We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unprecedented Thailand Experience with Andaman Sky”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Alice

Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool
front view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
57 reviews
Pool
front view
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Ao Nang, Krabi Town, Krabi Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Bryson B
Pyeongtaek, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unprecedented Thailand Experience with Andaman Sky”
Reviewed 16 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Andaman Sky comes highly recommended from my wife and I. We traveled to Thailand from Korea (US military) with two other couples and had the time of our life. As for booking trips through Andaman Adventures, they were so very helpful. I can't stress enough how convenient everything was to include transportation along the southern coast. We spent 2 nights in Phuket at Sewasdee Village that was absolutely beautiful. There was a van waiting for us at the airport. From then on, the transportation was incredibly seamless from place to place in really high quality vans with entertainment, A/C, etc. We were very impressed with the friendliness and English-speaking abilities of the drivers. We then went North to Khao Sok national park that was amazing staying at the tree house resort. We followed that up with 2 nights at the Paradise Resort on wonderful Koh Yao Noi island. We finished up at the Villa Alice run by Simon himself of Andaman Sky. The villa is absolutely breathtaking. The mediterranean architechture and floorplan is relaxing in itself. We housed 3 married couples (late 20's - no kids) and were completely comfortable for 4 whole nights. The location is awesome because it's completely out away from everything and you literally have the house to yourself. The pool and backyard is beautiful considering that your view is "Bedroom Wall", an amazing rock face formation so native to Thailand. The amenities were more than we expected and Simon even had 3 huge water jugs for us to drink from....honestly we drank from the faucets and it was fine. We cooked breakfast a few times and had everything we needed. We rented 3 scooters for our duration and it was perfect. We could come and go as we please and it's was tons of fun rolling down the boulevard with your 2 best friends and the girls on the back. I've read a few other reviews on this site and DO NOT agree with some of the accusations regarding the customer service of Andaman and, in particular, Simon. Simon is a wonderful guy who is so very passionate about Southeast Asia. He even has a book published about traveling SEA. He's extremely knowledgeable and quite personable. The thing that sold the trip was the customer service for us....it was all done by email!!!! I mean go look at his website, www.andamanadventures.com, and see if all your questions aren't answered right on the page. Every link has more link and more pictures...the website is very informative and easy to navigate. All in all, we plan to return to Thailand before we leave our Korea assignment....it's that good! Simon and Jan come highly highly highly recommended! We've passed words to all of our military friends back in Korea and hope to send some vacation packages Simon's way. Additionally I've read comments about the ants and bugs in and around the house....Hi, welcome to Thailand! I'm pretty sure it's a tropical environment where 80% of the worlds plant and animal life happens to exist. We saw millions of ants but none were a factor for us. We saw a lot of geckos inside and outside the house....very very interesting creatures! The beds and linens were extremely clean and, in fact, Simon had the maid show up every other day which was perfect. If you're looking for a vacation package that calls for little to no thinking, Andaman has the right one for you! Guaranteed trip of your life!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and View
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent N
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“paradise”
Reviewed 10 June 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Villa Alice is great value (the cost was, I believe, ridiculously low for what I got), immaculate and is a wonderful and spacious villa. It is off the beaten track a little so gives guests lots of privacy (perfect privacy actually as from nowhere can you be overlooked, including whilst skinny-dipping in the pool). It is very light and airy with quiet air-cons in the bedrooms and fans dotted around elsewhere. The pool is great for chilling out and is big enough to let you swim and play games or just float around on an air mattress (beer in hand).



The shuttle service (a great guy called Karim looked after this) worked fine, it was nice not to drive anywhere for over a week, it’s a real aid to unwinding. No taxis were needed, which is just as well, because they wouldn’t have found the place. The maid Nan, the pool cleaner and the gardener kept the villa spotless during our stay, regularly changing the bedding and providing fresh towels and ice as part of the service. Jan from Andaman Sky (the owners) is a great guy, really helpfull. It was a great holiday and one we hope to do again sometime. Villa Alice is a great way to relax and is well equipped with quality fittings and furnishings, highly recommended. The best things were the comfort, complete privacy, mountain views, tranquility and Asian ambience.

Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FKSG
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nice villa, poor management”
Reviewed 4 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Stayed at this property over Easter 2012 with my family who were visiting from the UK.

Living in SE Asia I knew that booking a private villa would be a cost effective and more enjoyable way to spend our break in Krabi than staying at a hotel. In terms of price the villa was great and offered exactly what we needed. The pool was nice, it had indoor and outdoor areas for us to sit and socialise and the size was perfect for the six of us. The tuk tuk driver was spot on and the little extra cost was well worth it. He arrived on time and couldn't have been any more useful. The villa is a little remote from the town so other tuk tuks or taxis will probably have no idea where it is. That is not a complaint (those are coming) because we loved the location and getting about with Kareem to assist us was easy. Our only issues arose with the management of the property:

1. Upon our arrival on the Friday, Simon told us that he also ran a tourism business and could assist us with trips in and around the area. He helpfully showed us all the different options and we were left to ponder over them. He promised us that all we had to do was call him before 6pm the night before and we would be good to go the next day. We decided that we would like to do the Phi Phi islands trip the next day and called him before 6, as instructed. He then called back to say that the boat was full and this was not possible. It was Easter weekend, however, so we accepted that it could be busy. Simon then guaranteed we would be booked on the Sunday. Again he could not deliver. He told us that there were other similar trips offered by other companies in Ao Nang but he "would not recommend any of them". Of course he wouldn't! In the end we decided to go with another company and had a tremendous day touring the islands. Highly recommended. There were other complicated issues such as paying online (for trips he couldn't get us on) but we'll let that pass. Had Simon been a shrewd businessman then he could have sent all this information in advance and we could have been organised long before we arrived. Unnecessary hassle which I have not experienced staying at any other villa in SE Asia where I have found the service superb.

2. The villa was not clean on our arrival. One room was a mosquito graveyard and there were ants feasting on a dead gecko INSIDE the house. It was very obvious that the house hadn't been cleaned for quite some time. To us, it seemed that the villa may have been cleaned when the last people left and not been done again for a number of weeks. There was supposedly an option to have a cleaner and even a cook in for the night (something I have done a few times elsewhere) but these things were not even offered to us by Simon.

3. Kitchen utensils were poor. The hot water contraption was filthy and we ended up boiling water on the cooker which was far from ideal. Again, the dishes etc seemed dirty and we washed them all before use. The toaster is a health hazard with a boiling metal strip at the top which could cause serious damage to someone.

Overall, we had a fantastic trip to Krabi and I would recommend it to anyone. The villa itself is perfect for 6 adults and you could easily have a couple of kids in there too. The points I made above were unfortunate but did not spoil our fun. As I said, I have been to many different villas in SE Asia and have always been really impressed. This time, I certainly couldn't say the service was first rate but the holiday was.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size, pool, location
Liked least: Customer service (or lack thereof)
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana P
Kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“beats any hotel for the price”
Reviewed 1 March 2012 for a stay in December 2011

This one is also about the latest vacation we did with our kids, last december. We followed the advice of our travel agent and stayed in Ao Nang for 2 weeks before going to our luxury hotel down south (on Koh Lanta). Its true that this little beachtown is THE starting point for countless daytrips. We were here for 2 weeks but it felt like we hadn't seen and done half of what is out there !

I was getting a big headache choosing between all these villas that all look so perfect, i have to give a thumbs up to our travel agent for selecting this one for us - it was soo much cheaper than staying in any hotel in that region !
about the villa : I felt like we were at home but with full on sunshine and nice warm temperatures. This villa is about 3 kms (my guess) to the beach "Nopparat Thara" (we found it too far to walk and we used the villa’s shuttle service to get around). This beach is a few kilometers from Ao Nang’s main beach and is much more quiet and Thai-style – little boys play football, people search for seafood at low tide, Thai people take a dip almost fully clothed, and there is a superb seafood restaurant where the locals all go to eat -- the food is sooo tasty !! We've stopped following the tourists, now we follow the locals, they always know the best places in town.
The villa was very clean and totally private, it was quiet and airy. There's a maid who's a good cook and she cooked us some dinners, we onlyt paid a bit extra, so that's a good suggestion i think. We also liked the pool with the jacuzzi jets and nighttime underwater lighting, great fun !
oh yeah the travel agent was called Andaman Sky, i can't think of their website name right now but i'm sure they're on google.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the big swimming pool with the jets
Liked least: the gecko's that come out at night .. we were told they're everywhere in Krabi province, apparently you can't eliminate them or spray against them ... ?
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
23Kristen...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Plenty of space to enjoy ourselves”
Reviewed 3 February 2012 for a stay in January 2012

We just stayed at Villa Alice for our first overseas trip. The accommodation was great, with 5 of us there was still plenty of room to all enjoy ourselves. It was a great bonus having our own pool. It was about 10 minutes from Ao nang but we organised the tuk tuk service and that worked well. Had a few issues with the TV but nothing major. Would definately go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Having our own pool, and the attention to detail by the cleaner (esp the towel decorations)
Liked least: Hard mattress
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing