We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Marriott Bonvoy member rate available
Priceline
Marriott
$507
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
Skyscanner.com
$497
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,819)
Filter reviews
7,819 results
Traveller rating
5,484
1,551
440
180
164
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5,484
1,551
440
180
164
Show reviews that mention
All reviews washer and dryer duna sports bar fun team studio villa la isla mall heavenly spa infinity pool mall across the street steak night full kitchen heavenly bed personal concierge pool concierge smaller pool swim up bar great property time share
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5,995 - 6,000 of 7,819 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We are currently staying at resort and would recommend to others. It is new, clean and kid friendly. The rooms are comfortable and with your own laundry machines and small kitchens very convenient. It beats going out to eat every meal and when you have kids it makes it easy to get wholesome foods into them.
The beach is beautiful and not over crowded. We can often find lounges on the beach and even at the pool side. Overall impressive grounds and central location to everything.
As for the service it is just ok. We are Starwood gold members and definitely didn't get special treatment in any way. You get the feeling this hotel is a distant cousin to the starwood service levels. The staff rarely smile but I will say that we did meet a few staff that were friendlier.
Overall happy to be here with the family. Kids club is great and offers a variety of activities, feed iguanas, bunnies, mini golf, tennis, ping pong etc...

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RedLeaf2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

It makes us so happy to receive these kind of comments, thank you so much for choosing Westin for your vacation. We would love to host you again soon. In regards to your comments on our service we sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations, if you wish to provide further detail on your experience please write us an email to lagunamaroceanresort@westin.com and we will be more than happy to assist you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We just returned again from our third trip to the Westin Lagunamar. As expected, we were happy with the accomodations, pool, service, restaurants, etc. We are 5-star platinum elite SPG members, but not owners at this resort. We traded in, but were treated especially well: Emma has been our personal concierge for two of the trips and has been great. She is so nice! Shouts out to Carlos also, who was our concierge the first time: also super nice. We reserved two additional rooms for family on points, and we were so grateful and surprised when we were all on the same floor, side by side each other! This made it super easy for the family to coordinate our activites, share meals, and beach toys, etc. We traveled with 4 kids age 8 and younger. The water slide at the pool is perfect for them. They must have ridden it 300 times a day. This was the first trip for us where the "new" pool was open. It was beautiful and quieter. The kids thought it was "boring", but it was perfect for adults,although it is not specifically an adult pool. The bar there is quieter, with virtually no wait time. We did not really venture off the resort much, except to go across the street to La Isla for shopping/dining. We loved La Madonna restaurant. With the young kids, we walked over and ordered take out at the entry and the gentleman who took our order both nights was great. He made a big production of presenting our take out meals to us, and then we walked across the street to the villa to eat and put the kids to bed. We also loved the mexican buffet night at the resort: the pinata for the kids is great and the special margaritas and mariachi band do officially make it a "party". All in all, we had another great trip. In fact, family who were with us now want to make it a tradition to visit Lagunamar every August! The only thing we can really complain about is that there was a horrible seaweed problem for most of the week on the entire beach (not just at the Westin) from an earlier storm. There was TONS of sea weed for 4 days, and then all of the sudden it was ALL gone one morning when we woke up. Not sure where it all went. Most of the resorts worked constantly to get rid of it, but it was an impossible task. Once it cleared, the ocean was great. For the second year in a row, we had the onsite photographer take photos of our family. They do a wonderful job. Would highly recommend them! Great trip, can't wait to return next year!

Room tip: We like the high floors because of the view. Don't think you can go wrong, because almost every room has a view of the ocean.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank applekor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your loyalty !!!!
On behalf of the entire staff, thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar once again for visiting to Cancun.
We are really pleased to see that you had a great time with us and that you enjoyed our services and facilities; we can assure you, your comments will be shared with all the team.

Once again, we thank you for sharing your experience and we cannot wait to welcome you back very soon!!

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

This was my first stay at the Westin Lagunamar (there is another Westin property in the hotel zone).

Location: The hotel is ideally situated across from the mall with a lot of restaurants and shopping. The restaurants are expensive though.
Pool/beach: The larger infinity pool is great, the smaller pool is so so. Great beach access. They already have comfortable beach chairs and umbrellas set up on the beach.
Room: The rooms were a little small but very nicely decorated-upscale with a lot of features including a dvd player, tv, bose wave radio, cd, iron, washer-dryer, microwave, stove, blender, full silverware, cups and glasses etc.
Service: Excellent service except at check-in where the employee was fake nice and borderline rude.
Internet: wifi is very slow (even though our room was farther away from the beach) and complaining about it did not change anything. The business center is excellent though with large monitors and extremely fast internet.

All in all, you would not go wrong in picking this hotel.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Prabir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments in regards to our resort operations. We are currently working on improving our WiFi connection, in the near future we will have 100% HSIA through out the property. Thank you for your patience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We had a two bedroom condo which slept 6 privately and 8 total. We had 7 in our group and found that it had plenty of space for all of us. The beds were comfortable but not the sleeper sofa. Location is ideal. The beach was beautiful with plenty of umbrellas and some tikii type shades places too. ( tikii spots go first they were taken by 8 am.) pool was nice . happy hour is no great shakes.
across the street is the mall with tons of places to eat. public bus is right out side which we used almost every day . only draw back is no ice machines for your cooler if you want to drink on the beach or pool and not pay for the bar.

Room tip: all rooms have an ocean view.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 67kiki39
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our resort. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We enjoy creating life-long memories for our guests, and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I went on vacation to Cancun for the first time in May 2012. This was my third visit to Mexico (first was Cabo 1994 and second was Puerto Vallarta 2005).

After carefully researching my options, I selected the Westin Lagunamar because it's new, and while expensive, is still reasonably priced.

As everyone has noted, the best things about the Lagunamar are the beautiful white sand beach with turquoise water, the luxury shopping mall conveniently located across the street, the huge well-maintained swimming pools, the adjacent Mayan ruin, the lush landscaping, and the pleasant architecture. My room was large, comfortable, clean, quiet, and tastefully furnished. No unusual smells or noises noted.

The Lagunamar is situated in the middle part of the Hotel Zone, and like most resorts in that area, caters to an upscale, classy, sophisticated crowd. I briefly ventured to the north part of the Hotel Zone in search of souvenirs, and was horrified to see crowds of working-class tourists on budget packages whose vacation philosophy was obviously "what happens in Cancun stays in Cancun." Once you see those people, you will be really happy you're staying at the Lagunamar!

Having read many warnings in travel guidebooks about Cancun timeshare salespeople, I was ready to repel them, but no one bothered me about timeshares at this resort.

My only major disappointment was that the splashy pink/purple/blue color scheme which the resort opened with (and which is still visible on Google Street View) has been replaced with a bland beige and white color scheme. Still, I strongly recommend the Westin Lagunamar to first-time Cancun visitors.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank coolcaesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Dear Guest, We are very pleased to know you had a great time at Westin Lagunamar. We hope this experience with us is just one of many you will have for many years to come. Thank you again and come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews