We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
FindHotel
StayForLong
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Reviews (622)
Filter reviews
622 results
Traveller rating
327
133
80
52
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
327
133
80
52
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lamb fresh milk pudding scallops sunday lunch beautiful location cooked to perfection walks starters meal dog sarah
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 622 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2021

Greeted warmly upon our arrival and shown to our room, which was beautiful. Enjoyed a few drinks in the sun before preparing for dinner. Food was fabulous, so too the service. Would highly recommend this place.

Two minor negatives, the cheese board is extremely over priced (or for the price there just needs to be much more cheese, it was rather disappointing.
And the huge super king bed in The Coachman room, squeaks every time you move, so a good nights sleep is near impossible.

Staff were absolutely lovely, both bar and restaurant ....could not wish for more friendlier people.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ScottGraske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2021

We were a party of three staying for a few nights to enjoy a break in the area. And enjoy it we did! We loved our stay here in this very comfortable pub/hotel. None of the stuffiness and formality of larger hotels, just relaxed and with great food and service. A special mention here for the staff who are wonderful and take a genuine interest in their guests. The General Manager, who I believe is Maria, is so attentive and efficient but always has time for a smile and a chat.

Breakfast is served from 9am, allowing time for a riverside walk to work up an appetite. There are numerous enjoyable walks in the countryside on the doorstep. Heart Attack Hill is worth the effort for the great views, and continues over into the next valley. Dinners are very good, and as somebody who enjoys desserts I was well satisfied. If there is one thing I would change, that would be to serve proper bread at breakfast instead of the steam baked, shop bought product. A small point in what is a superb venue.

Room tip: Lovely views to the front, quieter to the back
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crookedbillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2021 via mobile

An excellent lunch after walking half of the 3 castles way on what was a very hot day....... really good burgers and the sharing meat platter was outstanding. Very kindly they boxed up what we couldn’t eat to take home. Very good service too. Looking forward to finishing the other half of the walk so we can have lunch here again!

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Herefordnomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2021 via mobile

We stayed for three nights and completed the Three Castles walk in two days. The Bell is a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are very comfortable - we had Blue Dun overlooking the garden at the rear The breakfasts are amazing - a wide range on the menu from continental to full Welsh, and the dinners were equally good. Another stand out aspect is the staff. They could not have done more to make our stay relaxing, and to help get our very wet clothing dry - we had two very wet days walking. Maria, who dealt with us on our arrival and at every meal deserves a mention. She is a real asset to The Bell!

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank edm1887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2020 via mobile

Just go!!
This place is a fantastic find in a beautiful location.
And there is a cat.
Enough said!!

But I need to write 200 whatevers so....
The ploughman’s is amazing. Runny scotch egg...
The Sancerre was fabulous.

Just go!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank mattag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews