We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Date Night”

The Royal Oak Whatlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$18
Cuisines: Greek, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Charming and full of character 15th Century Inn, dating back to 1490. Situated at the heart of the village of Whatlington, on the A21, just a few minutes outside Battle and the seaside town of Hastings. With a wealth of original features including the large inglenook fireplace, the 80ft indoor well, quirky oldie-worldly interior and private large beer garden, The Royal Oak is the perfect place to meet up with friends and family. With a passion for good food, specialising in Greek cuisine and many popular international dishes, the Royal Oak offers a great venue for a quiet meal, family day out or a special event, in its stunning Function Room. Children are welcome and can be entertained at the indoor and outdoor play areas.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just WOW.

We came here for our date night of the month, and so pleased we did.

The food was cooked and plated to perfection. We was served by Neil the Landlord himself and nothing was to much trouble. We had Greek Mains which was amazing. Just like being there!

Can’t wait to return for Steak on the Stone and the Sunday Roast.

Thank you again.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank myfamily66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2021

I wasn't going to write a review because I don't like moaning, but after reading all the fantastic reviews I couldn't help myself.

Me and my family were quite disappointed, if truth be told. We had high hopes that the Greek theme might offer some nice authentic Greek food.
Unfortunately it all turned out to be rather mediocre.

For starters, the vine leaves were too sour and very soppy. Followed by a chicken skewer that was dry and was lacking taste. The side salad was basic and not subtle. Then the pastry filled with spinach, this had a strong, over-powering taste which became quite unpleasant after two bites.
Finally, the baklava. Again, it lacked any form of subtlety, the pastry was hard and chewy, it wasn't marinated, just covered in loads of honey.

In conclusion, if you're looking for real Greek food, the Royal Oak is not the place for you.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank berg3452021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Owner at The Royal Oak Whatlington, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear customer, thank you for taking the time to write such detailed comments. We are very proud of our food. As you can see from previous reviews customers mostly give us great feedback for our food and service. The dishes you mentioned in your review are some of our top sellers, for which customers come back over and over. The baklava in particular, is imported from Greece, so it can't be any more authentic. It is a shame you did not enjoy your meal, we feel deeply hurt by your comments. We believe that our customers know that our food is authentic and true to our Greek and Cypriot roots, and not the usual imitations that perhaps you are used to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2021 via mobile

Not what we had envisaged for our Sunday lunch originally but handy for our disappointing visit to Great Dixter Gardens. We arrived a little earlier than our pre booked time but were shown to our table. The mini meze starter was excellent. Beautiful good quality warmed pitta breads, juicy, sweet tomato and excellent Cypriot sausage. A bonus was the swift and efficient service as we were hungry having had no breakfast. Main course was Moussaka for me and Spanokopitta for him. Both were excellent, well cooked, superb quality ingredients (especially the exceptional feta cheese). It's been ages since I've eaten Greek but this was a reminder about how delicious and flavoursome and healthy the food is. The accompanying Spitfire lager shandies were just the ticket. Overall I would highly recommend.

We had the added novelty of being seated next to the well inside the building which, thankfully has a grille over the top of it to stop hapless customers falling in because once you're down there you're not getting out easily. It was very deep!

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank Clairebear466
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Owner at The Royal Oak Whatlington, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2021

Hello Claire, thank you so much for your lovely review. So glad you enjoyed your visit with us and especially our Greek food. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2021

Lovely food, a great greek menu even during the week, very lovely host, great service even though we were the last customers by a long way and the England game was on
Would recommend and if we were staying in the area longer would definitely return!

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank Libby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Owner at The Royal Oak Whatlington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2021

Hello Libby, thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your meal and experience with us. Hope to see you back at our pub again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2021

We visited on Friday evening and it was fantastic. Friendly, efficient service and the food was very nice. We shared a mixed platter and drank wine and it was relaxed and I would highly recommend. We will be back!

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank KatieWD8325IR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Owner at The Royal Oak Whatlington, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2021

Hello Katie, thank you so much for your lovely review. We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Oak Whatlington also viewed

Sedlescombe, East Sussex
Battle, East Sussex
 
Battle, East Sussex
Netherfield, Battle
 

Been to The Royal Oak Whatlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.