We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect!”
other travellers have booked this property
The journey is over.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The journey is over.
And relax. Enclosed patio.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
71 reviews
The journey is over.
And relax.
Enclosed patio.
A stroll down to the beach before dark, watch the sun going down.
Time to make a meal?
Set the table?
Open that bottle of wine
A good nights sleep
Up in the morning, don't forget your wellies!
Dunstanburgh Castle across the bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Embleton, Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ann K
1 review
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 16 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Although this was only a short break, the attention to detail that was provided by the owner was amazing. This is a quality cottage with so many personal touches that it made our stay perfect. The welcome pack was a lovely touch and very much appreciated. Thank you Clare for letting us stay in what was really a 'home from home'.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“WOW fantastic-speechless”
Reviewed 14 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The attention to detail was unrivalled in rental properties that I have ever experienced,and would recommend Poppy Cottage to anyone.Thank you Clare

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana B
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Just lovely.”
Reviewed 21 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This cottage was perfect for our first break with our baby, Clare had left us with a lovely clean travel cot and high chair and their were stair gates if we needed them. The cottage itself was lovely, very clean and had a very well equipped kitchen, again Clare had provided washing up liquid, dish cloths tea towels etc which is unusual for self catering in my experience. As everyone else has mentioned the welcome pack was a great addition. We had a really cosy time there and would love to return.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMcPhee...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
“Weekend Break”
Reviewed 17 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Stopped for 2 nights and what a fantastic stay we had. Cottage is spotless and homely. The welcome basket was great and we all enjoyed our bacon sandwiches. Close to the beach and fantastic pubs, the village is a hidden gem,

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katharine...
1 review
“lovely”
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Beautiful, cosy cottage within 2 mins of a great pub and less than 10 mins to the incredible coast… I would highly recommend Poppy Cottage and Embleton.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Leaving to go home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing