We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jill B

Great Family Atmosphere

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Mar 2024
This was our second visit to Westin Lagunamar. We absolutely loved this resort - great location, great employees, the best location, wonderful pools, and a laid back atmosphere. Last year we had an amazing room view, this time when we checked in we were given three options of room, and given the choice to pick which ever one we wanted. We chose building 14 with a direct view of the ocean. Last time we were in building 9 - great view and more centralized.

This time we chose to get our pictures taken by the resorts onsite photography service. We had Ima as our photographer. She was absolutely amazing. She managed to get some amazing shots. I went in thinking that I only wanted 10-15 pictures total. I ended up buying all of the pictures. She got some great shots of our daughter (12) and my husband and I. She gave us tips/tricks to help us keep our eyes open, with the bright sun. She found out we were going to Isla Muejeres for the day and gave us some insight on where to go/great beaches.

We also love the fact that the resort is NOT all inclusive. The mall across the street has so many food options. We also used UBER EATS and placed an order for everything we needed from the Soraino grocery store down the street. The delivery driver brought all of the food/drinks to the front reception area and we were able to get it to the room so easily. The fact the it isn't all inclusive meant that we were able to enjoy activities off property.

We went to Xcaret! I highly recommend. We went to Xel-Ha last year, both have their positives and negatives, but Xcaret was amazing.

Some people like more of a "party" atmosphere, this is a laid back, relaxed, resort. Perfect for families or a simple get away. When we were on the beach the servers for the restaurant were very prompt and made quick visits... we never waited long for drinks.

We are not time share holders, but we did listen to the time share meeting. They were very respectful of our decision to not join, it was a no pressure situation.

My daughter loves the "kids area" she is 12 but there was foosball, mini golf, and other activities.

We ended up running out of bills smaller than $20, when we asked the front desk if they could exchange for 10's/5's - they didn't have any, but said that the bell boys would most likely have the bills and be able to break the $20's. They were right, he exchanged from his tips for us.

From the beginning to the end we had a great time, everyone went above and beyond to be sure that we were taken care of. It is the little things that make us feel welcomed at a resort. The employees at the Westin Lagunamar make the resort such a great place.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this review
Responded 12 Apr 2024
Thank you for leaving a positive review with us! We greatly appreciate it, and hope you visit us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$994
Fully refundable
  • Melia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
3.0 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free parking
Beachfront
Resorts View
$978
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Hotel
    $928
  • Booking.com
3.4 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free parking
Pool
$992
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • travelup.com
4.4 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free Wifi
Free parking
$998
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Official website
    $986
  • Booking.com
15.1 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free parking
Pool
$785
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
  • travelup.com
18.9 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $344
  • Expedia.com
    $410
4.2 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free parking
Beachfront
  • Official Site
  • ZenHotels.com
    $253
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free parking
Pool
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    $365
  • Booking.com
3.3 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Preferred Hotels
    $776
  • Algotels
17.5 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free Wifi
Free parking
Enroll free for lower prices
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $1,159
  • Official Site
    $961
1.2 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Cancun
Reviews (7,840)
Filter reviews
7,840 results
Traveller rating
5,497
1,555
441
181
166
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5,497
1,555
441
181
166
Show reviews that mention
All reviews washer and dryer duna sports bar fun team studio villa la isla mall heavenly spa infinity pool mall across the street steak night full kitchen heavenly bed personal concierge pool concierge smaller pool swim up bar great property time share
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 7,840 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2024

Beautiful hotel. We went in July and the weather was great. I felt very safe upon arriving since there is security before you enter the property. You drive up and enter the lobby. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. You are assigned a concierge that sits with you to go over the property and try to talk you into a "meeting" to purchase a room/condo.
The room is a full apartment. Small kitchen with all the appliances.
Cons:
-The bathroom has a weird sliding wall/window to the bathroom. If this sliding window/wall is open, you get full view of the bathroom.
- NO cold water! Our shower had no cold water. We tried calling to get this fixed and were told that because it is so Hot in Cancun, there is no cold water in the shower? Some how that does not make sense to me. We had to shower with HOT water. Again Hot water! At one point, it was burning hot. It was not refreshing.
-The pools were warm, so definitely not refreshing especially with the heat in July.
-Your personal concierge is ALWAYS looking to set up that Meeting to hear their sales pitch for the property.
-Even when we were checking out, they tried making us book our return trip with a discount.

Pros:
-Beautiful property
-Big pools
-beach was gorgeous, however there was an area that had a strong current with no warning about it. I almost drowned there!
-I felt safe at all times on the property
-Taxis are available and are safe
-The food was good, nothing extraordinary.
-Room was clean
-Starbucks on property
-Small convenience store on property
-Shopping center across the street
-Friendly and helpful staff

I would love to return but would love for the shower situation to be fixed.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2024

Thank you for visiting our resort for your first visit to Cancun! We appreciate your feedback, as we are always looking to improve. We hope you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2024

Pretty property. Rooms all have good views and are in good shape. I expected the furnishings to look more dated. It’s tastefully decorated. Salt water pools which I love. Yoga classes. Only ate bar food which was decent, but of course overpriced.

Bar: on the cocktails there is a 1.5 oz price and 2 oz price (referring to the alcohol amount). We were repeatedly charged for the 2 oz when getting the 1.5, and the cost diff is significant. It’s a bummer when staff ACTIVELY and REPEATEDLY rip you off — it was clearly so normalized that when I pointed it out they didn’t bat an eye lash. That kinda ruined the pool experience for us. I suggest you hit the supermarket and make your own — there are ice machines in the kitchen refrigerators.

Room tip: Watch the bar bill to avoid getting ripped off.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Chennaifornow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2024

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the negative experience you faced at the bar. We will ensure this feedback is passed on to the appropriate team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2024

Yes, in January/February there can be periods of wind (alas, there is not anything to stop it), but it is a small price to spend time at this wonderful resort! Plus, it can also keep the heat off during our time in the Sun...

We have been patrons here many times and it does not disappoint. It begins with warm welcomes on the front drive by Gabriel and Oscar. An efficient and friendly check-in at the Elite Desk follows. The superior maintenance of the property continues, if we have a need the engineering staff was prompt and professional. Housekeeping was very reliant and thorough. But it is the people that make it all happen and we truly appreciate their efforts.

We name names for service above and beyond normal expectations. Gus and his team ably handle our needs at the Front Desk with a smile. The Duna pool bartender staff of Luis, Jorge, Alejandro, Jonathon, and Little Armando provide fun and great service. Victor holds court at the Duna Sports Bar nightly creating the magic of the evening. Poolside food service with a flair was provided by our friends, Williams and Gonzago. At Viento, big infinity pool-side bartenders, Willie, Felipe, Edwin, et al, entertain large numbers of guests. The Golden Boy Celebration Bells announce the beginning of Happy Hour with a flourish. We always enjoy the breakfast buffet at Oceano. A vacation highlight are the massages by our friend, Carlos (a/k/a Magic Fingers), at the beautiful Heavenly Spa. Our restaurant portfolio of great establishments in the immediate area continues to expand. The white sands of the beaches are maintained daily to present a gorgeous framework for the aqua seas. We always feel safe, on campus and off.

We look forward to our return to Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas and Spa in the fall. Our friends await with "Welcome Home"!

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2024

Thank you for leaving a 5-star review with us. We appreciate it, and are happy you consider our resort a home away from home. We are looking forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2024

This is an enormous facility. Apparently Westin bought the struggling hotel next door several years ago and then tore it down to add on buildings 11-14 (?). If you’re in one of those buildings it’s a bit of a walk over to the infinity pool.
The staff were wonderful. Always very welcoming, and it felt genuine. The service was top-notch regardless of whether we were at the pool or in a restaurant.
The food offered here was quite average. We did the beach seafood buffet (ceviche was very good, but everything else was meh), poolside lunch from Vieto (bland), and a dinner at Duna (better, but pricey). Our next stay we will simply pick up groceries for breakfast and lunch, and go out to dinner elsewhere (El Timon was great).
Probably our biggest disappointment was the far less than Heavenly Bed. The pillows were lame, even though we pulled the extra ones out of the closet. Our next stay here will require us to BYOPillow.
Overall, we had a really nice time here and we’ll be back next year. Everyone on the property is very kind and cordial.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SLSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2024

Thank you for leaving a review on our resort. We appreciate it, and hope you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2024 via mobile

We are new owners and stayed 2/25-3/10. The staff was awesome especially: Williams at the pool, Alexa at front desk, Omar the manager, Isaac at the beach, Marco, Jasmine, Javier at concierge, Miguel at the beach and pool. Fabulous staff who made our stay very enjoyable. Forgive me if I missed anyone!! See you next year!! Oh yes, the Joya hospital staff was very professional and took good care of my sister. Dr Cuesta who kept checking in on her following her injury!!!

Room tip: Great restaurants Ryoshi, Limoncello, Cambalache, Cenacola, the Thai restaurant and Fish Fritanga!!
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank sharon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2024

Thank you for leaving a 5-star review with us. We appreciate the recognition given to the staff, and are happy to read your sister is recovering after her injury.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews