We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful day on the Sounds.”

Sea Kayak Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
US$88.63*
and up
Full-Day Guided Sea Kayaking Trip from Anakiwa
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Anakiwa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Lubbeek, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful day on the Sounds.”
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We spent a lazy day kayaking on the sounds. Beautiful! Our guide provided details about the flora and fauna present in the sounds, while also telling us the story how Kiwi lost his wings.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank MayraK728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sprat89, Owner at Sea Kayak Adventures, responded to this review, 10 February 2017
Hi Mayra, thanks for taking the time to review us. We appreciate it. It sounds like you had a pretty epic trip with lots of Maori legends being told. Stoked! Cheers Nat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best guides and experience”
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Jeremy, our guide, was phenomenal. He led the six of us over a three day tour of the sounds and couldn't have been a more knowledgable guide about flora and fauna. He was incredibly experienced and supportive of our various skill levels. I couldn't recommend this place any higher!

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sprat89, Owner at Sea Kayak Adventures, responded to this review, 10 February 2017
Hi Roxanne, thanks so much for taking the time to review us. Jeremy has picked up so much in a short space of time and with his solid guiding experience, he can make everyone feel settled in kayaks. Awesome! Cheers Nat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skopelos, Greece
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great afternoon on the water”
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

The communication through email was easy and we were booked up in no time.
We met Aaron at their base where he gave us the low down on the area, safety info and suggestions of where to paddle.
The weather was perfect and we were lucky enough to spot a sting ray swimming beneath our kayaks.
Over all a great experience, Aaron and Nat know their stuff and pitched the info to our level, I hope to come back and do one of their longer trips next time!

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank Gardenorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sprat89, Owner at Sea Kayak Adventures, responded to this review, 23 December 2016
HI Neil and Yvonne, Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback, we really appreciate it. We are stoked that you enjoyed your afternoon and got to see a stingray! We look forward to seeing you again in the future - hopefully in Greece! Cheers Nat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth the Drive!”
Reviewed 17 November 2016

Sea Kayak Adventures is worth the 30 minute drive from Picton (many of the other companies we looked at left from the Picton Harbor) for both the beautiful launch in to the sound and for the service. For our half-day paddle, our guide Jeremy was so great, he has been the most knowledgeable guide and we've had in our three weeks on the south island. 100% would recommend.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank AllieB44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sprat89, Owner at Sea Kayak Adventures, responded to this review, 23 December 2016
Hi Allie, thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback. Yes we would agree that Jeremy has picked up the interpretation very quickly and has a great way of delivering that knowledge. We are glad that you thought the drive was worth it, it just adds to the adventure with a scenic drive first. Cheers Nat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Perfect way to experience the queen charlotte sound”
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Sea Kayak Adventures were a pleasure to deal with. They made all the logistics easy - well worth spending the extra cash to have pick ups, drop offs, boats, passes and accomodation organised - plus gear and luggage waiting for us at each location. Great idea to split the 3 days into 3 different activities - walk, bike, kayak. Made the trip much more of an adventure. Most others we met along the way were either walking or biking the whole track, which wouldn't have been as fun. The bikes and kayaks plus gear were all top quality and well serviced. I loved my bike - super light and easy to operate gears. Aaron gave a terrific briefing before the kayak leg - we remembered all the tips and tricks and had no problems along the way.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank Chanel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sprat89, Owner at Sea Kayak Adventures, responded to this review, 23 December 2016
Hi Chanel and Che, thanks for taking the time to review us. The 3 day combo is a fantastic way to see the Sounds from all perspectives - Im glad that you agree! Cheers Nat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sea Kayak Adventures also viewed

 
Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Sea Kayak Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing