We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home - a true gem!”
Property front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Property front
Lounge Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
Property front
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Kitchen
Kitchen Panoramic
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom Panoramic
Cabina doccia
Cabina doccia
Hall
Hall
Property front
Rear of property
Garden Panoramic
View from front
Kinross Panoramic
Kinross Panoramic
Garden Panoramic
Kinross Panoramic
Garden Panoramic
arial view
Arial
Thurso River from Halkirk bridge
Fronte di proprietà
Messaggio di proprietà
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Halkirk, Caithness and Sutherland, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Bakeybado...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from home - a true gem!”
Reviewed 26 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We travelled here at the begining of June 2012 and found Gordon to be a warm and welcoming host! We were a party of 2 adults and a child of 4.

The cottage was well equipped and in clean and tidy order. It had everything that a traveller could want during a stay and we found it amply spacious and Gordon's artwork a delight - well, apart from the lady in the bedroom which bothered my 4 year old a little!

Do agree that the shower allows water to spray out of the tray but that's just one of those things - experienced that in 4 star hotels before now, that charge a heck of a lot more.

Can't comment on the cooking facilities because we were out all day, every day and so did not use them but we did use the tumble dryer and it was no big deal to put the hose out for ventilation!

Yes, the property is at the back of the owner's home BUT that allows for easy pick up of keys and contact incase of any problems - if privacy is a concern, you literally just pull the kitchen blind down and problem completely solved. Hardly a massive thumbsdown issue!

The property is set in gorgeous gardens and offered ample space for our energetic young one to run off energy and it was a pleasure to observe how much work Gordon puts into keeping the garden looking so beautiful.

We did find the WiFi didn't work for us and the property appears to be in a 3G/Wifi/Signal blackspot but that's not the fault of the owner particularly. Caithness is remote after all.

The cottage is between Wick and Thurso and so has both town's amenities within a 20-30 minute drive away but for little bits and pieces, the local Spa shop in Halkirk village (which is within walking distance of the cottage) was helpful.

The rural location allows guests to be able to see and appreciate a small snapshot of the beauty of Caithness and we had a lovely stay and wouldn't hesitate to return or recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and owner friendliness
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2012
A delightful couple to have stay.

The WiFi is fully functional now with an extender boosting the signal.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2012 for a stay in May 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Aug 2012
We were pleased to have met these people and happy that the wedding day went so well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Judith H
Grindelwald, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Did not meet expectations”
Reviewed 13 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

If you want to travel back in time then you'll love this place. We have just spent 4 weeks in Scotland staying in a variety of B&B's and self contained accommodation. This was the most expensive accommodation we stayed in and I can only assume the additional cost was justified with the heating being on at all times. To be fair the cottage was very clean and warm in a quiet location but they are the only positives. Compared to the other accommodation we stayed in the decor was very dated with the owners own paintings scattered throughout the house not helping. The living room was a good size with an old television and set top box which was not straightforward to operate. The main bedroom was small which meant we had to keep our suitcases in the hallway. There was a tiny eat in kitchen complete with washer and dryer however if you wanted to use the dryer you had to drape a ventilation hose out of the kitchen window or back door which is a poor option when it's cold and wet.There is no way four people, let alone six would fit in the kitchen. With only two of us sitting at the table, one person is going to be only inches away from the cooker and fridge which in turn can't be accessed for the same reason. There was only one saucepan that I was happy to use. The microwave dates back to the 70's as does the beige enamel sink and brown tapware, the cooker has solid hot plates which are very difficult to adjust. The biscuits and breakfast cereal provided were about a year out of date, the towels are thin and small. The shower has a curtain rather than a screen which equates to water everywhere. The kitchen window faces onto the owner's back garden and house so privacy is compromised. In summary, the house is clean and warm, but feels like a dumping ground for all the used household items that are surplus to the owners requirements. Unlike the all the other accommodation we stayed in, there was virtually no information available re the village or local attractions. If you don't care about your surroundings and just need a place to sleep in Halkirk then this accommodation will suit you, however if the weather is bad and you're stuck inside you might be disappointed with the amenities and cramped conditions with the exception of the living room.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Quiet location
Liked least: Being overlooked by owner's house when in kitchen
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2012
We have many repeat visitors who think the cottage is great. There is a lot of tourist information in the cottage so that comment is a puzzle. The heating is under the control of the renant. We have had 6 people stay who seem to have had no bother. Most people who stay talk to us if they need information or help. Short stays are more expensive than say a week or more due to the base cost. Sorry these people did not talk to me about any concerns.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 June 2011 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bordeaux, France
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Jul 2014
the cottage was left very clean and tidy. Very nice people.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing