We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything you could wish for.”

Review of Jenny's Cottage

Jenny's Courtyard garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Jenny's Courtyard garden
Spacious Open Plan Lounge/Diner Dining for 4
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Jenny's Courtyard garden
Spacious Open Plan Lounge/Diner
Dining for 4
Spacious bathroom
View of the Coity mountain from garden
Big Pit National Coal Museum
Blaenavon Ironworks
Sheep Grazing on the Blorenge Mountain
Ponies Grazing on the Blorenge Mountain
The Keepers pond on the Blorenge Mountain
Young lamb in the bracken
Best mates
View over the Blorenge mountain road
Ewe and lamb enjoying a bit of sun
Monmouthshire and Brecon Canal at Llanfoist (3 miles)
Jenny's Cottage
Well Equipped Kitchen
Dining Area
Cycling up the Blorenge Mountain.
Spacious Bathroom
The Door To Your Holiday!
Driving over the Blorenge mountain, looking over to the snow  capped sugar loaf.
This is the Abergavenny to Brecon canal  frozen over the end of  February 2018
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Blaenavon, Torfaen, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
felixthep...
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Everything you could wish for. ”
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in May 2018

Our week spent at Jenny’s Cottage in Blaenavon was just excellent. The cottage was comfortable and had every possible thing we could need! Jenny was great with communication too. It was also an ideal base for so much to do, including Big Pit, the Ironworks, the Hay Festival, walking up Pen y Fan and just meeting the lovely people in Blaenavon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“TRIP TO WALES”
Reviewed 5 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018

Jenny's cottage was perfect for our stay in Wales, very clean & tidy with welcoming touches such as fresh fruit, flowers, welsh cakes, milk etc. It was a brilliant base for visiting the attractions in Bleanarvon, ie. Big Pit, the Ironworks & the Heritage centre at the bottom of the road was excellent. There was a lovely pub two streets away, The Lion, & the co-op, fish n chips, chemist etc was all only a walk away. We would definately stay there again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania J
Thornhill, Ontario
1 review
“We will return!!”
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

What a charming cottage in a small historic town in South Wales!

My family of 4 with two young children really enjoyed our stay. The house was clean, nicely decorated, and well equipped with everything we needed during our visit. The location was great, we were able to walk to various places in town easily. Street parking was available directly in front of the cottage. We visited several of the local attractions - Big Pit, Ironworks, Keepers Pond, Tretower Castle and also enjoyed meals from several of the local restaurants & takeaways.

The owner, Jenny was very responsive and very pleasant to deal with. We had quite a pleasant surprise upon our arrival when we discovered she had left us a nice card, flowers, wine, Welsh cakes and some other goodies to make us feel welcome.

During our stay, we had several family members who live locally come to visit and were all equally impressed with the cottage. We will definitely stay here again for our future visits!!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: There was a pet smell in the property - my husband and kids sneezed and coughed a lot the first 1-2 days until we gave it a good airing.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PeterWill...
Hertford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A very comfortable, beautifully equipped holiday base”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We are so glad we picked Jenny's Cottage for our stay. It is extremely well modernised, thoughtfully presented and a real pleasure to return to after a day out and about. The thick stone walls make the cottage extremely quiet and comfortable whatever the weather. Larger than it looks, it is reasonably priced and although we did not meet her, Jenny is a delight to deal with.
We knew nothing of Blaenavon, having chosen it on location alone, but it is a very interesting and historic early coal and iron town, as Unesco recognised by making it a World Heritage Site. Jenny's cottage is just round the corner from the old main shopping street, where you can get anything you might need for your stay.
In short, highly recommended. Don't miss the Big Pit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The thought and care Jenny puts in to presenting the property
Liked least: We can not think of anything we did not like.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing