We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Golf and swaying palms along the ocean!"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan
Ranked #22 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our round of golf at Estrella Del Mar! This is the best course near Mazatlan hands down. Tees, fairways, and greens are well-kept. And there must be 5 or 6 holes right near the ocean surf! Remote, yes, but worth the 45 minute trip from the Golden Zone. Lunch on the terrace was delicious, the margueritas were strong and flavorful, and all the staff were welcoming and friendly. Go!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bucket2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2016

I stayed at the Estrella del Mar (EDM as they call it) for 6 nights in early November on a first ever visit to Mazatlan. EDM is just a short drive/cab ride (15 minutes) from the airport at the end of the paved road off of highway 15. EDM is actually a large compound dominated by a well maintained golf course, a club house, a resort hotel (where I stayed) and currently 3 phases of 3 story condominiums along with some single family dwellings. The eastern side of the compound is delineated by a roughly 10 ft high stone wall with a single entrance gate that is manned 24/7. The western side is open to the beach. The place is well maintained by the small army of locals who work there. English was not a problem during my stay as everyone there seems to have at least a working level of English. Everyone I ran into was friendly and helpful.

My room was quite spacious made up of essentially two rooms: one large room with the closets, TV and 2 queen sized beds, and a large bathroom with separate sections for a full size bathtub, shower, sink and vanity and toilet. Like is typical in Mexico, stone tile was in abundance throughout. The room was air conditioned as was the hotel and clubhouse.

I ate a lunch and a breakfast at the hotel and a lunch at the clubhouse. I was informed that the cuisine and service had been improved recently due to feedback from the snowbird residents. All of my meals were good and the menu was extensive - so there were many entrees to choose from.

When I was there the place was essentially deserted. Apparently the snowbirds from the northern US and Canada show up later in November and stay through the early part of the next year. No doubt the place would have felt very different had there been other people there.

Because of a very favorable peso to dollar exchange rate (20:1), the cost of the hotel and the restaurants were very reasonable.

Overall: This is a place to go to to get away from it all. On site you can golf, hang out at the pool, wander up and down the long beautiful beach, eat and sleep. Sunsets were truly exceptional. Mazatlan is about a 35 minute drive away. The weather while I was there was apparently unseasonably warm for the first week in November - which meant it was very hot and very humid from 9am to 10pm. I would estimate it was 95 degrees and around 95% humidity. A generous sized hat was mandatory for me as was sunscreen. I was told the weather cools off dramatically in mid to late November.

Room Tip: top floor facing west
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Silicon_Valley_Guy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

Estrella Del Mar is an excellent retirement community. Even if you don't golf, you are surrounded by such beauty...the beach, the sunsets, and a great community of owners from Mexico, Canada, USA and even France. The EDM staff makes everyone feel welcome, we are all like family.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ronpogue907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Our plane got delayed so we had to stay another night.
We picked this place because is relatively close to the airport.
It was a good deal since it is the low season. We had half a day to enjoy the beach. The room is pretty, and the beach was awesome just for us no one there.
Room service is good and very fast. Would definitely come back.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank cindyq09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Wonderful find on Trip Advisor. Near airport with terrific accommodations. Highly recommend. Staff very friendly and are bilingual. We were here in the off season so we virtually had exclusive use of the staff

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank JamesCanbyOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
19.4 km away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#25 of 80 in Mazatlan
65 reviews
23.6 km away
Park Royal Mazatlan
Park Royal Mazatlan
#64 of 80 in Mazatlan
406 reviews
19.2 km away
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
#24 of 80 in Mazatlan
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 km away
Olas Altas Inn
Olas Altas Inn
#46 of 80 in Mazatlan
101 reviews
14.2 km away
Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel
Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel
#17 of 80 in Mazatlan
138 reviews
22.3 km away
Isla Mazatlan Golden Resort
Isla Mazatlan Golden Resort
#27 of 80 in Mazatlan
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan

Address: Camino Isla de la Piedra Km 10, Mazatlan 82267, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mazatlan
#9 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range: $88 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estrella del Mar sits oceanfront on over three and a half miles of secluded beach in Mazatlan, Mexico. Located 10 minutes from the Mazatlan Airport, the 900-acre gated community includes a colonial Mexico-style hotel with a gracious open-air hacienda-like courtyard and features 47 ocean-view and garden-view rooms and 62 one, two and three bedroom condominiums. Both the guestrooms and condominiums feature private balconies and free WiFi. Estrella del Mar features the spectacular 18-hole Robert Trent Jones, Jr. championship golf course that runs along the Pacific Ocean, home of the PGA Tour Latin America. Other amenities and activities include a spa, salon & workout facility, conference & wedding facilities, pools & hot-tubs, restaurants & bars, tennis courts, soccer fields, water sports and a turtle sanctuary and conservation project. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Las Villas Hotel Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing