We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Izfiyah84
new tork

NOT HAPPY!!

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 May 2014
We are a family of 3 including a 1 year old. We got to the Westin around 1 pm today and was told our room wasn't ready. The women at the desk couldn't give a time frame as to how long we had to wait so we were given a monitor and told it will go off when the room is ready. We are already tired because we've been up since 4am to make our international flight. My 1 year old son started getting cranky, we had heavy bags and we were hungry. Every hotel I've been to always said check in time is either 3/4 pm. Im a frequent traveler and have never had to wait for a room to be ready. Two hours has gone by and we are still waiting for our room. We couldn't understand why no other rooms were available because the lobby was empty. Some other guests began to come in to check in and we overheard the women whom we were dealing with tell them that could choose whatever building they would like and they were given their room key. She didn't even give us that option. We decided to go to another person at the desk and was given a room on the third floor in building four with a so called better view. HA! Granted, the room is absolutely nice. However, I specifically booked this hotel due to the spectacular ocean views every room supposedly had. When we walked onto the hotel property we were wowed by the view of the pool and the ocean. My view from my room is short of that. Outside my window is a view of trees and the other buildings. I can't see the beautiful sea nor the pool. Im so disappointed and annoyed.
Date of stay: May 2014
Room Tip: Make sure to be above the 4th floor and ask for a building and room thats actually facing the ocean!
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this review
Responded 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all, we offer you a sincere apology for the incoveniences you had. Thank you for taking the time to post this review, we would like to comment that the check in and checkout time is an standard policy for SVO resorts like ours, but we certainly care about all our guests’ comments and feedback; it is important to us to improve and give our guest what deserve and what is a Westin Lagunamar Experience, relaxing and renewed.
Warm regards,
The Westin Lagunamar Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$925
  • Hyatt.com
    $925
  • Expedia.com
    $982
  • Hotels.com
    $980
1.2 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free Wifi
Free parking
$670
  • Expedia.com
    $885
  • Priceline
  • travelup.com
    $877
3.0 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free parking
Breakfast included
$996
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $998
  • Tripadvisor
    $996
  • Priceline
4.4 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free Wifi
Free parking
$877
Fully refundable
Enroll free for lower prices
  • Booking.com
    $886
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $875
3.6 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free Wifi
Free parking
$623
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Wyndham
    $615
  • Vio.com
1.5 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free parking
Beachfront
$1,017
Book direct and Save
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $941
  • Skyscanner.com
    $976
15.1 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free parking
Pool
$591
  • Expedia.com
    $588
  • travelup.com
    $498
  • Priceline
18.9 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Skyscanner.com
    $487
  • Agoda.com
    $289
  • Expedia.com
    $330
0.6 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free parking
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    $416
  • Skyscanner.com
    $326
  • Booking.com
    $360
4.2 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free parking
Beachfront
Go to your Happy Price
  • Skyscanner.com
    $233
  • Expedia.com
    $299
  • Vio.com
3.3 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Cancun
Reviews (7,845)
Filter reviews
7,845 results
Traveller rating
5,501
1,555
442
181
166
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5,501
1,555
442
181
166
Show reviews that mention
All reviews washer and dryer duna sports bar fun team studio villa la isla mall heavenly spa infinity pool mall across the street steak night full kitchen heavenly bed personal concierge pool concierge smaller pool swim up bar great property time share
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4,893 - 4,898 of 7,845 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort May 11-18, 2014. We go there every year May and September and we love it there. Location of the resort is excellent. Resort kept very well but most important all employees who works there makes our holidays unforgettable! GM Carlos Gonzales, Hotel Manager Ernesto Medina, lobby Omar Rivera, Gustavo Diaz, concierge Violeta Lalinda, Eduardo from towel shack , Yenessa the Maid, what a superior team! I can not thank them enough for their hospitality and opening to us their home and making sure that everything perfect for us.

Room tip: All the rooms have ocean view.
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raife N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write this really nice review, it is a pleasure for us to make a special vacation an unforgettable experience! We are glad to read that you really enjoyed it. We are looking forward to welcome you many nore times!!!
Saludos from sunny Cancun
The Westin Lagunamar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This was our second visit to the The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa. We love the location and the resort. It's very convenient having a very nice mall across the street. The first room we were assigned had a couch so dirty, it should not have been in service under any circumstance. I had to return to the front desk and explain that the room was unacceptable. The second room was better, again the couch had seen better days, we decided to coverer it with a clean sheet and move on. This is a wear and tear issue that management needs to address when budgeting for replacement or put an upholster on staff. All the staff we encountered were very helpful, professional and pleasure to interact with. Other than the couch condition the vacation experience was flawless. I would return again but I would inspect the room first to avoid the initial frustration and discomfort of having to complain in the first place.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Guest,
We would to thank you for posting this review and feedback during your stay; we care about every detail of our valuable guest´s experience. thank you for your loyalty, we hope to welcome you soon for the third Lagunamar Experience.
Warm regards from sunny Cancun,
The Westin Lagunamar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We just got married here... could not have been better. The villas were perfect for bringing our families down to cancun, including our grandparents. The beach is massive compared to many resort beaches and gave us plenty of room for our rehearsal dinner, wedding, and reception. The Mexican buffet we had for our rehearsal dinner exceeded everyone's expectations, the service and food both were amazing. Wedding planning comes with a lot of details and our wedding planner from the westin stayed on top of all of them.

The service throughout the resort was all very good. We have stayed at 4 different hotels throughout our wedding and honeymoon trip and this has been the best service by far.

Date of stay: May 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank eaglefootball07
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Guest,
We are glad and happy to read your review, that is exactly the reason we look forward to exceed your expectations and give you the Westin Experience you deserve; this makes you don’t want to leave the hotel.We hope to have the chance to welcome you many more times.
Saludos from paradise,
The Westin Lagunamar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

What you need to know:
Great for family vacations or a couple's getaway.
If you're trying to stay away from the all inclusive plan and opt for high end quality room only hotel then this property without a doubt a must.
Villas are fully equipped with kitchen appliances, utensils, washer, dryer and detergent, etc. (everything you could possibly need. They do have an on site convenience store if you need.)
We stayed at one of the newer buildings, I was sad to learn our room was on the first floor BUT not for long because I could see the entire ocean from the villa. Our balcony terrace door led to the grilling area which came in handy for a nice family cookout.
They offer several family activities if you want to do any of that...
You must visit the Heavenly Spa.
Several restaurants are available with a variety of foods. Servers are great, restaurants are clean.
Location is amazing, it sits right in the middle of the strip. Plaza La Isla (Shopping mall) is across the street. Far enough from the noise of the party scene but close enough to hop on a bus and take a 10 minute ride to all the bars and clubs (buses are safe and under a $1/ person)
There is plenty of sand to enjoy by the beach, I love their infinity pool!
You'll definitely fall in love with The Westin Lagunamar

Tip: Stock up at Walmart. There is public transportation that will take you to the nearest WalMart (downtown)

Room tip: Stock up at Walmart. There is public transportation that will take you to the nearest WalMart (downtown)
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Margie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WLMManagement, Owner at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Guest,
We loved your comment, thank you for taking the time to post it. That´s all our guests need to know to have a special stay with us and to enjoy the Westin Lagunamar Experience; it makes us happy serve and pamper our guests. Thank you for choosing The Westin Lagunamar we hope to welcome you many more times!
Saludos from paradise,
The Westin Lagunamar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed at the westin lagunamar from may 4-may 11 (room 1167 &1168). First- make SURE you get a room 6th floor and above. We had an amazing view of the ocean and the pool area. Every single room has a view, the top floors are just better.
I'll start with the staff. EVERY SINGLE STAFF MEMBER made my visit amazing- from the pool swim up bar staff to the spa attendants who made sure I had a clean towel whenever I got out of the sauna or pool. All of the staff were always smiling and friendly. It made my vacation so much more relaxing.
My room had some small issues upon check in: the radio was visibly broken and there was a box left in the room. I called down and it was immediately fixed.
Our concierge Toni booked our excursions and made some great recommendations.
My only real complaint is that at the pool and cabana area people would save seats ALL DAY and not even show up to the pool. It was very annoying. They would place their towels there and just leave them.
The hotel has a better exchange rate so I recommend exchanging currency there (unless you have a triple A membership or something of that nature). The hotel lets you exchange up to $200 USD every day.

Room tip: Top floor- it was slightly annoying to hear people running around on the floor above me.
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank morganm165
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Guest,
We appreciate nice comments like yours, thank you for taking the time to post this. At Westin Lagunamar is priority to meet our guest’s expectations and to give you the best Westin Experience.We look forward to welcome you many more times.
Saludos from paradise,
The Westin Lagunamar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews