We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Virginiaarv
Williamsburg, Virginia

" My Happy Place"

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 May 2014
We Love this Resort , I can not think of one Negitive thing to say , and if any one reads a bad review , dont give it any attention. We stayed for 10 days , and had a great view from our room #874. We go every May & Sept , and it is just like going home . our Concierge has always been Violta , and she is just kije Family , and we Love her . One tip if you like to Grill , and that is to bring your own Flipper , and Tongs , this will save you from having to go get a loaner from the shopet . Edwardo at the towel shack helps get longers set up , There are not enough good words to say about the WLM , just go and enjoy
Date of stay: May 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this review
Responded 22 May 2014
Dear Guest,
We loved your comment, thank you for taking the time to post it, for being part of the Lagunamar Family and for your loyalty. That´s all our guests need to know to have a special stay with us and to enjoy the Westin Lagunamar Experience; it makes us happy serve and pamper our guests. See you in 4 months!!!
Saludos from sunny Cancun
The Westin Lagunamar Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$335
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Skyscanner.com
    $410
  • Vio.com
    $283
  • Hotels.com
    $336
0.6 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free parking
Pool
$345
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $263
  • Skyscanner.com
    $242
  • Hotels.com
    $345
4.2 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free parking
Beachfront
$781
Fully refundable
Enroll free for lower prices
  • Booking.com
    $790
  • Expedia.com
    $781
  • Hotels.com
    $783
1.2 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free Wifi
Free parking
$666
  • Booking.com
    $885
  • Skyscanner.com
    $642
  • Expedia.com
    $883
3.0 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free parking
Breakfast included
$916
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $918
  • StayForLong
    $901
  • Hotels.com
    $918
4.4 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free Wifi
Free parking
$789
Fully refundable
Enroll free for lower prices
  • Hotels.com
    $797
  • Booking.com
    $985
  • Trip.com
    $826
3.6 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free Wifi
Free parking
$255
  • Expedia.com
    $343
  • Skyscanner.com
    $203
  • Vio.com
    $217
3.3 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free Wifi
Free parking
$597
No prepayment needed
  • Skyscanner.com
    $548
  • Destinia.com
    $531
  • Vio.com
    $588
1.5 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free parking
Breakfast included
$916
  • Official website
    $906
  • ZenHotels.com
    $883
  • Skyscanner.com
    $895
15.1 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free parking
Pool
$597
  • Expedia.com
    $597
  • travelup.com
    $486
  • Hilton
    $596
18.9 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Cancun
Reviews (7,850)
Filter reviews
7,850 results
Traveller rating
5,504
1,556
443
181
166
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5,504
1,556
443
181
166
Show reviews that mention
All reviews washer and dryer duna sports bar fun team studio villa la isla mall heavenly spa infinity pool mall across the street steak night full kitchen heavenly bed personal concierge pool concierge smaller pool swim up bar great property time share
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4,905 - 4,910 of 7,850 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Second time back to the Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort. The location and the beaches are great. The resort was nice the rooms were great but sleeping was a problem!!!!! The mattress was not comfortable. My neck and back were aching in the morning. The staff were nice, food was about average. They need to work on their drink selection, stay away from happy hour!!! Drinks were really bad.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest,We would to thank you for posting this review and feedback during your stay; we care about every detail of our valuable guest´s experience. We hope to have the chance to welcome you many more times!!
Saludos from paradise,
The Westin Lagunamar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed here last week. It was our second visit in 3 years and once again it did not disappoint. The hotel and grounds are beautiful with an amazing infinity pool overlooking a magnificent beach. Lunch at the outdoor restaurant by the pool was delicious and inexpensive. Drinks are a little pricey however ($8-$9) with $5 beers. Ask for Jesus. His service was outstanding. The older section (Buildings 1 thru 8 or 9) have the best views. The higher the better to avoid a palm tree from blocking your view. Great shopping mall across the street with a number of restaurants. The on-site store has delicious croissants in the morning and danish (about $1.25 US each), a nice size bowl of fruit for under $4 and a good assortment of wraps and salads for lunch.. Great Mexican restaurant nearby (walking distance) called La Distilleria. Dozens of tequila choices !!!!. Very helpful Concierges with low pressure for timeshare sales.

Room tip: Buildings 4,5,6 or 7 floor 5 or above
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank josephdavis56
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest, We are very pleased to know you had a great time at Westin Lagunamar. Thank you for choosing again our resort for your vacation and thank you for your loyalty, we hope to welcome you for the third time!!
Saludos from sunny Cancun,
The Westin Lagunamar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

A beautiful property located in the hotel zone of Cancun, all rooms at the Westin Lagunamar overlook the ocean and pool areas.

Grounds: This property is beautiful! Our room overlooked the main pool and fountains. Each night the fountains provided a light show in a rainbow of colors. My one complaint about the grounds was that there was no shade in the pool area so we had to wait until the late afternoon to take my one year old swimming. I especially think the kiddie pool should have some shade as these little ones are so susceptible to sunburns. There was a nice swim up bar in the main pool and an additional bar by the smaller pool. There were lots of green areas and palm trees. The resort has easy access to the ocean, which was very rough so we chose just to swim in the pool. There is a nice beach though.

Rooms: We had a 2BR lockoff for our week there. Our larger suite had a great dining area & living area. Our room had a nice king size bed and a huge bathroom. My favorite thing about the room was all the closet space. We had no problem storing all of our clothes in the many drawers that were available. The only problem was that we did not really have space for our suitcases because the closet had the vacuum and a luggage rack stored there. My mom stayed in the smaller studio room which was also nice. It only had a queen-sized bed, which worked fine for her, but a couple might not like it so well.

Restaurants: The restaurants were expensive and the food quality averaged a B. The Oceano restaurant's breakfast buffet was very tasty and the food options extensive. We loved the Mexican pastries and fresh fruits. Service there was much better than at either of the other restaurants. Both the pool side Viento and Duna Sports Bar had B- food and very slow service. We were the first people to arrive at Viento to arrive for lunch one day and had to wait 50 minutes for a burger, quesadilla and fruit salad. Our first night we had gone to the Sports Bar and had a difficult time getting the bottle of water we had ordered. While it was a nice place to watch the March Madness basketball games, the food was mediocre. We quickly realized that our best option was to go across the street to the La Isla Shopping Center where the food and service were both much better.

Resort Service: Arriving in the lobby, one is greeted by multiple smiling faces from the transportation desk, then the registration desk and also the concierge service. Delfina was our concierge and she was very helpful in booking our trip to Chichen Itza and providing restaurant recommendations. Our one year old daughter was a hit with the staff who constantly oohed and ahhed at her. She loved the attention and every time I saw certain people like Rudolfo, he always asked about her if she was not with me at the time. I needed assistance with reading a can of formula in Spanish and the transportation desk was very helpful. This was certainly not in their job description, but they happily assisted!

Timeshare Presentation: We opted to sit through the 90 minute presentation in exchange for a $125 resort credit. We arrived for our scheduled appointment at 12:30 and had to wait 30 minutes for someone to help us. By that time, we explained that we had only allotted 90 minutes and had tickets to the aquarium for 2:15. We were upfront about the fact that we were not interested in buying at the time and so did not receive any pressure, which was nice.

Amenities: We took advantage of the on site photographers (Cleo and Deni) to have family photos done. They took photos both on the resort grounds and the beach. We had many photos to choose from and the price of approximately $10 per digital image was very reasonable. I had been wanting to have professional photos of my family outdoors and am extremely happy with the quality. They took some beautiful photos, especially of my daughter that I will treasure. The photo session itself was free.

There is an owners lounge on property, but we only visited it once. Also, there is a small store that sells some souvenirs, food and drinks. There was not a lot of variety. Around the pool each day there were vendors selling local crafts at fairly reasonable prices, once we bargained with them.

Overall, it was a great property that we will happily return to another time. It only gets 4 stars because of the food quality and the tardiness of the timeshare presentation.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your review, always make us glad to hear the feedback from you and to know that our efforts to serve and provide you with a refreshing stay, were worth it! We hope to welcome you very soon for a second Lagunamar Experience!
Saludos from paradise,
The Westin Lagunamar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We decided to spend our 33th Anniversary at The Westin Lagunamar. Our 9 nights stay was magnificent and we enjoyed every single day. Our concierge was Pedro Aguilar and Pedro was extremely helpful and made organizing our trip a pleasure. Pedro provided valuable information on all the tours options and best places for dinner. Thanks for all your help Pedro! The whole place is well spaced and extremely well kept and the staff is fantastic. There is a lot to do and even in our 9 nights visit, there are still many thing to see and experience. We are definitely coming back, there still a lot more to see, visit, and enjoy in beautiful Cancun, Mexico!
Thank you to the whole staff at Westin Lagunamar for your hospitality, especially Pedro Aguilar.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry_507
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Congratulations for your 33th Wedding Anniversary!! Tjank you so much for taking the time to write this great review. We will let Pedro know about your comment. At Westin Lagunamar is priority to meet our guest’s expectations and to give you the best Westin Experience every time to stay with us. We wiil be waiting for your 34th Wedding Anniversary.
Saludos from paradise,
The Westin Lagunamar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The Westin Lagunamar was everything we expected. The staff were amazing, the view is outstanding and the locatio is prime. The hotel is across the street from the mall, which is very convenient for stocking your fridge. Each room gad a washer and dryer which us a great plus when traveling. This is a timeshare property but we didnt receive the pushy agents which we appreciated. The view is absolutely breathtaking with the infinity pools, the bridges and the gorgeous beaches.There is definitely a different type of treatment for the owners vs hotel guests, but I wasn't bothered...the place is just to gorgeous not to enjoy.

Date of stay: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCLady85
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for posting this amazing review and sharing your nice pictures of the resort, we are glad to know that you really enjoyed and had a Westin Lagunamar Experience.
We look forward to welcoming you many more times!
Saludos from paradise,
The Westin Lagunamar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews