We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Tiffany L
San Francisco, California

Teenage Family friendly, fantastic resort experience

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Nov 2016via mobile
With young teenagers, our resort vacation has had to change and the Westin Lagunamar in Cancun was the answer - it offered us just the right mix of relaxing together time and a jumping off point for fun!

Our three kids want very different things on vacation, and at the Westin, we were able to make it all work. The enormous infinity pool is unbeatable and the access to the beach and all the organized activities make it easy to have fun at the resort. Then add in the super friendly people who work here and how smoothly they organized our tours outside of the hotel and it's been a top notch, fun-filled family vacation.

The highlight of the trip was the special dinner we had at one of the restaurants on site: Oceano. Chef Pablo cooked a fantastic 3 course dinner featuring the enormous red snapper my 15 year old son and I caught that afternoon on our fishing excursion at aqua world. Fredy let us know we could bring it right to the kitchen as soon as we got back to the hotel, and within 1 hour we were seated in the center table and treated like kings! Definitely the best flash fried fish tacos ever, and very reasonably priced too! Thanks to Raul, Charly, Fredy, and Pablo for making the evening so memorable and to the entire staff for making us feel welcomed.

As much as we love the Westin in St. John, we may have found a new home away from home!
Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this review
Responded 25 Nov 2016
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much of a fantastic review!!! We are so happy and pleased to know that you and your family had a great time at our property. We like to make our restaurants a memorable experience and we are so thrilled to know you enjoyed them. Our Chef Pablo and our culinary team make sure everything is made fresh and carefully to provide our guests with a nourishing touch. We will share your comments with our staff and we´ll recognize them for the excellent service they provided you. Please come back soon to visit us it was a pleasure serving you.

The Westin Lagunamar Management Team

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$925
Fully refundable
  • Melia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
3.0 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free parking
Beachfront
$969
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • travelup.com
4.4 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free Wifi
Free parking
$606
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • travelup.com
18.9 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $280
  • Priceline
4.2 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free parking
Beachfront
  • Official Site
  • Lol.travel
    $591
  • Booking.com
0.6 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hyatt.com
  • Expedia.com
    $878
  • Booking.com
1.2 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Algotels
  • Preferred Hotels
    $779
  • Hotels.com
17.5 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Wyndham
    $594
  • travelup.com
1.5 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free parking
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Official website
    $1,010
  • ZenHotels.com
    $979
  • Booking.com
15.1 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Cancun
Reviews (7,844)
Filter reviews
7,844 results
Traveller rating
5,501
1,555
441
181
166
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5,501
1,555
441
181
166
Show reviews that mention
All reviews washer and dryer duna sports bar fun team studio villa la isla mall heavenly spa infinity pool mall across the street steak night full kitchen heavenly bed personal concierge pool concierge smaller pool swim up bar great property time share
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,916 - 2,921 of 7,844 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2016

Villas are wonderful! Bell men Oscar and Jose are so helpful. At the pool Freddie,William,Webster and Marco go above and beyond. At theSpa Carlos and Delia are wonderful. Very relaxing and peaceful. We go every year

Room tip: All rooms are great. All rooms seem to have some ocean views
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank CindyDavidD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2016

Dear Guest:

Thank you for such a nice post about our Spa and our Staff. We assure you we´ll recognize all of them.We hope to welcome you near future.

Best Regards,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

This is a spectacular hotel: the beach and pools are clean, restaurants and bars offer many choices and the staff is exceptional
My personal concierge Angie Silva, gave life to her title, and really made sure I was taken care of.
The room is indeed heavenly with the bed and shower,the balcony has an ocean view. Great for all

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank 769sallyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2016

Dear Guest:

We are thrilled to read that you enjoy the room, the restaurants and facilities; we would to thank you for posting a review about our resort. Looking forward to welcome you near future.

Regards
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016

I had my wallet/cellphone stolen from a private wedding reception. I was incredibly disappointed by the way the hotel staff handled my situation. There was no urgency to help me and the communication was poor - not due to a language barrier. Only when I called the Starwood customer service number did the managers of the resort actually reach out to me, but this was almost 1 week after the incident. The theft could have been handled a better way.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank bsn3212016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2016

Dear Guest:

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post this review; we can clearly see that you did not get the Westin Service we are used to give to all our valued guests. At Westin Lagunamar, is priority to exceed our guest´s expectations and to solve any inconvenience as soon as is possible. We would like you to kindly e mail us to: experiences@westinlagunamar.com to follow up on this matter.

Sincerely,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2016

My husband and I spent 4 days here the week before Thanksgiving 2016. What a lovely place! The resort is in great shape, beautiful pools, clean and modern surroundings. The beach is gorgeous and groomed to perfection each day. There are lifeguards on duty. Every person we encountered was extremely friendly and professional. They frequently addressed us by name and were always polite and pleasant. Our waiter at the Oceano restaurant, Marco Jacome, was superb. He had good recommendations for dinner and wine. He was attentive but not obtrusive. Our server in the Duna restaurant, Isidro Pech, was super friendly and a great waiter. Truly, all the waiters at the bars and restaurants were very nice and provided great service. The staff at check in and out were polite and professional. Our concierge, Carlos, was very knowledgable of the activities we were contemplating. We stayed in a studio villa. There was a decent sized patio that overlooked the grounds and beach. The only negative was there was some minor mold in the shower and the thermostat was a little touchy. Otherwise the room was clean and what we expected from our experience at other Ocean resort villas. Prices for food are very reasonable for a resort, alcohol a little high though. Overall we had a great experience and hope to come back again.

Room tip: Seems like the majority of the rooms have either a pool or ocean view.
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank claricat61
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2016

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent experience, we certainly care about all our guests’ comments and feedback, it is important to us to improve and give our guest what they deserve. Please come back soon and we will be more than happy to welcome you again.

Sincerely.
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

This is our 4th time staying here. Delfina and Giuseppe go above and beyond to assure you have all you need for a fabulous home away from home vacation. Delfina has been our concierge 3 times now and she is absolutely amazing and knowledgeable. I highly recommend vacationing here. Pools are amazing and crystal clean. View is breathtaking. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Spa has a warm relaxing environment. But most of all the staff are amazing at making you feel like you are royalty in your home away from home. Thank you Delfina and Giuseppe.!!!!!!!!!

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Traveler184230
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2016

Dear Guest:

On behalf the entire staff that collaborates in our resort, we would like to thank you for posting this nice review. Thank you for your loyalty. It is a pleasure to welcome you each time you return to our spectacular Westin Lagunamar. Looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
The Westin Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews