We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MTB Adventure on Queen Charlotte Track”

Sea Kayak Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
US$68.43*
and up
Half-Day Guided Sea Kayaking Tour from Anakiwa
More Info
US$95.04*
and up
Full-Day Guided Sea Kayaking Trip from Anakiwa
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Anakiwa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Bjert, Denmark
1 review
“MTB Adventure on Queen Charlotte Track”
Reviewed 11 February 2017

I have thoroughly enjoyed my two day MTB trip on the Queen Charlotte Track. The track is not highly technical for the experienced rider, but it does require a certain level of fitness to get up the steepest inclines. The climbing is definitely worth the sweat as the most stunning views of the Marlborough Sounds await on top.

My trip was organised by Sea Kayak Adventures, and I could not have asked for better service from Nat and Aaron. They provided a great Specialized Stumpjumper MTB for rental, and took care of road transport, ferry transport, luggage transfer, and accommodation. I enjoyed it to the extent that I decided to stay another day in Anakiwa to do a guided kayak tour with Sea Kayak Adventures tomorrow. '
/Vagn Pedersen

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank VagnPedersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sprat89, Owner at Sea Kayak Adventures, responded to this review, 27 March 2017
HI Vagn, stoked you enjoyed this awesome track we live next to. The views definitely make up for the hard work you put in. The kayak trip finishes off seeing the Sounds from all angles. Thanks for taking the time to review. Cheers Nat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morton, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Three day independent kayaking ”
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

Aaron and his partner were super helpful and cautious. We rented a double for three days. Aaron spent a lot of time with us helping us understand the route options and the weather and wind patterns. We chose to wait two days to start until a system passed though. Aaron would not even have let us go out, I believe, because of predicted winds. It was still windy when we did start, but because wind was from the south, we were protected by the south shore and then pushed north across the sound and into a northern arm to a camping area. Day 2 was still windy from the south. We didn't want to fight it, so we spent the day walking on the Queen Charlotte track and side trails then went out in the evening. Day 3 was perfect!

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Aprilandfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sprat89, Owner at Sea Kayak Adventures, responded to this review, 27 March 2017
Hi April and Fred, thanks for taking the time to review us. Glad that you had a good time out there and were able to explore the Queen Charlotte Track too. Cheers Nat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Annual sea kayak adventure”
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Just completed a three day / 2 night sea kayak trip with Sea Kayak Adventure and TOTALLY recommend. (6th Feb 2017)

Two dads and two children under 12 on our annual trip and once again Sea Kayak Adventures, Nat and Aaron made the trip awesome, easy to arrange and fantastic customer experience.
This year we left Anakiwa and paddled Queen Charlotte sound with our guide Daryl had learnt so much about the local area and history, his cooking was great and at all times safety was taken care off. Thanks Daryl.
Nat's Muffins..... Yummy, after a good morning kayaking. I recommend you request some on your own trip.
Thanks Nat and Aaron, will see you next year.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Sean954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sprat89, Owner at Sea Kayak Adventures, responded to this review, 10 February 2017
Hi Sean, thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We really do appreciate it. Im glad that you enjoyed your trip ....and the muffins. Daryl has done really well with his interp so it's nice to hear that from you. It is nice to be able to get you out and about in the Sounds. We look forward to seeing you again next year. Cheers Nat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Half day tour in Marlborough Sound”
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

We had a terrific half day paddling with Sea Kayak Adventures. The setting is stunning and SKA were well organised and equipped. Good to have an initial safety briefing where you book in and then on the water very efficiently. We had a guide with us for our tour with two kids (8&9) and this made the day. Great banter, interesting facts and a beautiful day. Can't ask for better than that!

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sprat89, Owner at Sea Kayak Adventures, responded to this review, 10 February 2017
HI Andrew, thanks for taking the time to review us. We do try and keep the boring bits to a minimum so you can have more time on the water, enjoying yourselves. Glad you enjoyed having the guide around. Cheers Nat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“GREAT AFTERNOON”
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Fantastic afternoon trip in double kayaks in some beautiful surroundings. Jeremy explained the instructions / health & safety with ease and we all felt informed for a great paddle on the water. Thanks Jeremy for the on-going commentary throughout the trip about what we were paddling through and what was around us; very knowledgeable likeable guy. Thanks again for an awesome time. Cheers Kieran.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank kandjhurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sprat89, Owner at Sea Kayak Adventures, responded to this review, 10 February 2017
Hi Kieran, stoked you had a great afternoon with Jeremy. His experience really does show in his work and we are very lucky yo have him here. Thanks for taking the time to review us. Cheers Nat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sea Kayak Adventures also viewed

 
Picton, Marlborough Region
Havelock, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Sea Kayak Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing