We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
$495
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
CEG43
New Jersey

Great Resort centrally located across from the La Isla Mall

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks agovia mobile
This is our second time staying here. This time with friends in a 2 bedroom lock off. We were in building 7 overlooking the pool with great views of the water. All the staff was great especially Allan, and Efrain at the activities area in the main pool. Shoutout to Armando in Oceano restaurant as well as Jose. The resort is very clean and maintained. They do check for people who tag pool seats and leave. After 45 minutes they remove the towels and open them up.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for the 5-star review! We appreciate your positive feedback towards our staff.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • travelup.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $289
  • Expedia.com
    $441
4.2 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free parking
Beachfront
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Official Site
  • ZenHotels.com
    $268
  • Booking.com
0.7 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hyatt.com
  • Expedia.com
    $1,039
  • travelup.com
1.2 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free Wifi
Free parking
Official Site
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $411
  • travelup.com
3.3 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$708
  • Hotels.com
  • travelup.com
  • Booking.com
4.4 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • travelup.com
  • Preferred Hotels
    $726
  • Booking.com
17.5 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $972
  • ZenHotels.com
    $887
  • travelup.com
15.1 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
$582
  • Hotels.com
  • travelup.com
  • Expedia.com
    $582
18.7 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hyatt.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $1,042
  • travelup.com
3.6 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Official Site
    $443
  • Expedia.com
    $479
  • Algotels
5.0 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Cancun
Reviews (7,828)
Filter reviews
7,828 results
Traveller rating
5,489
1,553
440
181
165
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5,489
1,553
440
181
165
Show reviews that mention
All reviews washer and dryer duna sports bar fun team studio villa la isla mall heavenly spa infinity pool mall across the street steak night full kitchen heavenly bed personal concierge pool concierge smaller pool swim up bar great property time share
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 7,828 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is one of the nicest resorts in Cancun in terms of its size, amenities, and service. It is not an all-inclusive but there are plenty of restaurants nearby (walking distance) as well as on-site.
We stayed in a Studio. It had a small but full kitchen as well as a huge bathroom. Amazing views of the ocean as well as the pool. It was so relaxing to go to bed at night with the window open listening to the sound of the ocean.
I would come back to the resort again.

Room tip: We had a room overlooking the smaller pool which had less kids and was quieter.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gefilte63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your positive review! We are happy to read that you enjoyed the on site amenities, and are looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We LOVED Lagunamar, the entire team was so welcoming, the resort was immaculate and the food delicious. We've already planned our next trip and can't wait to go back. They even helped us celebrate our anniversary in style. Thank you, Westin Lagunamar !

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the positive review on our resort. We appreciate it, and hope you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2024 via mobile

Why this property? The huge infiniti pool looks out onto the beach. It’s on a stretch of the hotel zone which still has a decent amount of sand (ie not succumbed to beach erosion), and when you look up the right and left down the beach, still get a sense of the great expanse of the beautiful ocean (the hotels are set far enough back you can enjoy nature and don’t feel crowded by buildings.) staff/service was very good, location across from la isla mall great for dining & shopping, rooms good. Even our small studio had a mini washer/dryer which was helpful. 3 onsite restaurants, daily happy hrs 3-4, & 5-6 (2 for 1 drinks). / note: even MVC owners can also stop by the concierge to get 2 free drink cards, & 20% off on site dining card (can easily decline the timeshare presentation) , also will get free AM coffee in owners lounge. / for off site dining, fish Fritanga & la parilla were highly rec to us and on point; Ryoshi was a nice place for fancy dinner / enjoy paradise!

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank i-like-vacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2024

Thank you for leaving a positive review with us! We greatly appreciate it, and hope you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2024

This was our second visit to Westin Lagunamar. We absolutely loved this resort - great location, great employees, the best location, wonderful pools, and a laid back atmosphere. Last year we had an amazing room view, this time when we checked in we were given three options of room, and given the choice to pick which ever one we wanted. We chose building 14 with a direct view of the ocean. Last time we were in building 9 - great view and more centralized.

This time we chose to get our pictures taken by the resorts onsite photography service. We had Ima as our photographer. She was absolutely amazing. She managed to get some amazing shots. I went in thinking that I only wanted 10-15 pictures total. I ended up buying all of the pictures. She got some great shots of our daughter (12) and my husband and I. She gave us tips/tricks to help us keep our eyes open, with the bright sun. She found out we were going to Isla Muejeres for the day and gave us some insight on where to go/great beaches.

We also love the fact that the resort is NOT all inclusive. The mall across the street has so many food options. We also used UBER EATS and placed an order for everything we needed from the Soraino grocery store down the street. The delivery driver brought all of the food/drinks to the front reception area and we were able to get it to the room so easily. The fact the it isn't all inclusive meant that we were able to enjoy activities off property.

We went to Xcaret! I highly recommend. We went to Xel-Ha last year, both have their positives and negatives, but Xcaret was amazing.

Some people like more of a "party" atmosphere, this is a laid back, relaxed, resort. Perfect for families or a simple get away. When we were on the beach the servers for the restaurant were very prompt and made quick visits... we never waited long for drinks.

We are not time share holders, but we did listen to the time share meeting. They were very respectful of our decision to not join, it was a no pressure situation.

My daughter loves the "kids area" she is 12 but there was foosball, mini golf, and other activities.

We ended up running out of bills smaller than $20, when we asked the front desk if they could exchange for 10's/5's - they didn't have any, but said that the bell boys would most likely have the bills and be able to break the $20's. They were right, he exchanged from his tips for us.

From the beginning to the end we had a great time, everyone went above and beyond to be sure that we were taken care of. It is the little things that make us feel welcomed at a resort. The employees at the Westin Lagunamar make the resort such a great place.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2024

Thank you for leaving a positive review with us! We greatly appreciate it, and hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2024

Beautiful hotel. We went in July and the weather was great. I felt very safe upon arriving since there is security before you enter the property. You drive up and enter the lobby. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. You are assigned a concierge that sits with you to go over the property and try to talk you into a "meeting" to purchase a room/condo.
The room is a full apartment. Small kitchen with all the appliances.
Cons:
-The bathroom has a weird sliding wall/window to the bathroom. If this sliding window/wall is open, you get full view of the bathroom.
- NO cold water! Our shower had no cold water. We tried calling to get this fixed and were told that because it is so Hot in Cancun, there is no cold water in the shower? Some how that does not make sense to me. We had to shower with HOT water. Again Hot water! At one point, it was burning hot. It was not refreshing.
-The pools were warm, so definitely not refreshing especially with the heat in July.
-Your personal concierge is ALWAYS looking to set up that Meeting to hear their sales pitch for the property.
-Even when we were checking out, they tried making us book our return trip with a discount.

Pros:
-Beautiful property
-Big pools
-beach was gorgeous, however there was an area that had a strong current with no warning about it. I almost drowned there!
-I felt safe at all times on the property
-Taxis are available and are safe
-The food was good, nothing extraordinary.
-Room was clean
-Starbucks on property
-Small convenience store on property
-Shopping center across the street
-Friendly and helpful staff

I would love to return but would love for the shower situation to be fixed.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2024

Thank you for visiting our resort for your first visit to Cancun! We appreciate your feedback, as we are always looking to improve. We hope you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews