We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“FABULOUS”

Review of The Blair

The Blair
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Blair
View from The Blair with patio area in corner of the garden. Cosy double ground floor bedroom.  Bedlinen and curtains would be changed for male guests.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
The Blair
View from The Blair with patio area in corner of the garden.
Cosy double ground floor bedroom.  Bedlinen and curtains would be changed for male guests.
The Living room at The Blair with working wood burning stove.
Living room
Kitchen
Kitchen and dining area
Bathroom
Over the bath shower
Two single sofa chairs on landing
Twin upstrairs bedroom cosy room with TV.
Summer House and relaxing hammock with chiminea looking out over beautiful view.  See picture below.
View from The Blair
Shore line at Portgordon 2 miles from The Blair. Look out for the seals who bask every day.
The friendly neighbours -  enquisitive and welcoming!
View up to the hills
Shoreline at Portgordon.  Look out for the seals!
Leafy private lane leading to The Blair
The local Mill House bar and restaurant open to non residents for the nights you dont want to cook.
Last look from The Blair.  Hope to see you again!
The Moray Firth looking over to the Black Isle.
Surrounding The Blair
The Blair, and your neighbours!
Fancy a stroll?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Buckie, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Magsndan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“FABULOUS”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

A lovely cosy, comfortable cottage with everything you need.
Very peaceful setting and we had glorious weather as a bonus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It just felt homely
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2015
The hammock came in handy didn't it for the lovely weather. Good to see you and thank you for the lovely comments I am glad you enjoyed your stay at my wee hoosie and hope to see you there again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asvet
West Midlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Third year and good as ever”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Another excellent 2wks stay with a warm welcome and everything thought of as usual, even some treats for our dog! Would recommend for getting away from it all but with in proximity to the basics of civilisation. Good base for exploring the whole of the NE of Scotland, especially the whiskys.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet,counrtyside setting
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2015
It was great to see you both again...and the dog! I appreciate your return visits. Im glad you had a good time and even the weather wasn't too bad was it? The cows are missing you!! I hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann W
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Had a fantastic week in this delightful cottage, private yet close enough to most amenities which is ideal. The area is gorgeous and will defo be back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2015
Thank you folks for the lovely comments I'm glad you enjoyed your stay enough to consider returning to the Blair. Maybe see you again. The cows are missing you! ha ha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella B
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Our favourite hideaway”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Another chance this year to stay at this lovely cottage in such a beautiful setting. As usual Maureen had everything in tip top condition to make our holiday enjoyable. Once again the weather was very favourable for us and could enjoy the outdoor facilities that Maureen has made her own. No other cottage we have stayed in had a summer house like this - sheer luxury!!
If you want an away from it all break with comfortable accommodation, in peaceful surroundings then The Blair is the place to go.
What the heck if the mobile phone connection is poor - you are on holiday after all and if desperate go to Christies Garden Centre in Fochabers where you will get full internet coverage - as well as the most delicious meals!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2015
Oh thank you for the lovely comments its always good to see you at The Blair and Im delighted that you enjoy it so much. You were lucky with the weather too. Mobile signal can vary depending on your provider.....orange is good. Hope to see you again next year and thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reynoldse...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Second visit was equally enchanting”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in February 2015

When you're greeted by Maureen with her incredible warm welcome upon your second visit, you know immediately that it's worth the travel. Not to mention having a catch up on the local government and politics (it was soon after the independence vote and ahead of the UK general election).

Her wee housie had been upgraded with the a few extras like a new tv but overall the accommodation is perfect for all of your needs already.

We love Buckie and this time took in some of the local walks - all really easy to get to by car - rather than the big tourist stuff like visiting Loch Ness which we did last time. The key for us is just how idyllic and relaxing it is. The house is cosy and the views are great.

Travelling the 800+ miles from Surrey to Buckie is a trek so we're considering flying (Inverness and Aberdeen are options) next time and staying for longer than a four day break. All-in-all, I would totally recommend you book this cottage for a stay in the Highlands! Just don't book it when I want it as I know I'll be back again soon and as a teacher will be looking at school holiday times.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Maureen's welcome starts the stay off perfectly
Liked least: What did I like least? Having to go home at the end (cheesy answer)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2015
Folks it was great to see you both again and I enjoyed our lively debate..Im always looking for some one to listen to me ha ha. This weeks guests come from your area...have you been spreading the word? Its good that you keep finding different things to do when you visit The Blair and Im hoping you manage to stay longer next time. Hope to see you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing