We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful holiday house in a lovely Yorkshire...”

Review of The Long Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Appleton le Moors, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

EffieBris...
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday house in a lovely Yorkshire village”
Reviewed 25 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We have just returned from a wonderful long weekend in this delightful holiday house. Ian and Jackie have created a beautifully appointed , exceptionally comfortable and tastefully furnished home , sleeping 14 in 7 en suite bedrooms with a long dining table for eating around and a stunning gravelled garden . The weather was so warm and sunny we hardly used the huge sitting room or games room.
There are beautiful walks on the doorstep. We walked to Lastingham along the valley with a drink at The Blacksmiths Arms and back across the fields.
We had a celebratory Sunday lunch for my mother’s 90th birthday at the Moors Inn- excellent value and friendly helpful staff .
For a family get together in our case four generations ( 90 to 9 months) the Long Barn was an ideal holiday house.
Thank you Ian and Jackie for a great weekend.

Date of stay: July 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveHWort...
Worthing, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply the Best!”
Reviewed 22 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Long Barn totally exceeded our very high expectations. It was a superb experience, from start to finish, with everything totally geared for our comfort and needs, no matter how trivial. We find it staggering that Ian & Jackie have brought their dream to reality in such a wonderful way and we unhesitatingly congratulate them on such an awesome achievement.

The attention to detail, the flair and eye for visual harmony are evident throughout the Long Barn. What a stupendous property & what joy it brought to us all! From the little ones to the oldies, we were all in our element.

The human aspect is always at the forefront too, as shown by the exceptional welcome pack & departure goodies. No long lists of rules and no security deposits lead to trust and a feeling of being treated as friends rather than visitors. Jackie and Ian have got everything just right!

The exceptional local pubs have been rightly mentioned in other reviews. Nearby Sinnington provided one highlight for the children - a great value and extremely well run riding lesson.
We will never forget our wonderful week at the Long Barn and certainly intend to return in the future.

Date of stay: May 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jem34500i...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic spot”
Reviewed 1 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

The Long Barn is a stunning place to stay. Luxurious and restful the owners have thought of everything. The village has a great pub and great food and you can start walking straight from the front door. I could not recommend it more highly and with a big separate leisure room / barn that converts into meeting space it would also be ideal for small business retreats.

Date of stay: April 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraCorma...
Bonnyrigg, United Kingdom
1 review
“STUNNING PROPERTY!”
Reviewed 4 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

What is there not to like about the Long Barn?
Stunning accommodation in a beautiful location with fantastic owners who have paid attention to every detail.
Thank you so much for letting us have a wonderful Easter on mass with the family at The Long Barn. Happy adults, happy kids and a happy dog!
Would highly recommend this property.

Date of stay: March 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazey69
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“5 star”
Reviewed 3 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

A group of 11 stayed here for a hen weekend. The accommodation is sooooooo luxurious. All bedrooms have an ensuite. Toiletries are made available. The beds are so comfortable and the pillows are so full. The kitchen is amazing. More than enough crockery, cutlery and glassware. Cocktail glasses and shaker are available. The dining area is perfect for large groups. In the living room are a number of couches and tables. The log burner is a lovely touch. We lit it. This is such a huge property however it was remarkably warm. Hot water aplenty too. The games room is fantastic and the mezzanine area in it is a lovely extra. The welcome hamper was a lovely touch; the sloe gin went down particularly well.
All 11 of us could have stayed a lot longer and will definitely be returning.

Date of stay: February 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.