We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (581)
Filter reviews
581 results
Traveller rating
448
117
12
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
448
117
12
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi on the balconymaster suitelounge chairswalk into townwedding plannerno elevatorbeautiful hotelsitting areahotel guestsoverlooking the baydowntown zihuatanejomexican hotelgreat poolboutique hotelcevichecommon areasfamily vacation
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 581 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

Recently returned from a family vacation at the Aura del Mar in April 2017. The room, service and hospitality of the staff was outstanding. Everything we expected and more! The location is perfect to walk to many great restaurants in the evening.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank BoardingPass30939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

Aura Del Mar Hotel, built on a cliff overlooking Zihuatenejo Bay. In a most luxurious location. Service was amazing, rooms great, staff helpful. Chairs and beach toys available. Was only a 5 minute walk into town, where you could eat a very good meal for under $20 a couple, but miles away when there. Already booked next year for the entire family. Just loved it.

Room Tip: There are no elevators here so ask for a lower floor if that is a problem. My wife and I both over 60 had no real problems.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank goberlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017

After deciding to have our wedding in Zihuatanejo, and after contacting several wedding planners and hotels in the area, we chose Hotel Aura Del Mar for our wedding venue and accommodation for the week. From the first emails exchanged with the Hotel's wedding planner, Janet, we were thoroughly impressed with her excellent communication as she promptly answered the many questions we had and provided us with detailed information on every aspect of the wedding. Her tireless planning allowed us to have a perfectly executed beach wedding far exceeding our expectations.

Regarding the accommodation, we could not have asked for anything more. Every room has a spectacular view of the bay and the decor of the hotel is bright, original, and charming. We will miss returning from the beach to find our bed made up with rose petal artwork courtesy of the cleaning staff. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Miguel did a great job of helping us to settle into the hotel and providing us with recommendations for the best places to go for tacos in town. Carlos arranged for a group fishing trip involving multiple boats and introduced us to the captains at the pier early in the morning.

The restaurant on site, Bistro Del Mar, consistently put out excellent food for us. Breakfasts, which were included with the room, involved a large selection of delicious Mexican dishes. On multiple occasions we ordered the "Tiritas" ceviche as a beach side snack and were always impressed. The buffet style meal we had for our wedding reception was gourmet, with chicken, beef, and fish grilled over a fire. The food was yet another highlight of our Hotel Aura Del Mar experience. On several nights we stopped in at the bar adjacent to the lobby for happy hour drinks courtesy of the nicest bartender around, Jesus.

If you are contemplating a destination wedding in Mexico, look no further than Hotel Aura Del Mar. If you are searching for accommodation in Zihuatanejo, look no further than Hotel Aura Del Mar. In summary, we highly recommend this hotel to anyone searching for paradise.

Matthew and Jordana

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

From the moment we booked the room, everything was perfect. Carlos, Miguel and the staff made everything perfect. Miguel took care of the champagne and flowers that I asked for to be there upon our arrival. They exceeded my expectations. We booked the transportation from Aura and Carlos and the driver met us at the airport. We stayed in the Master Suite/Mazatlan. The view was incredible. The room amazing. Our balcony had a Jacuzzi (plan for the hot water to take awhile to fill), lounge chairs, deck chairs and a hammock. Each day the staff took care of the room and left us rose petals arranged on the bed.
Things of note--
The pool and beach are very nice and drinks and food can be arranged at either place from the restaurant and bar.
This is more of a boutique hotel, definitely not a large, "party resort". If you're looking for that, go to Ixtapa. This is more of a seaside, Mexican village in Zihuatanejo.
Some have written about the stairs to the beach and restaurant, but are very manageable unless you are very out of shape/injured.
There are many excellent restaurants off premises. El Arrayan is excellent but make sure you go to Tentaciones.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone in a heartbeat.

Stayed: April 2017
5  Thank Curtis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Aura Del Mar was the perfect choice to enjoy the beach, the sun, and the interesting little town of Zihuatenajo. We could walk into town center along the stone boardwalk and always felt safe. The staff at Aura Del Mar was very friendly and helpful. Carlos scheduled a kayak/eco tour that was awesome. Saw many birds and the tour guide Lucio was great. And Carlos set us up with Ita for a cooking class and that was also an amazing experience. She took us through the farmers market. The hotel was clean and beautiful and will be my first choice when we return. Jacqueline at the reception desk was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littlebonnie2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews