We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
DCLady85
Washington, DC

Great Stay at the Westin

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 May 2014
The Westin Lagunamar was everything we expected. The staff were amazing, the view is outstanding and the locatio is prime. The hotel is across the street from the mall, which is very convenient for stocking your fridge. Each room gad a washer and dryer which us a great plus when traveling. This is a timeshare property but we didnt receive the pushy agents which we appreciated. The view is absolutely breathtaking with the infinity pools, the bridges and the gorgeous beaches.There is definitely a different type of treatment for the owners vs hotel guests, but I wasn't bothered...the place is just to gorgeous not to enjoy.
Date of stay: May 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this review
Responded 20 May 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for posting this amazing review and sharing your nice pictures of the resort, we are glad to know that you really enjoyed and had a Westin Lagunamar Experience.
We look forward to welcoming you many more times!
Saludos from paradise,
The Westin Lagunamar Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$930
Fully refundable
  • Melia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • travelup.com
3.0 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free parking
Beachfront
Resorts View
$976
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Hotel
    $961
  • Priceline
3.4 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free parking
Pool
$1,035
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • travelup.com
  • Expedia.com
    $1,035
4.4 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free Wifi
Free parking
$930
  • Hyatt.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $930
1.2 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free Wifi
Free parking
$606
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
  • travelup.com
18.9 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $327
  • travelup.com
4.2 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free parking
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • travelup.com
  • Preferred Hotels
    $769
  • Algotels
17.5 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    $362
  • travelup.com
3.3 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $679
  • Priceline
2.2 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Official website
    $951
  • ZenHotels.com
    $840
  • Expedia.com
    $977
15.1 km from The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Cancun
Reviews (7,838)
Filter reviews
7,838 results
Traveller rating
5,495
1,555
441
181
166
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5,495
1,555
441
181
166
Show reviews that mention
All reviews washer and dryer duna sports bar fun team studio villa la isla mall heavenly spa infinity pool mall across the street steak night full kitchen heavenly bed personal concierge pool concierge smaller pool swim up bar great property time share
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4,899 - 4,904 of 7,838 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014

For the money, the location, the amenities within, and a short walk away, this resort is great. Beach area really nice and pools are some of the best anywhere. Any negative reviews are simply by people who can't enjoy vacations. It is a time share location so certain aspects of the experience will be affected by those owning within Starwood which is a good thing.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank feeneydipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest,
We loved your comment, thank you for taking the time to post it. That´s all our guests need to know to have a special stay with us and to enjoy the Westin Lagunamar Experience. Thank you for choosing The Westin Lagunamar.
Warm Regards,
The Westin Lagunamar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

After reading HAN02141's insulting review, I must report that my husband and I completely disagree with that reviewer and absolutely loved this resort. We are big Westin fans and are 4*Elite owners as well as Gold Elite SPG members. I don't know if, as an owner, we received better treatment than a hotel guest would, but, honestly, I hope so. That is because, as owners we have invested in the property and pay annual maintenance fees to keep the property looking outstanding. That is not to say a hotel guest should not be treated well, just that I would expect top notch service. Our Elite concierge, Claudia, was superb - her knowledge about the resort and the Cancun area cannot be beat. Meals at Restaurante Oceano are very good - the best are the buffets, which are offered at a single fixed price and are the best value.

Room tip: Best view rooms are on high floors, but all rooms are great! Key is whether you prefer proximity to the beach, the pool or the best view.
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest,
On behalf the entire staff that collaborates in our resort, we would like to thank you for posting this amazing review. Thank you for your loyalty. Will be a pleasure to welcome you each time you return to our spectacular Westin Lagunamar, you home away from home!
Looking forward to welcome you many more times!
Warm regards from sunny Cancun
The Westin Lagunamar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

I can't understand the poor review I just read. We just checked out today and were so sad to leave this spectacular resort. The property was immaculate, the staff could not have been any friendlier, and the rooms were fantastic!! I highly recommend this property. They have a beautiful pool and the beach is fantastic. In addition, the location can't be beat!! We can't wait to return.

Date of stay: May 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank AZBuckeye1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest,
We loved your comment, thank you for taking the time to post it. That´s all our guests need to know to have a special stay with us and to enjoy the Westin Lagunamar Experience; it makes us happy serve and pamper our guests. Thank you for choosing The Westin Lagunamar , we hope to welcome you many more times!!
Saludos from paradise,
The Westin Lagunamar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I would not waste your money to stay at this hotel, during your visit to Cancun. The reason for 1 rating is primarily staff service and hospitality. This is the first time I am giving a review on Trip Advisor, as I saw when I checked in, that property had a framed certificate from Trip Advisor. I have no idea, what earned them the certificate, but based on our experience it wasn't worth it.

I also want to note that I am a Starwood Platinum for Life guest, so I thought this Westin would be consistent with others we have stayed. The difference is this is a TIME SHARE property, and its clear that the staff care more about the time share residents than other guests.

So, save your money, time, points, and don't stay here...there are plenty of other properties- we ended up checking out and going over to the Ritz Carlton down the street...much better experience and saved our holiday.

Room tip: Most of the rooms are far away from the beach; and the numbering system used in the hotel rooms is confusing
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Hari N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to post this review; we can clearly see that you did not get the Westin Service we are used to give to all our valued guests and owners. At Westin Lagunamar, is priority to exceed your expectations and to solve any inconvenience as soon as possible. We would like you to kindly email us to: lagunamaroceanresort@westin.com to follow up on this and to have more information about your experience.
Sincerely,
The Westin Lagunamar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Hotel was very nice and not over crowded. I was a little disappointed that my room was not ready on time but once I got my room I was over it. The view was beautiful. I would come stay again and bring my family.

Date of stay: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank April626
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post this review, we would like to comment that the check in and checkout time is an standard policy for SVO resorts like ours. Thank you for choosing our resort for your vacation; we hope to welcome you many more times in the future.
Warm regards from paradise,
The Westin Lagunamar Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews