We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Harbour Cottage aptly named”
other travellers have booked this property
Cosy and Comfortable Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy and Comfortable Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Cosy and Comfortable Lounge
Dining room, easily seats six
Spacious Master Bedroom
With Kingsize and Single Beds
Double bedroom with feature fireplace
Picturesque and tranquil Findochty
There is always a warm welcome at Harbour Cottage
Dramatic coastal location
The harbour is still used by lobster fishermen
The stunning view from the private patio
Whisky distilleries within easy reach
North East coastline rated 11th in the world by National Geographic!
Fantastic sunsets over the Moray Firth
The castle trail is near by
Safe sheltered beach 5 minutes walk away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Buckie, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Evelyn B
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Harbour Cottage aptly named”
Reviewed 15 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

This was my third visit to Harbour cottage a comfortable,cosy clean cottage in the small fishing village of Findochty. An ideal location for visiting the Moray coast area. A warm welcome awaits from Ian and Ishbel as well as a small food starter pack which was appreciated. The children in our party liked the village, exploring the rock pools, and walking along to Strathlene looking out for dolphins and seals. Spey Bay, the Aquarium at Macduff, Bowl 2000 Elgin worth a visit. Good ice cream and fish and chips in Cullen. Boyndie Visitor Centre do good lunches. If the weather is good you can sit outside and enjoy the harbour and some lovely sunsets.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wood burning stove .
Liked least: might be good to have a breakfast bar in the kitchen to take advantage of harbour view
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L
Buckie, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Lovely cottage, fabulous view, lovely place”
Reviewed 16 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We are biased as this is our very favourite part of Scotland, the north east coast is so beautiful made so much better when your accommodation is of a high standard. Harbour Cottage is warm, welcoming and comfortable - the wood burning stove a real feature. The cottage is well appointed with all the creature comforts. The village of Findochty is perfectly placed for all tastes, shopping in Aberdeen (my favourite city) and Inverness and a number of small villages close by with local produce, try Huntly market the first Saturday in the month. Alternatively outdoors for walking and dolphin watching the choice is amazing. Spey Bay worth visiting for the dolphin centre. We will be back at some point as we are walking the Speyside Kiltwalk on 1st September all 26 miles of it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the wood burner
Liked least: Downstairs bathroom - but saying that the room is finished to an extremely high standard.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucketlis...
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great cottage with everything you could need, overlooking a beautiful harbour”
Reviewed 8 March 2013 for a stay in August 2012

We have stayed at Harbour cottage twice and thoroughly enjoyed both stays. The owners are very helpful and accommodating and the cottage is spacious and very well equipped with everything you might need. We ate in a lot to make the most of the locally caught fresh fish and this was easy given the variety of kitchen equipment. The cottage is lovely and peaceful and we had no trouble sleeping. Our favourite feature is the view and having a coffee (or something stronger!) looking out over the harbour in the garden - watching the world go by. The local people are also very friendly. There's lots to do - walking and whiskey distilleries greatly enjoyed by us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and views.
Liked least: Having to come home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet W
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Harbour Cottage is a comfortable and clean in a peaceful location.”
Reviewed 4 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

The cottage is well equiped with everything you need for a self catering holiday. Comfortable and clean in a peaceful location with a lovely view from the kitchen window. A generous welcome pack was provided and much appreciated. We particularly liked the large and relaxing main bedroom with a kingside bed. Lounge is small but cosy with a wood burning stove (sticks supplied free of charge). Enjoyed walk along coastal path to Cullen via Port Knockie (10+ miles return trip).
We would certainly go back for a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location.
Liked least: Toilet downstairs but bedrooms upstairs.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julie l
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location, attentive owners, fabulous locals, the best view ... What more do you need ?!?”
Reviewed 2 March 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We were at the cottage for Christmas. It was beautiful. The owners put up some festive decorations and we were very happy. Lots of firewood available and we were left to our privacy; just as we like it. The locals that we met were very friendly.
You can't go wrong here, it's a lovely holiday cottage.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing