We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$191
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$163
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$136
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$105
US$94
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$106
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$345
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Marlowe(Mexico City)(Great Value!)
US$65
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ritz Mexico(Mexico City)
US$73
US$64
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,678)
Filter reviews
3,678 results
Traveller rating
3,018
498
103
29
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,018
498
103
29
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotelterrace restauranttiffany glass ceilingtiffany styleart nouveauoverlooking the squarejose luiswrought ironnational palacedepartment storemaster suitetemplo mayormain plazametropolitan cathedralhistoric buildingtop floorspecial thanks
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 3,678 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

I am in Mexico City for a wedding and came to the grand Hotel for breakfast with my friend, Ornella. The interior of the hotel is beyond beautiful and the view from Terrace is incredible. We enjoyed a mimosa and the breakfast buffet, which were both delicious. Alfredo, Keydy, and Hugo provided excellent service. The next time I come to Mexico City I will stay in this hotel. If you were in Mexico Siri you should come to the grand hotel just to see it, it's spectacular!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear Dennis,

We appreciate your kindly comment, it is very gratifying to know that your visit at Gran Hotel de la Ciudad de Mexico exceeded your expectations; besides being characterized for having one of the most spectacular panoramic views of Mexico City’s Historic Center, we are known for being people committed to provide each of our guests a personalized service and unique Mexican food, Alfredo, Keidy and Hugo will receive your congratulations. It will be a real honor to see you again on your next Trip.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Wonderful hotel-people come to take pics of lobby & beautiful stained glass roof and it's one of the oldest in Mex city complete with old fashioned lift for your first trip up to room (but modern lifts as well).Well sized and well decorated room and bathroom.Nice staff.Little edible treats on arrival in room.Room service meals served on trolley with white linen.Nice breakfast tho not incl.in room rates.Excellent location on corner of main sq Zocalo and within walking distance of a lot more. Only gripe was safe mechanism which was different to the norm and I kept getting locked out.I had to contact lobby several times but responsiveness of staff was amazing-contact lobby staff for help and someone at your door within minutes.Views from roof terrace restaurant at night over Zocalo is pretty special. Tremendous value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olufunlolaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear guest,

We appreciate you took the time for sharing your experience at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico; it’s a pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay with us and had an incredible room, delicious breakfast which can be included if you add it for just $1 usd on our page, amazing location as well as personalize service every time so that unforgettable experiences, can be remembered. We will be waiting for your next visit.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

One of my best hotels in Mexico Gabriel, Manuel and Jaime take care me and my family you will have a warm welcome and no worries about if you room is not available the zocalo very secured and fell free to walk all city during day or night.
Definitely we will coming back and stay for more time
Gracias

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Gricelda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Dear Gricelda,

Thanks so much for your very kind opinion. We are very happy to know that your expectations were completed and that the location and the service were unique, Gabriel, Manuel and Jaime will be glad to receive your comments. Hopefully we will have the pleasure to welcome you again to Gran Hotel Ciudad de México.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

I will definitely stay again...The location is within walking distance to the Cathedral, Palace, Diego Rivera murals, Aztec Ruins (Templo Mayor) and many amazing restaurants. For my short trip, it was perfect.
Only down sides was nightlife, no matter the day after 10pm or so there is nowhere to go. Also streets are blockaded by policia so if you Uber to Condessa or elsewhere, you will walk a few blocks... Otherwise so perfect. Hotel staff is welcoming, helpful and caring. Champaign welcome and everything!

Stayed: April 2018
Thank AlohaHeid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Dear Aloha,

Thanks for your comments on TripAdvisor, I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the location. During the weekends you can find so many places to go for dinner, dancing or just taking a drink, you can ask to the Concierge the best options that he recommends. For our entire staff it will be an honor to welcome you again for a longer stay in Mexico City.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

I searched interviewed probably more than I should have for just a two-night stay... But it was really important for me to find the right area and hotel, to maximize my short visit. Everything exceeded expectations... Champagne check-in, tour of property... Chocolates and balloons in room. Location, history and beauty of the property would be enough. However the proximity to historical attractions and helpfulness of the staff make it a 10/10.
(Also it's so gorgeous...The stain glass is breathtaking). ( Also it's clean) (Also free bottled water) (Also they're nice and give you Champagne when you check-in) (Think Four Seasons with Marriott price but like Mexico style)

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
Thank Heidi-HI G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Dear Heidi,

We are more than proud to know that you had an incredible stay at Gran Hotel Ciudad de México and for being your first choice of hospitality. As you mentioned, we are always looking for ways to meet your expectations that is why we receive all of our guests with a glass of Champagne and a little detail in your room. It is good that the location were amazing and gives you the opportunity to live the experience in the downtown. We will be waiting for your second visit to this incredible city.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews