We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Week”
other travellers have booked this property
Entrance to The Old Sawmill stunning views over the bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to The Old Sawmill stunning views over the bay
Peaceful,Cosy&ComfortablArdnamurchan Holiday Cottage close to sea with stunning Views & Wildlife! Beautiful View from Idylic setting  over the Bay where Otters are seen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Entrance to The Old Sawmill stunning views over the bay
Peaceful,Cosy&ComfortablArdnamurchan Holiday Cottage close to sea with stunning Views & Wildlife!
Beautiful View from Idylic setting  over the Bay where Otters are seen
Rear Gardens
Relax in the beautiful gardens
Rear Gardens
COZY UP BY THE LOGBURNER or watch the birds through the windows on the feeders
Open Plan Living area
Kitchen/dining area
DoubleBedroom
Twin room  Bright comfy & cozy
One of our gorgeous Kits in the Sawmill
Double Room Red Stag WITH MEMORY MATTRESS
Hallway with map and info
Utility with Large washing machine, dryer, dishwasher, freezer
Kitty at the table
White tailed Eagle see by our guests
Mummy enjoying her scones
Garden Bridge
Slow Worm basking in the garden sunshine
Stags to FRONT of cottage rutting and roaring in the Autumn
Daily visits from our Pine Martens
Views down Loch Sunart to Mull from Glenborrodale Bay
The bay  great for fishing, watching Otters and Birds. Deer seen swimming in the Loch too !!
Glenborrodale Bay , cottge on right side
Our Pine MartenMummy  in the garden
Ardnamurchan Sunset
Aerial view of Glenborrodale Sawmill in centre
Local Stag adjacent to cottage
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Glenbeg, Ardnamurchan Peninsula, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
louiseste...
Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Week”
Reviewed 1 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great stay in Glenborrowdale. The cottage is very homely with everything you could need. And it accommodated 4 adults and 2 kids just fine. Especially great to have a washer + dryer as we have two under 4's. The local area is perfect for running two little boys about. We especially liked Sanna, and the rock pools at Ardtoe. Also simple things like the stream at the bottom of the garden were a big hit!
Jane and family were superb hosts - near enough to be available but invisible unless you need them. And there were some lovely touches for our arrival.
Overall we would highly recommend the Old Sawmill, and we'd love to return sometime.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2017
Thanks very much for taking time to write your review, Its lovely to hear how much guests enjoy staying in our cottage, hopefully we will see you all again sometime soon x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M
Guisborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect family retreat in the wilds of Scotland”
Reviewed 28 April 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We arrived in darkness after an eventful journey, to be welcomed by a warm fire and a big smile. Jane had taken the time to meet us at the cottage to give us a tour of the internal layout and make sure the cottage cosy and ready for us to relax and enjoy our first night.

The cottage has all of the comforts of home, 3 large bedrooms that are thoughtfully decorated; the lounge is spacious and comfortable with plenty of room to stretch out in front of the log burner. The kitchen/dining area is well laid out with all the mod-cons you will need for your stay and a nice surprise of a welcome basket full of goodies and essentials.

Jane has taken the time to make the cottage user friendly, with lots of information on the area and wildlife you can see and is always available to give advice on the hidden gems that only the locals know.

At first light we were out exploring the grounds and were very pleased with the cottage, gardens, setting and location as a whole. The cottage sits well off the road (4 cars passed in 8 hours) and has lots of space for the kids to explore; even a small stream for paddling in. Across the road is Loch Sunart which offers more time for exploration and hints of the wildlife in the area.

For those who enjoy nature as a whole, this cottage is perfect, in the garden we saw all of the common garden birds feeding with the occasions visit of a GS woodpecker, overhead we were treated to fly-bys from both Golden and Sea eagles. In the evening we were visited by 2 pine martens, which really enjoyed the jam sandwiches we had left out and continued to visit every time we topped up the treat. The area has very little light pollution, which on a clear night makes this cottage excellent for star gazing and if the conditions right, a visit from the Northern lights.

The peninsular is renowned for its wildlife and during our visit and walks it just kept on giving, we were lucky enough to see (to list a few) golden eagles, sea eagles, red deer, hooded crows and otters (location suggested by Jane).

I would happily recommend this cottage to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2017
Thanks for your lovely review of the cottage, we are so pleased that you really enjoyed your stay , maybe next time you could try our other property, House on the Shore where the Red deer and Otters reside ? It was lovely to meet you all and nothing is to much trouble - Thank you again x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggiefor...
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely 'Get Away From It All' Cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 24 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The Old Sawmill is a great place for a relaxing holiday on the Arnamurchan Peninsula surrounded by lots of wildlife and amazing views. The cottage is very well equipped and has everything you could need with comfortable beds, a well equipped kitchen and a lovely wood burner in the living room. The garden is a real highlight with a bird table that attracts all sorts of birds which you can watch from the living room. We also saw deer in the field beyond the garden most evenings. We were also very excited to see 2 pine martens in the garden most evenings. They even jumped up onto the window ledge to take the food we had left out. This was a real highlight for us. There are lots of lovely walks in the surrounding countryside and a ferry which you can take over to Mull for the day. There are lovely beaches nearby and the lighthouse at Ardnamurchan Point is also a really great place to visit. I would definitely recommend The Old Sawmill to anyone. Jane the host is so helpful and answered any queries that we had straight away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2017
Its a real pleasure to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay here so much - thanks ! It was really nice to meet you all. Hope to see you again some time x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jem E
1 review
“Outstanding Property”
Reviewed 13 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We would highly recommend this cottage, it was just perfect. It was quiet, comfortable and had everything you could need.

The surrounding views are wonderful and the wildlife was just lovely to watch. I photographed every bird you could think of, including the little mouse that lived in the stonewall out back and the local pine martin that does visit every night. Whatever time we put out bread with peanut butter it would appear about 15 minutes later. It was a real thrill to watch it and we felt very privileged. There were plenty of deer and bucks that came right up to the fence! I didn’t have to leave the cottage to take lots of wonderful photos. However if you do decide to go out there are lots and lots of places to visit and just driving out with no particular place in mind you can’t fail but to be stunned by the magnificent scenery, the mountains are just majestic!

Our hosts Jane & Dave were such lovely, kind people who offered lots of help and lots of tips about the local areas. Thank you guys!

The garden is beautiful, back and font and the little stream at the bottom of the garden just finished it off. We sat out to enjoy a glass of wine that was left in a little welcome pack by our hosts.

I really cannot say enough about this property. For us it was just perfect. I would highly recommend this property and would personally book again.

Thanks for reading,
Jacqui

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2017
Jacqui & Boys it was lovely to meet you and we are so happy that you got to photograph so much.Thank you for your wonderul photos of the birds & our Pine Martin . We would love to welcome you again sometime , maybe in the Autumn for the 'Rut' and all the gorgeous golden & red autumn colours, Thanks again for your kind & lovely review, Janex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueant08
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Peace, tranquillity, scenery and wildlife - lots of wildlife"”
Reviewed 5 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Put the kettle on and make yourself comfortable - this may take a while. Being keen photographers, we wanted peace, tranquillity, scenery and wildlife - lots of wildlife. The Old Sawmill info suggested a chance to see the regular pine marten visitors and this was the main reason for choosing this cottage. What we got was all of the above and the most perfect place to call our home for a week.
The cottage is beautiful, inside and out. I fell in love instantly. It is fully equipped with everything you could need and things you didn't even know you needed until you came across them. The log burning stove and the most comfy bed ever are among the highlights. On our arrival there was a wonderful welcome basket of goodies, a christmas tree and a roaring fire - just what we needed after battling through Storm Barbara for 430 miles. Jane and her family are lovely and so helpful. Their passion and enthusiasm for the area and the wildlife is infectious. There are binoculars, books and bird feeders dotted all over the place. Joe pointed out which direction the pine marten comes from and what it's likely to eat. Sure enough, we had nightly visitations and fantastic photo opportunities from the most beautiful pine marten eating the jam and peanut butter we'd put out. We also may have seen the elusive Scottish Wildcat - twice!! Once, in the garden, stealing a sausage we'd put out for the Pine Marten and another time it was crossing the road in front of us whilst we were driving over to Salen. Owing to the lack of domestic cats in this area we are claiming our sightings as real but obviously we can't be sure. We also managed to tick a total of seven golden eagles, one white tailed sea eagle, one otter and tons of deer off of our wildlife watching list. Now onto the scenery. We've toured most of Scotland in our motorhome and thought we'd seen it all but this area is truly magical. I was mesmerised every time we left the cottage to go exploring. From white beaches and turquoise sea to bronzed hills meeting rocky shores, Ardnamurchan has it all. The lighthouse was breathtaking in the storm and paddling in the sea on Christmas day (obviously in my wellies) in Sanna bay was a real delight. Another highlight for me was standing in the cottage garden, in the pitch dark, looking up at the stars or across the bay and appreciating the fact that there's no light or noise pollution. It's like you're in a different world - a world you never want to leave. Unfortunately, work beckoned and we had to return to reality but we really hope to repeat our perfect Christmas in the Old Sawmill someday.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2017
We really are so pleased that you had such an amazing time and enjoyed Ardnamurchan and The Old Sawmill, it is so truly aweinspiring and so special.Nothing is to much trouble for our guests so we are genuinely so happy that you had such a wonderful time here .
We would love to welcome you back and look forward to seeing your photos of the Pine Marten and Wildcat xxxxxx
Thanks again for the super review, Janex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$140
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing