We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (918)
Filter reviews
918 results
Traveller rating
735
129
33
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
735
129
33
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden room orford ness ruth watson steak and kidney pie wine list fresh milk carpaccio dog treats restaurant with rooms oysters main building marmalade biscuits dog owners local produce superb food comfortable rooms
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 918 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2018

We were looking for a hotel to go with our dog, Elllie
This hotel is wonderful there are special beautiful chalets with everything for us and Ellie.
The riooms are comfortable and quiet backing onto the garden.The food is excellent as is the service.
The staff are so helpful.nothing is too much trouble.
We will definitely be going back! And would highly recommend it.

Room tip: If you have a dog definitely the chalet
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelaquaintrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim S, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2018

We are so pleased that you, and Ellie, enjoyed your stay. Thank you very much for all the kind comments about comfortable quiet rooms, excellent food and helpful staff. We hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018

Well furnished and warm room, with very good ensuite facilities. The bar and restaurant areas are tastefully decorated and benefits from a lovely wood burner that helps create a relaxing atmosphere. The food was excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful. We will visit again.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim S, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are very happy that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and that you will be visiting again. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

We booked this hotel for a relaxing weekend with my brother & sister in law. My brother is disabled so we needed a ground floor room & although the room provided was not strictly a disabled room, it was perfect. The staff were wonderful & very attentive & the breakfasts & dinners were superb. The hotel is charming & in a perfect location & the bedroom was roomy with a big comfortable bed & pristine bathroom.

Room tip: Garden rooms are great value for money with their own patio & direct access to the garden
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Climber818735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim S, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Thank you very for restoring our faith in what we try to do! We are so glad you all enjoyed your stay, particularly the service, food and comfortable bedroom and bathroom. We hope to welcome you back soon and, in the meantime, thank you again for taking the time to post such a nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018

Had a very poor stay here. The food was nowhere near as good as it's priced at, several of the staff looked unhappy - surly in one case, the bed was extremely uncomfortable (way too 'bouncy'), there was no air-con and the room was very hot and also noisy, as we had to leave the window open so the road noise (early morning farm traffic especially) was very noticeable. In addition, hygiene/cleanliness left a lot to be desired as there was gunk of some sort & hairs in the shower cubicle and in the bathroom. The waitress at dinner and breakfast removed things from the table several times without checking we had finished (she was the surly one). We had taken advantage of a discount room rate which included two dinners - well one night was ruined by starting with the seafood platter - just awful. The main courses were good but not 'wow'. This "restaurant with rooms" self-applied tag is disingenuous - if it was labelled as a hotel then the lack of any facilities would be questionable. No toiletries replaced. Very small tv. Very inflated prices for what you get - especially wine/drinks. We stayed here seven years earlier but it has gone downhill since then. We will not be returning.

Room tip: Choose rooms away from the road
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim S, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

We are very sorry to hear how little you enjoyed your stay. Some of it is very surprising, e.g. the normally highly applauded smoked fish plate and customer service. We have been in touch, as you know, and can only repeat that we are sorry so much of what we do was not to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018

This is a hotel /restaurant in the charming village of Orford on the suffolk coast. The ambience and decor is perfect. The staff are very attentive and well organised. The food is local seasonal and delicious. The price is very reasonable given the high quality. Have eaten here twice in a week which speaks volumes. High recommended.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim S, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Thank you so much for your rave review about our food, staff and service. Good produce is not cheap as anyone who shops will know. Thank you, too, for acknowledging our prices are 'very reasonable given the high quality.' We are immensely grateful – and hope to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews