We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely Day

We visited Wimpole to do the Easter Egg trail with my 2 year old. It was a trail where you read... read more

Reviewed 31 March 2021
KarenS167
,
Peterborough, United Kingdom
via mobile
Loved the estate, farm and gardens

Visited Wimpole Estate and loved it. Everything was very well looked after. The one way system was... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
michaelak837
via mobile
Read all 1,156 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Arrington
from US$11.32
More Info
from US$16.69
More Info
from US$27.59
More Info
from US$52.70
More Info
Reviews (1,156)
Filter reviews
1,156 results
Traveller rating
546
418
98
40
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
546
418
98
40
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walled garden national trust home farm stable block formal gardens rudyard kipling overflow car park nt members shire horses the main house drawing room non members beautiful house second hand bookshop room guides extensive grounds ticket office
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,156 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2021

The National Trust have ruined what was a lovely day out. You used to be able park in the car park and pay a parking charge which was around £5 and wander around the estate. You paid more if you wanted to go round the gardens / farm / house. Now the fee is £10 per person to enter the estate no differential for different parts, so just to go for an amble for 2 people has more than quadrupled in price in a couple of years. The new visitor entrance looks hideous as does the car park totally out of keeping with the estate and the staff we encountered were rude and unpleasant. This seems to be the norm now for the National Trust and this has put us off going to their sites in the future.

Date of experience: March 2021
2  Thank Alun J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2021 via mobile

We visited Wimpole to do the Easter Egg trail with my 2 year old. It was a trail where you read signs so she was a little young for it but she enjoyed the walk. The gardens are lovely with lots of spring flowers to enjoy. We picked brilliant weather which helped! All Covid safe.

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank KarenS167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2021

We made two very enjoyable visits to Wimpole Estate in March. Its the only National Trust property that is local to us and we wanted to make the most of the good weather.

There is a lot to see in the gardens and grounds at Wimpole in March. There are large plantings of Daffodils - the highlight. These are in front of the parterre and the garden to the west, which has large yew trees. They give a splash of colour out to the view of the estate and folly beyond. The pleasure grounds to the west of the entrance also have drifts of daffodils. There are lots of types of daffodil planted and there were still some varieties still to come out. Planted in with them are other spring flowers including snow flakes, primroses, hyacinths and scilla. In the walled garden where it is warmer, there is some blossom coming out on the fruit trees and some early tulips. The gardeners do a fantastic job and we had a chat to them from a distance as they put up the wigwams for climbing beans.

The garden takes about 2-3 hours to look around thoroughly. After that there are a number of walks to try. On our first visit we explored the lakes and ruin. On our second we walked on the new multi-user trail past the Woodyard and Cobb's Wood Farm to get some fine views over the countryside.

All visitors need to pre-book tickets to visit the gardens and pleasure grounds. Note the Stables area, home farm and the play area are closed. The old rectory cafe next to the church is open until 3pm with a limited range of hot drinks and snacks. There are more seats around the corner outside the church. There are also toilets open at the visitors centre when you arrive and at the house (stables closed). People have complained in this column about the parking.... It has made it easier for visitors to arrive and check tickets/ membership cards without any crowding. The previous system of checking tickets from a cabin near the Rectory cafe would have been difficult to mange. With hindsight a good choice.

Date of experience: March 2021
1  Thank AlinaRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2021

We have enjoyed visiting Wimpole on many occasions over the years; it is a beautiful estate. However, there is now a very stark new car park some distance from the stables and house, with quite a long walk on a tarmac path from the car park to the stables (via a rather ugly new entrance building), house and parkland. This path, although reasonably wide, has the potential to become quite a crowded and slow-moving two-way bottleneck on a busy day, especially when there are large families with young children, buggies, pushchairs etc. using it.

There are a couple of benches along the new path, but all the other benches and picnic tables near the stables, house and in the parkland have been removed. My mother (in her seventies) has enjoyed walking around the estate up towards the folly many times, but this time found it very hard work and tiring to do so without anywhere to sit, and also having to do the long walk from and then back to the car park.

Date of experience: February 2021
2  Thank Ste_Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2021

As NT members of 30+ years, and having visited Wimpole, our nearest NT property hundreds of times , we were very disappointed to learn that tickets for a walk round the park land were 'sold out' for today and the entire weekend. How is 'sold out' determined? Wimpole park comprises 3000+ acres of open land, not buildings, no confined spaces, no restricted footpaths, not even any benches to sit on any more. It is easy to maintain a COVID-safe distance from other people.
We visited a couple of weeks ago with our daughter and were surprised by the £10 charge for her to just walk round the park.
Surely during this pandemic, the NT should be going out of it's way to enable access to this sort of place when people really need it, not making it as difficult as possible.

Having read the many negative reviews from others on this site, I only hope that the NT and Wimpole do the same, and take notice.

Very disappointed with what used to be one of our favourite places.

Date of experience: February 2021
2  Thank EddieWendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews