We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise Found”
Topaz Cottage Exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Topaz Cottage Exterior
Living area/ 1 Sofa /1 Sofa Bed , TV Living Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Topaz Cottage Exterior
Living area/ 1 Sofa /1 Sofa Bed , TV
Living Area
Our Beach at Diamonds bythe Sea
Beach at Diamonds By The Sea
Diamond Row, Entrance to Diamonds
Topaz Garden and Path to Beach and Ocean
Kite Surfing on Beach at Diamonds
Ocean view
Beach  at Diamonds
Al Fresco Dining off of Deck
Sandy Path to Beach and Sea
Topaz Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island, Bahamas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
bgoodnow
mooresville, north carolina
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Paradise Found”
Reviewed 29 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage by the sea in Freeport, Bahamas.
We enjoyed our stay the week of Christmas. The cottage has all the necessary accoutrements for cooking and relaxing. Table and umbrella just off the porch, sandy path to the water. Chairs supplied for beach time.
Our contact Shirley, checked in every morning. Made suggestions when asked. Jules the gardener was quietly working in the background, keeping in all lovely!
The compound has several cottages, our neighbors were Swiss and Swedish ~ Hope our crazy family didn't interrupt their solitude!
I would suggest a car for this location, as it is necessary to visit the grocery and cabs are expensive.
Delicious food within walking distance: Bertha's Blue Dinghy and Banana Bay Beach Bar.
Island groceries are expensive, so be prepared! Wonderful island bread from Bradford's.
We loved our time at Diamonds and hope to return to the Bahamas some day!
Thanks, Gladys, Shirley and Jules!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing by the ocean
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2015
Thank you an hope to see yo again at Diamonds in he New Year!!! Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
funbunny1
Cardiff. South Wales
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 15 November 2015 for a stay in October 2014

Diamonds by the sea is a very special place. Not only because of the location and proximity to the beach but the owner Gladys is a very welcoming soul and great hostess. Topaz cottage along with the four other cottages are well kept and have all the amenities of home. It is lovely to wake up in the morning and step off your porch right onto the beach and lovely blue sea. We have visited the island five times and three times stayed at Diamonds. Hopefully next year will see us adding another year to the above.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for a wonderful review... And do hope to see you again very soon here at Diamonds.. it is always a pleasure to have you here, lovely, considerate guests and friends!!!!! Take care, keep warm and see you next year..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B
Cape Breton Island, Canada
1 review
“Paradise!”
Reviewed 4 October 2015 for a stay in February 2015

After spending 10 weeks in the Sea in the Sea Grape cottage in 2014, we knew we would come back and rent the midsize cottage, the Topaz. We spent Feb & March 2015 in this very comfortable home, which is how we have come to feel about Gladys's little slice of paradise. The cottage itself (we feel) is the best on the property. We spent more time on the covered veranda than we did in the cottage. The kitchen is fully equipped and modern. Two bathrooms was very convenient, as we had a guest come fora few weeks to stay with us in the second bedroom. Hot water is plentiful, and the walk in shower in the master suite made for easy accessibility to our elderly guest. The cottage is beautiful. With Gladys's home on the property plus 4 other cottages, Diamonds has a family and neighbourly feel. The grounds are truly beautiful, and the property is fully fenced. In the 18 weeks total we spent there, we can truly say we liked each and every guest that we met during those months, and have made many lasting friendships. The staff at Diamonds, Shirley (housekeeper) and Jules (groundskeeper) couldn't be friendlier or more accommodating. We have grown to love them both, as well as Gladys and Ralph.
Churchill Beach, in our opinion, is the best beach to live on on Grand Bahama. We have traveled the island and pretty much all it's beaches multiple times, and although there are some rivals , they are more remote. It was important to us to not need to rent a car every week, and to be within a cab ride
to the city of Freeport & Port Lucaya Marketplace. Instead, we rented a car every few weeks, and that's when we explored the island. Diamonds is a short taxi ride away from both, yet quiet enough that we often had the 4 mile beach to ourselves. The property is located almost mid center, with a choice of 4 restaurants/beach bars all within walking distance. Other than a small resort, the rest of the pristine beach is luxury private homes and trees. It's perfect for walking, exploring, swimming, playing, and it's safe.
Freeport and Port Lucaya have everything you could possibly need while staying on the Island. Large modern supermarkets, specialty stores, bakeries, local bargain shops , very affordable restaurants and upscale dining. There are plenty of water related activities and excursions within close proximity. We found so many great spots that quickly became favourites, and restaurant prices on the island are extremely reasonable. We can't wait to return!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything-location, beach, owners & staff, grounds, safety, other guests.
Liked least: No swimming pool, but ocen is steps away.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland...
crofton, maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our little piece of paradise!”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Just returned last night from our second stay in Topaz cottage ! We were there for 12 days....love love love everything about this place!!! Already talking about next years trip! Beautiful beach...accommodations are just lovely! You really feel at home!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
funbunny1
Cardiff. South Wales
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in November 2014

WE have stayed at Topaz Cottage two years in a row and had the most fabulous time.
The cottage was a dream. Location perfect and the host Gladys was fantastic.
It was a home away from home but in a dream location.
Cant fault anything about it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved the whole experience.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2015
Thank you so much and hope to see you again for the third year here . Warm regards, Gladys
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing