We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic little hideaway”
other travellers have booked this property
interior detail
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
interior detail
four poster bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
interior detail
four poster bed
interior detail
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Barton, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

niiklar
Hoylake, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic little hideaway”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 2 nights following our wedding at the Cock O' Barton, it was absolutely perfect.
My husband was allowed to check in early to drop off his bag and get the keys.
We chose to make the short walk over the road, walking down the lanes was so romantic! Walking up the driveway I didn't really know where I was to be staying, but I knew it was perfect a soon as I opened the door. The night had turned chilly after a relatively clear day but inside the cottage was warm and welcoming. All the furnishings were comfortable and the bath amazing. The breakfast left for us was great and plentiful.
In the daylight we could appreciate this little hideaway even more, the setting was idyllic, with horses at your doorstep and a lovely covered decking area for barbecues and late night wine supping.
Graham and Chris were perfect hosts, very friendly and knowledgeable with a big adorable dog Lenny!!
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return for our anniversary! It really is the perfect base for exploring Cheshire and North Wales.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosiness
Liked least: The spiders
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayss...
swadlincote
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cosy and comfortable lovely property”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Barton Bank for 3nights. On arrival, we were welcomed by Chris and showed us around this delightful property. The welcome breakfast pack included a variation of cereals,croissants, bread,milk cheese, jams, marmalade and a variance of supplies in the cupboard which more than lasted our stay. Both Chris and Graham are really nice and very helpful. If you want a lovely break and would like to visit Chirk Castle, Erdigg House, Llangollen, Wrexham, Chester they are all within a 30 minute drive. The area is very beautiful, and we would recommend this property wholeheartedly. It's a gem!!!

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakelandB...
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy and Peaceful cottage to get away from it all.”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely little cottage remote enough to get away from it all. But close enough to feel part of civilisation!
Stayed 4 nights and ate out each night. Can highly recommend Grosvenor arms at nearby Alford. Wife particularly liked the roll top bath!

Date of stay: May 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuddyRedW...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing night away in a charming little cottage”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed at Barton bank cottage for one night with my boyfriend. Had a lovely time, we braved the weather and had a BBQ! Would defiantly recommend, owners are very friendly and the breakfast hamper is very generous! X

Date of stay: April 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky A
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Couldn't have asked for a better break. Excellent location for city visits and countryside. Enjoyed meals out at local pubs recommended by the helpful owners.

Date of stay: March 2014
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.