We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful stay in this historic cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Historical Tanycastell and Dolwyddelan (Llywelyn Fawr's) Castle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Dolwyddelan, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
xlilithx
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay in this historic cottage”
Reviewed 10 July 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We stayed here for my brother's 30th birthday and had a wonderful long weekend. There were 7 of us and we spent most days in the beautiful garden. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this place, although you do really need a car to access it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2018
Many thanks for your positive feedback. Hope to see you again.

Dylan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gillianin...
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Accommodation with charm”
Reviewed 14 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Lovely cottage with pretty garden and view. Easy to book, clear instructions for finding it, good location. Clean and well maintained, spacious rooms and well equipped
I would definitely recommend it to friends

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2018
Many thanks for your kind comments, from lovely guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy W
1 review
“Great place to stay in amazing location”
Reviewed 26 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Spent 3 nights at 2 Tanycastell with our 2 adult children and their fiancés. The weather was amazing for the duration of our stay and we made use of the garden, enjoying the sunshine and the use of the BBQ. The accommodation is spacious, comfortable and very clean. The lounge was enormous and well furnished, ideal for relaxing or having fun playing family board games and the kitchen was well equipped also having a drinks chiller. The main bathroom is massive but I would say that the ensuite bathroom was a little cramped, saying that a great addition to the house lessening the queues to get ready in a morning. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely consider returning in the future.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2018
Excellent guests. Many thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevintayl...
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect tour of North Wales”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The cottage was very clean and all the rooms were spacious and very comfortable. The surrounding views of the Welsh countryside were breathtaking and the patio and gardens were perfect for summer evenings. The cottage was a perfect base for our tour of the local area and the nearby village had many amenities we needed. It was a wonderful holiday and we would definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ri R
wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquility in North Wales”
Reviewed 13 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed at Tan Y Castell as Our base for a charity Trek . It is a truly beautiful place to be . There are 2 wonderful old historic cottages here surrounded by private secluded gardens . Cosy, tastefully decorated , extremely comfortable beds and lovely kitchen and bathrooms .We even had a log fire burning on Our last night as We lazed around on the comfy sofas after Our hike on Snowdon . Spotlessly clean and clearly loved by the Owners who were very welcoming and accommodating. Really didn't want to leave and desperately want to return to the peace and tranquility of this wonderful place . Thanks so much .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2017
Lovely words from you Ri. Diolch yn fawr.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing