We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Really great accommodation”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Embleton, Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SycamoreF...
Huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really great accommodation”
Reviewed 30 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We have really enjoyed our stay at Croft Cottage. Beautifully renovated barn conversion, spacious accommodation, scrupulously clean,delightful decor, comfortable beds, well-equipped kitchen, nicely done bathroom, useful utility room, efficient heating system. Sadly the weather during our stay meant we couldn't enjoy the grounds, but we could imagine sitting out in the private and peaceful grounds with a glass of chilled white, even if we couldn't do it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A beautiful cottage in a beautiful part of the country.”
Reviewed 4 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Croft cottage is a superb place to spend a weeks holiday. It has everything you need and is very cosy, especially when you have the log burner on.
The cottage is a 10 minute drive to the A1, which takes you to some beautiful sites like Bamburgh castle and Holy Island.
My wife and I had a wonderful holiday and would think of returning again in the future.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William A
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect birthday getaway .”
Reviewed 12 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My wife booked Coft Cottage in Northumbria at the last minute for a Birthday treat for the two of us. Having young children we could only get away for one night but immediately upon arriving we were made to feel welcome. Jeremy and Elaine , the owners , had gone out of their way and bought my wife a bottle of wine and a Birthday card , which were waiting for us when we arrived. Jeremy popped over and explained how everything worked and asked if we had any plans , we said that we might have a walk into the nearest village for drinks and a meal, he explained that due to the recent flooding , the ground was soaked and offered to drop us off and return later on that evening to collect us. Such is the gentleman's genuine kindness .The cottage itself is simply stunning , it is generously proportioned and exquisitely decorated throughout. Whilst it looks like it came straight from the pages of a glossy magazine , it is so well furnished with its fixtures and fittings that you feel totally at home in its countryside comfort. The modern , stylishly-simple kitchen has everything that you would need for your stay (long or short ) and the cottage has a great range of dvd, blu rays , books and boardgames to keep any family entertained. There are 2 bathrooms /toilets (ideal for families with small children ) and both are immaculately spotless , as are the 2 well sized bedrooms (1 double and 1 twin). The double bed was amazingly comfortable and guaranteed a great nights sleep. The rest of the cottage comes very well equipped with everything you may need for a few days or an extended visit. The property also boasts a centre-piece wood burner and a very efficient central heating system. My wife loved our time there and it really did make her Birthday one to remember. Our only regret was that our stay couldn't have been longer. We would definitely recommend Croft cottage to anyone who wants a relaxing , enjoyable holiday with perfect hosts. Thank you both for making our short stay so special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the decoration throughout was both ultra stylish and amazingly comfortable
Liked least: the weather but that didn't stop us having a great time.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to share such a thoroughly wonderful review with us, we are just over the moon that you had such a fabulous stay, and for such a lovely occasion too! To hear such complimentary and lovely feedback is music to our ears, we always strive for guests to have an experience like yours - we are so glad you enjoyed yourselves! We certainly hope that you find the time to stay again, we'd love to have you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GingeSam
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Cottage”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a week at Croft Cottage and had a wonderful time. My first time to Northumberland and I couldn’t have asked for a nicer place to spend the week. Croft Cottage is perfect; clean, well equipped, warm, and very welcoming and in a great location as a base to explore the area. It was much bigger than I expected after looking at the photo’s. It had everything you could need, in fact we only ate out once at a local restaurant, as after a long day out exploring the area, the cottage was too nice to leave to go back out again. A fully fitted well equipped kitchen to cook, a great area for dining and then the loving lounge area relaxing in front of the wood burner. The master bedroom was large and roomy, with a lovely comfortable king size bed, which was a struggle to get out of each morning! I would highly recommend Croft Cottage and also their new property which is currently being finished – Newton Retreat, as we had chance to have a sneak preview and its going to be gorgeous. Thanks for the owner for making our staff a very enjoyable one. We’ll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: There was nothing not to like!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mojoShrop...
shropshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“wonderful peaceful holiday!”
Reviewed 11 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

we stayed at this amazing barn from the 22/6/13 for two weeks, having never been to northumberland before, we did not know what to expect, but we had the most wonderful surprise of one being a glorious place, but also the base of our holiday, croft cottage was amazing!!! from the moment we stepped into the barn we could not get over how big it was! it was beautiful ,tastefully furnished and decorated with lots of lovely touches, like the toiletries and the sheets had a beautiful scent and a comfortable bed and lots of towels which was a great surprise, as we bought our own with us! the surrounding countryside was peaceful and quiet, the owners jeremy and elaine were warm, funny and approachable. this property is a gem and i really did not want to place a review of this piece of heaven, but i knew i must as it was a great find, and anyone who stays here will love it! it is situated perfectly for all places that you need to visit, and there is a lot! we were very sad to leave both the cottage and northumberland but we will definately be back! thank you so much x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the size and the location
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing