We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm welcome”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen / diner Log burner located in lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Kitchen / diner
Log burner located in lounge
Feature stairs leading to bedroom, balcony and sitting area
Dingies Howe
The Ring of Brodger near Tiffyhall
Highland Park vats of Whisky
Highland Park visitor centre
Mullhead, Deerness
St Margaret's Hope
Maeshowe
Skara Brae
Stromness
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Deerness, Mainland, Orkney Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Desiree v
Barendrecht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm welcome”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Warm welcome by Tina with cake abd goodies in fridge. Very helpfull during our stay. The house had everuthing we needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2015
thank you for leaving us a review, very much appreciated. Glad you like the cakes and goodies in the fridge and found the cottage to your liking. We do hope you return one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4983roy
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The accommodation was clean and airy, the view to the sea mesmerising, the facilities superb and the welcome pack generous.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
We are really glad you like everything about your stay and do hope sometime in the future you return
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristine...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tiffyhall is a tonic”
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This was our third visit to Orkney but our first stay at Tiffyhall and it did not disappoint. Great location with wonderful views from the large lounge and bedroom windows. At times reading my book was difficult as I was distracted (in a good way) by the bird life over the fields and the grazing sheep and chickens. Finishing touches added to the experience with soft, fluffy towels and a lovely welcome pack of food goodies. Felt at home from the start. First class.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Price paid for the high standard of property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2015
Thank you for you lovely review, glad you liked the soft fluffy towels and we agree with you the views are great. We still have to stop and look every time we are out in the gardens, it does make you feel you are alive. Glad you found the cottage good and hope you come back sometime in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah T
Elk Rapids, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place, lovely people.”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful week on the Orkney mainland. The scenery, the cottage and our hosts made the trip special. We were even present for a sheep sheering at their farm. The kitchen was fully equipped and unlike another reviewer who made light meals, we enjoyed the same type of meals that we would have at home. The surprise treats waiting for us in the fridge gave a nice homey touch. We highly recommend Tiffyhall 2 Cottage to anyone wanting to visit there but it should be mentioned that the bedroom is upstairs with a slanted ceiling. My husband bumped his head quite frequently to my delight, until I did the same. No harm done, just couldn't believe we kept forgetting to duck!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet countryside.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2015
Thank you for leaving a good review, sorry about the sloping ceilings up stairs, its OK for those of us that aren't very tall. We are glad you enjoyed the facilities contained in our cottage and hope you come back sometime in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart D
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed 3 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This was my first visit to Orkney and the 7th visit for Anne.
We arrived at Tiffyhall about 3.30pm, it was windy, but sunny.
Tiffyhall was easy to find and located in a secluded and beautiful area of Deerness.
The property was stunning from the outside and on entering the cottage, we were met with a clean, modern and welcoming living space.
There was everything we needed and more, all utensils for cooking, cleaning and enjoying.
We met Tina, Paul and pussy cat who were very friendly and more than willing to offer advice and share their knowledge of the Island.
Although secluded, Tiffyhall is only a 10 minute drive from Kirkwall and everywhere can be easily accessed by vehicle.
We both highly recommended staying at Tiffyhall if you are planning a few days exploring and we will certainly return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2015
Thank you for giving us a really good review, very much appreciated, even from pussy cat. We would love to see you back sometime, maybe next time it won't be as windy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing