, which ended up being not so great. We ordered a rib-eye steak, the lamb, and the grilled chicken. After an hour wait, our waiter came back to our table and told us the steak and lamb were ready, but the chicken was not, and it was going to take much longer to cook. Our daughter, who had ordered the chicken, said at that point to just forget the chicken, as we had been waiting so long already, she'd just have a little of the steak and the lamb we ordered. The waiter said that was okay, but he'd still have to charge the whole price, chicken or no chicken. He then said that he had another steak already grilled, and he could bring her that. She said okay, since he was going to charge the whole price for the chicken anyway. (I think maybe he had actually put her down for a steak, realized too late, etc.)

Despite these few issues, we had a wonderful stay. We had perfect weather, great pool days, fun and relaxation.

As always, the staff at Lagunamar was outstanding. Hernan the pool concierge, Isaac, Williams, Jaime, and Miguel the pool waiters, and Jorge the pool bartender are some of the nicest people you'll ever meet. The Westin Heavenly Spa staff is also an asset to the hotel, providing wonderful, relaxing pampering. We truly feel that the staff at Lagunaar plays a huge role in what keeps people coming back.

We'll be back.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank suzanneg646
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the issues you faced during your stay. We appreciate the recognition given towards our staff, and hope you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2024 via mobile

Just finished 7 wonderful Days at the Westin Lagunamar. The facility is very clean and safe. The staff is wonderful. We had a Two bedroom lock off and it was plenty of room for the 4 adults and 20 year old granddaughter. There is a store right there that has food ,drinks and other items.
The pools are great. Lots of chairs but if you want to be close get up early. The beach is less crowded. The service at the beach and pool’s is excellent. Special thanks to Gonzalo ! He kept us full and made us laugh also Luis , Miguel Felipe Humberto thank you gentlemen. Swim up bartenders are great.
We did the Mexican, Mayan nights. At Oceano very entertaining !Thank You Carlos and Thomas. We had drinks and food at Dunas also very good and people are nice. We did the beach party beautiful fun night. Band was awesome fire show was fun.
Angie our concierge was wonderful and made great recommendations, made our stay even more fun.
We ate at La Isla a couple of nights and two recommendations Rioyoush and Elphante. Both very good. Be careful crossing the road. Very few cars actually stop at the crosswalk. They need to get the light fixed !!watch out for the red busses those are dangerous.
A hotel recommendations we all have phones and devices that need charging. There should be a charging block on each night stand. Instead of having to pull out the night stand and reach Behind for the plug.
All in all a great trip , we will be back in September!!

Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank kenk230
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving a positive review on our resort! We are looking forward to having you back in September.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2024

My 2nd visit at the Westin Lagunamar and most likely not my last. The property and the villa was exceptionally clean. We arrived early and was able to check in prior to 4pm which was great. The staff and concierge are extremely friendly and very helpful. The bed is very comfortable and the pool and beach area were clean as well. The beach has some seaweed which is cleaned up in the morning.
We did a 4 night stay and there was a complimentary towel/linen refresh on the 2nd night.

Building #7 high floor had a great view of the pool and the beach without the noise.

My only complaint is the pressure to attend a sales presentation. I am an owner and on a short stay, I don't want the intense pressure to take 2 hours for a presentation.

Tips:
1. Groceries - take bus or walk to Kukulan Mall and taxi back. Its a 15 minute walk but its hot!
2. Restaurants - Carajillo, Cenacolo, Puerto Madero - ALL AMAZING!!!! 10% off discount when reserved by the Westin
3. Exchange USD to Pesos just enough for bus fare ($10 pesos per person) and for tips
4. Souvenir /Tequilla shopping - Downtown Plaza 28 - take taxi down and bus back. Walk from the market to the plaza.
5. Tours - the Chitzen Iza Deluxe is excellent, just a very long day. Book through the Westin.
6. Airport - if leaving during the week, get there 2 hours in advance. Weekends, 3 hours. Great food at the airport (Wolfgang Puck, Guy Fieri, Johnny Rockets etc.)
7. La Isla Mall is directly across the street - shopping, restaurants, Sky Wheel, Casino etc.
8. The One Transportation - booked the $110 private roundtrip Suburban to/from airport to hotel. The pickup was in a Suburban, but the return was in a Volkswagan van . . . .

ENJOY ENJOY ENJOY!!!!

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aquamarine14
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your glowing, detailed review on our property. We greatly appreciate it, and hope you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews